Crime on the increase

• Crime on the increase

Despite a promise by the authorities to lower the country's murder rate, the Police High Command Monday afternoon acknowledged that all major crimes increased for the month of February.

At a press conference at the Police Officers Club Commissioner Hardley Lewin said while the police had not yet completed its analysis of the figures, they were moving to isolate the possible causes.

The data released by the High Command reflects a nine per cent jump in murders and a 25 % rise in the reported cases of robberies.

A breakdown of the data revealed that 104 persons were murdered in February this year compared to 95 for February 2007.

The reported cases of shooting reflected a 25% increase compared to the period under review.

Commissioner Lewin said the investigators were still trying to comprehend what has caused the increase in major crimes.

"When you compare the same period last year with this year, we can talk about (the) availability of money that might have been in greater supply through Cricket World Cup preparations, we can talk about electioneering, (the) availability of funding, we may also want to talk about the better reporting (and) maybe there's an increase in the level of confidence in reporting crimes over the same period. I want to stress that it's all speculative, we have not done the analysis and we want to be very careful and deliberate when we do this," said Commissioner Lewin.

The reported cases of rape, carnal abuse, robbery, breaking and larceny all reflected double digit increases.

At the same time Commissioner Lewin also welcomed news of an increase in the amount of money allocated in the Estimates of Expenditures for the Force and its crime fighting measures.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/6834/26/

Jamaica needs to put 50% of its resources into fighting crime. Everyting else needs fi tek a backseat until we defeat the crime monster. Free healthcare & free education should be dropped.

hortical how can you defeat crime? if you know please say...

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
        Jamaica needs to put 50% of its resources into fighting crime. Everyting else needs fi tek a backseat until we defeat the crime monster. Free healthcare & free education should be dropped.
        Come now ... be realistic. Alot of the idiots doing the killing is due to lack of education. I think education got the most allocation, then security.

"When you compare the same period last year with this year, we can talk about (the) availability of money that might have been in greater supply through Cricket World Cup preparations, we can talk about electioneering, (the) availability of funding, we may also want to talk about the better reporting (and) maybe there's an increase in the level of confidence in reporting crimes over the same period. I want to stress that it's all speculative, we have not done the analysis and we want to be very careful and deliberate when we do this," said Commissioner Lewin.

AND THEN;

The reported cases of rape, carnal abuse, robbery, breaking and larceny all reflected double digit increases.

Let it go Commish!

I know fatal shootings by the police increased under a previous JLP Govt?
          So that I do not get jumped by the ultra sensitive.., in no way am I suggesting the JLP and or its supporters are blameworthy.

Blessed

I think it is absolutely idiotic for the commish or anyone to be making a big deal about this increase, trying to analyse what really is no change. The numbers are bad - PERIOD! The increase from February of 2007 is really marginal and perhaps could be chalked up to the fact that you had two more dances this year than last. There is no significant difference. It is going to go up or down from a year ago. 6 more deaths this month over last year's don't mean JACK!

So, I guess when we get the numbers for March and they happen to be marginally lower we are going to say, "See, our plans have begun to take effect!"

Give me a freaking break!!!!

Cool nuh Mosiah)

Blessed

where are those goddam tablets!?!?

Legalize ganja for starters.

pr

where are those goddam tablets!?!?

Which one - de "morning after" or the one that start wid V

morning after? a wha me a do wid dat?

mi a talk mi stress tablets! dem jamaicans too smart fi me a waste time analyse nonsense!

mi well stock up wid di V one dem, sis!