• PetroCaribe, Uncle Hugo's helping hand

Uncle Hugo has Jamaica by the balls.

He's currently financing 50% of Jamaica's crude oil bill @ 2% interest with a 23 year term. Problem is..... he can annul the agreement for ANY reason just with 30 days notice.

This is why Golding & Co. have to be very quiet regarding Hugo's anti-US histrionics and may even influence their apparent warmth with Cuba, Venezuela's closest ally.

As some US general (Westmoreland??) said "Grab em by the balls and their hearts and minds will follow".

Is this good for the country?? Of course..... where else can GOJ get 2% money?

Good for the taxpayers today but not for tomorrow's taxpayers... our children.

yeah we need fi plant more ackee. A 12 dollar a can.
    Until the day when we can produce and sell it, is America, Europe, China, or Chavez who will have us by the balls.

yeah we need fi plant more ackee. A 12 dollar a can.
      Until the day when we can produce and sell it, is America, Europe, China, or Chavez who will have us by the balls.
      Are you a Silicon Valley economist?

Your insight regarding economic issues is truly at the cutting edge.

It pales in comparison to your 'insight' on the critical role of economists in the Silicon Valley phenomenon.

Yuh tink is only Computer Scientists either gravitated to or were created in the Valley over the last 3 decades ?

Stop exposing your myopic ignorance, if you can.

"He who knows not and knows not he knows not is a fool"

It pales in comparison to your 'insight' on the critical role of economists in the Silicon Valley phenomenon.

Yuh tink is only Computer Scientists either gravitated to or were created in the Valley over the last 3 decades ?

Stop exposing your myopic ignorance, if you can.

"He who knows not and knows not he knows not is a fool"
          Yuh come back wid dis crap! Silicon Valley is a high tech area and is not Wall Street! FACT! HUG IT UP!!!

Of course, Silicon Valley, with all its high tech businesses must have space for some economists, that is only natural. But, with all those scientists there, I am sure it has crazy sanitation engineers also! Is Silicon Valley also a metonym for that profession too?!

Geez! Admit yuh wrong and gwey nuh man!

What enters your brain when you see the term Silicon Valley Economists ?

What exactly am I wrong about by the way ?

The profession "economist" is not associated with the geographic area called Silicon Valley. Unless, of course, one is an economist working in Silicon Valley. That was not exactly how this whole discussion started here on the forum. The term was being wrongly used by someone who wanted to big up certain economists by falsely linking them with the wrong place, a place that is associated with high tech and high tech only!!!

What is so difficult to understand?!?!?

What enters your brain when you see the term JLP Intellectual?

1. Your 'rule of association' is interesting yet incorrect, it depends on what paradigm of economics one is dealing with. Where would you go to learn/observe Innovation Economics ?

2. I used the term specifically and correctly. This could have been easily be verified by an intelligent request on what was the mission of these Economists in Jamaica. Simple rule, if you don't know,ask.

3. It would be best if you remove politics from this discussion, it is clearly clouding your brain and the 'brains' of others like-minded.

I am willing to educate on this matter, but only if I am not dealing with fools:

"He who knows not and knows not he knows not"

Okay, you win!

"Innovation Economics" - classic!

I hardly think the average Jamaican would be aware of such a concept.

My issue however is not the lack of knowledge but the lack of knowledge that they lack knowledge.. that is the killer.. no avenue for learning in that situation.

There is an important lesson to be learned from the Jamaican Artificial Heart story.

Unfortunately it probably went completely over the head of most.

Probably drowned out by the 'cheering'.

Wi cornah dark and the roots of it are probably associated with some legacy of entitlement/superiority within the region combined with a defensive complex probably rooted in slavery.

The Japanese were smart enough to learn from their conquerors.

We don't even trust our own that decided to learn from the conquerors. The maximum use we can make of our Diapsora is via Western Union.

Some may ascribe an intelligence deficiency.. can you blame them ?
                    Last edited by Muadib; April 2, 2008, 01:37 PM.

I agree!

(What the hell did he just say?!? I guess I don't know that I don't know!)

Check Don1 or ToothSayer the Kings of 'Know' (even doh dem know not)

Heh, heh.

It is a hell of a day when we a throw away milk and a import milk powder. That tell me that globalizism can be deadly.

I constantly hear about the high end ginger, the world famous blue mountain coffee, and how we produce this and that. A who we a sell it to?

Common sense would tell you if it so good and fetch a high price you produce more, so wha happen to we?

Them kill off the cattle industry by importing cheap and sometimes bad quality beef. Now there is a shortage of milk in Ja. Sorry but some industries need some protection if we want to feed our people.

What enters your brain when you see the term JLP Intellectual?[/QUOTE]

Utmost contradiction in terms.

1. Your 'rule of association' is interesting yet incorrect, it depends on what paradigm of economics one is dealing with. Where would you go to learn/observe Innovation Economics ?

"He who knows not and knows not he knows not"

Innovation Economics ?

Give me the definition....please?
                              Clearly you do not mean economic innovation! ...or innovation and economics... or innovation to aid economic prosperity?

As Jawge seh - 'elp mi?
                              I would like to learn!