What a welcome change!

• What a welcome change!

In the past, our govt. would begin to trace Amnesty International and make dumbass statements about them having strength for poor countries. "Why dem nuh say sumpten bout di USA and dem capital punishment?" (sigh) I do hope John Public also begins to understand the importance of AI and other such organisations.

Let's hope this attitude of sensible discourse gy our govt. does not change.

Golding pleads with Amnesty
    published: Wednesday | April 2, 2008

Fernanda Doz Costa, (right), Amnesty International Jamaica researcher, speaks at the launch of a report on human rights abuses in Jamaica. The report, which is entitled 'Let Them Kill Each Other: Public Security in Jamaica's Inner Cities', was launched yesterday at the Hotel Four Seasons in the Corporate Area. Michelle Kagari (centre), Amnesty International public security expert, and Sonia White, of the Trench Town Peace and Justice Centre, listen. - Rudolph Brown/Chief Photographer
    Prime Minister Bruce Golding, in response to a damning Amnesty International report, has asked the human rights organisation to be sympathetic to what he says are the real difficulties faced by Jamaica in providing social services and economic opportunities.
    "I urge you to be sympathetic to the real difficulties faced by a Government that must find $723 million each day to service the national debt. You will, I am sure, appreciate the extent to which this constrains our ability to address the urgent need to provide social services and economic opportunities in these areas," he said in a statement released yesterday.
    The Amnesty report, entitled 'Let Them Kill Each Other: Public Security in Jamaica's Inner Cities', claims that the Jamaican state is failing to effectively provide human security for its population, especially for those living in the inner city, who are most vulnerable to crime and violence.
    Gangs filling a vacuum
    The report, which was released yesterday at a press conference at the Hotel Four Seasons in St Andrew, states that gangs are filling a vacuum left due to the lack of human rights-based policing and because of continued prejudiced attitudes on the part of public officials towards persons living in inner-city communities.
    "The Jamaican state has the obligation under international law to respect, protect and fulfil the human rights to life," said Fernanda Doz Costa, the Jamaica researcher for Amnesty International.
    Golding, however, presented a raft of initiatives which, he says, will address the concerns highlighted in the Amnesty report.
    The report says that violence is confined to the inner cities and that there is a failure by the Jamaican Government to protect those who reside within those walls, effectively allowing them to kill each other.
    "The report also highlights that the human rights violations experienced by these people in the inner city are reinforced by the poverty and social exclusion they live in," she continued.
    The report also accused the police of lacking scrutiny and accountability in relation to allegations of corruption and human rights violations.
    Golding's proposals to deal with police abuses:
    A bill to establish an independent investigative authority to probe allegations of abuse against members of the security forces.
    The Corruption Prevention Act to include the appointment of a special prosecutor.
    The enactment into law of provisions in the Political Code of Conduct.<\li>

anybody see Jawge recently?

You notice him and Gamma missing at the same time?

Weh you seh?

Course change?

LoL

Wid free healthcare and free education people start see things differently.

A wonder wha Jawge a say now? Him must a study fi convert to Bruceism.

anybody see Jawge recently?

You notice him and Gamma missing at the same time?

Heheee - what a ting! yuh mean Gamma teaching Jawge how to WIND SURF
          and Jawge tek him to the CAVE to teach him JAWGEISM

Wi have free education tuh?

But bredda Mo, didn't you get vex when a foreign reporter chat bout the link wid politicians and gangs? Mi nuh overstand your position on this. BTW, do not pull a "Karl" right now, and try not to obfuscate your position on this issue.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WhLX9OoMMZY

mi tink yuh was going to suggest dat mi and the half man half horse are alter egos.....mi went on holiday wid di fambily....