Yuh nuh si uptown ah Passa Passa ?

I pity you son (used advisedly). Carnival is is now imported is foreign to Jamaica. It has no basis and not understood. Carnival in Trinidad was a combination of working class struggles and immense creativity. What is now present is the commercialized version of the real deal - like pan chicken or pork versus the real Boston jerk pork or like the generic hard-dough breads in Jamaica these days. Back in the day 1 slice would full yu belly.
      Having said all that though, there is a place for Carnival in Jamaica context, probably more alligned to August celebrations where there would be more historical significance. John Canoe (Jonkonnu) was a part of our heritage (also Bahamas) and shades of it and similar characters are seen in the traditional TT Carnival. All have their root in African tradition.

It is much more complex than you make it out to be but I guess to expect you to make the effort would be asking too much.
        Carnival is STILL a working class festival in Trinidad. Yes, the all-inclusives have increased but after so many fetes 'busting' this year, the smaller type home fetes are on the increase again. The rise of the all-inclusives came with the new found oppulence, the 'nouveau-riche' and the suddenly growing class-consciousness of middle-class(working class) Trinis and ex-pats. Mostly out of crime fears and perceptions as well as real fears of fights, robberies, murders etc. at public fetes. These still abound and are not for the weak hearted but the major probelm is pickpocketing and the associated problems.
        Next year, there will be a decrease in the success of all-inclusives, more small fetes. But then again, its all a part of the evolution of globalization - Trini costumes (used loosely) are now made in China.

Yuh see di uptown people dem inna dem bikini? Yuh woulda never give dem nuh props.

Picture di ghetto slam in har bikini and compare!

argument dun!
          and har tight outfit whey half of har BODY parts hanging out. Now that is worth propping for

Mo - mi haffi endorse yuh sentiments - dem can keep dem damn carnival. Gimme mi festival wid some BRUCKINS, KUMINA, DINKY MINNIE & some GERE

a suh mi know seh mi and yuh coulda roll!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                I pity you son (used advisedly).
                Who advised you?

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                  Mo - mi haffi endorse yuh sentiments - dem can keep dem damn carnival. Gimme mi festival wid some BRUCKINS, KUMINA, DINKY MINNIE & some GERE
                  Simple closed minded Jamaican.. I guess you want some shot inna them dance also