Another Obama e-mail I received! Interesting!

• Another Obama e-mail I received! Interesting!

Only when lions have historians will hunters cease being heroes.
    ------- African Proverb -------

James O. McHenry

To The Editor:

As a 78 year old American of African descent, I feel compelled to
    respond to all this "much ado about nothing" when it comes to the
    statement that Michelle Obama made about the fact that this is the first
    time in her adult life that she has been proud to be an American.

The country needs to hear this from the Black perspective.

Long before I was born, my grandfather Joseph Burleson, owned a
    considerable amount of land in oil rich Texas. Because during that era,
    Blacks could not vote, nor could they contest anything in the courts of
    the United States, my grandfather's land was STOLEN by his White
    neighbor. My grandfather, who was literate and better educated than my
    grandmother, drove to town. Seeing my grandfather leave, the covetous
    neighbor asked my grandmother to show him the deed to the property. He
    snatched it. She could not insist that he give it back, nor could she
    have reported this THEFT to the sheriff because of the fact that Blacks
    had no rights in the 1800's. The prevailing law at that time was he who
    held the deed owned the land. Do you think that is something that I am
    PROUD OF? Right now I should be living off the oil and gas royalties.<
    /SPAN>

In 1934 when my dad drove us to Texas to meet his family, when he
    stopped to purchase gasoline, his daughters and wife were not allowed to
    use the washroom. As a man it was easier for his to relieve himself in
    the bushes, but not for the females. We were, however, reduced to having
    to go in the bushes, also. Do you think I am PROUD OF THAT?

In 1938 when my oldest sister went to enroll in Hyde Park High School,
    she was told by the counselor that she did not want to take college
    preparatory courses, she wanted to study domestic science. Do you think
    I'm PROUD OF THAT? Of course, when Beatrice Lillian Hurley-Burleson went
    to school the next day, that was the last time anyone thought that the
    Burleson girls wanted to study domestic science.

When in 1943 my parents attempted to buy the 2 flat at
    5338 South Kenwood, where we had lived since 1933, in Hyde Park,
    Chicago, IL we were told that we could not buy it because there was a
    restrictive covenant that said that the property was never to be sold to
    "Negroes." Do you think I am PROUD OF THAT?

In 1950 when I graduated from college, I was unable to get a job because
    I was considered "overqualified."
    the code word for they would not hire me because of my race. All of the
    want ads called for Japanese Americans or Neisis ( the word given to
    Japanese Americans at that time). Do you think that was something that I
    should have been PROUD OF? I understood that America was trying to make
    up for the interring of innocent and patriotic Americans who were our
    enemy by association.

My cousin's barbershop was bombed in Mississippi in the 50's because he
    was encouraging Black people to register to vote. His wife who had
    earned a Masters Degree from Northwestern University lost her position
    as the principal of the local school because of the voter registration
    activities. Is that something I should be PROUD OF?

Now we get to Rev. Jeremiah Wright, the pastor of the Obama family. Rev.
    Wright like so many religious zealots overstates many things, which many
    of his members do not agree. To suggest that Senator Obama should leave
    the church of his choice is not only a double standard, but it is
    absurd. Would any of the talking heads who are so alarmed by Rev.
    Wright's thoughts and speeches suggest that Catholics should abandon
    their faith or denounce and reject the Pope because so many priests have
    molested children? These children were exploited and taken advantage of
    and they had no choice to even know they could resist, reject and
    denounce. To me the situations are parallel, except for the fact that
    the priests'
    behavior is a physical violation of the innocence of children who are
    marred for life; and the priests'
    beha vior is a crime. Rev. Wright's speeches are just words, that one
    can listen to or not, the members have a choice. Should Governor Romney
    denounce and reject the Mormon Church because some of their members
    practice polygamy?

As Senator Obama has previously stated, we have entered the silly
    season.

Barack Obama is an adult, and most importantly, he is an exceptionally
    intelligent adult. Like most of us adults, fortunately, we do not accept
    all we hear or see. If we did, the world would be more amoral, debased
    and perverted than the world of today is.

I see all these "so called" ponderings an attempt to marginalize the
    candidacy of Senator Barack Obama. I cannot truly call this racism
    because some ignorant Blacks have also spoken disparagingly about him.

I accept this as the darker side of mankind who because of their own
    inadequacies, they project their deficiencies on others. Barack Obama is
    a very rare individual, the likes of whom the world seldom sees.
    Like most geniuses, they are often misunderstood. They are objects of
    envy and jealousy. They are suspect because they soar above the average
    man who does not have the intellectual ability to understand the
    greatness of special people. They are also targets to be pulled down to
    the level of the mediocre that cannot stand to see an individual with
    deep convictions and high standards.

We have not seen a phenomenon like Barack Obama in many years and many
    generations. Like Gandhi, like Jesus, like Einstein, like Dr. Martin
    Luther King, Jr., like Mother Theresa, genetically, intellectually and
    spiritually, these people offer the world so much, but they are often
    maligned and misunderstood.

Barack Obama is a Christian in the true sense of the word. A true
    Christian loves his fellow man unconditionally. A true Christian wants
    the best and tries to bring out the best in his fellow man. A true
    Christian wants to unite and bring the world together in peace and
    harmony. This is what Senator Obama stands for; but, unfortunately, he
    has had to get off point to answer these false charges, innuendoes, and
    just plain lies.

We are in the presence of an angel unaware in Senator Barack Obama; and
    this country needs him, more than he needs us. He is the only person at
    this time in history that can restore respect for America with the
    worlds' people. Because of his family background, the influence of his
    beloved mother who instilled great values in him, the influence of his
    absent father who vicariously inspired a son to go to Harvard as the
    father had done, the influence of a minister who brought him to an
    understanding of the value and meaning of Christianity, the influence of
    a brilliant Harvard educated wife who inspires him and keeps him
    grounded; he is the epitome of a citizen of the world.
    He is of the world because the world is in him; and this is what America
    needs to bring us o ut of the abyss to which w e have sunk in the eyes
    of the world.

Like, Michelle Obama, after living in this country all of my 78 years,
    loving my country and not understanding why my country has not loved me,
    I now for the first time in my adult life feel PROUD OF MY COUNTRY
    because I sense a maturing, a recognition of talent and character, and
    not color, and a field of candidates aspiring to lead this nation coming
    from very diverse backgrounds of gender, religious beliefs, national
    origin, ethnicity, age and experiences. This to me is the HOPE that
    America is coming into her own and will begin to CHANGE and will embrace
    the philosophy upon which this country was founded, where all men are
    created equal and are entitled to life, liberty and the pursuit of
    happiness. Now I truly believe, YES WE CAN!

For further information:

Doctor of Public Administration
    (708)747-0919

Not an unusual or unreasonable perspective coming from a black person of that era.

The fact still remains though, that you cannot run for the highest office in the US and expect statements like that from a potential first lady to go unchallenged. This is not local Chicago politics, this is the SuperBowl of American politics.

Running for high office in the US requires a considerable dose of hypocrisy.

Not an unusual or unreasonable perspective coming from a black person of that era.

The fact still remains though, that you cannot run for the highest office in the US and expect statements like that from a potential first lady to go unchallenged. This is not local Chicago politics, this is the SuperBowl of American politics.
        ...as mi seh interesting!

Likening Obama to an angel...to Jesus Christ...????

....those description of fellow blacks who disagree with her take on whether or not Obama is the #1 choice for president...???

Certainly some of the sayings went over the top? ...but interesting!

Running for high office in the US requires a considerable dose of hypocrisy.

...and apparently propensity to tell tall tales!

yada, yada, yada, rah, rah, rah Dem is too funny

I think you need to put it in context. Its the first time I am really proud means just that! If Barack were to win the presidentcy it would be the first time I have been proud of America. As a black woman what do you have to be really proud of America. I think from her perspective she is right and is a dead issue so we move on. If Hallary said she was really proud of America because of some women issue would she get such flack. I doubt it.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                As a black woman what do you have to be really proud of America.
                Maybe that in the 40 years since MLK was assasinated, a young black girl born in poverty on the South Side of Chicago can get the opportunity to attend one of the most prestigious universities in the world and earn more money than 95% (being conservative here) of the country? That a black girl born in poverty in Mississippi can today become a billionaire before she became 50 USING HARD WORK AND TALENT and has the power to change the lives of thousands across the globe? That a black man could have been given the job to run the most powerful army in the history of the world? Is only Barak running for president that could make her proud of her country?

America is far from perfect but it has continually improved itself over the years and decades that it has existed, and that is more than a lot of countries in the world can say.

We are familiar with my views on America, but one thing I have always said is, America is a great country, in many ways. No doubt. But one thing that spoils my pride in the country is the racism that existed and does exist. It's one thing to get bad treatment from some Jamaicans, but when that treatment is based on the colour of my skin, nothing irks me more. For that reason, becoming a billionaire in the US is hardly a reason for me to be proud of her. While I might become wealthy there are too many who are still in racist bondage.

She would unless there is no RIGHT WING.

Remember when Bill was running and she said the thing about "she is not a stay at home mom" all now she is not forgiven by many a them rural mom.

yup...hillary has shown us that for SURE!!!!

The history of racism in the US is a permanent blot(??) on thier history.

However I have never understood why critics seem to give it a worse grade on this than the other powerful countries of the world. Western Europe, Japan? or more recently emerging China,Brazil? Are these places known for embracing those who are different or less fortunate than them? Thier records even over the last 50 years are HORRIBLE and far worse than the US in my view.

Japan in particular has a terrible history of discrimination. China today is commiting the worst kinds of human rights violations on the eve of the Olympics, yet rarely if ever does anyone one a forum like this have anything critical to say about them. Why is this?

If Michelle was in China and said what she said, she would probably be in prison today.

japan and china are more homegenuous societies.....although for the life of me i have always been unable to distinguish....by sight, a serb from a croat!

yup...hillary has shown us that for SURE!!!!

..and Obama has not?

Not proud of those other countries eedah!