• Sweet wet soca - Bacchanal in the rain ah Yard

Bacchanal in the rain

( L )Two of the STAR revellers get down during the [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR] Carnival road march yesterday. - Norman Grindley photos

Not even rain could keep the spectators and revellers from coming out to jump and celebrate Jamaica Carnival yesterday.
    Both revellers and spectators proved that rain could not dampen their spirits. In one instance, a spectator who stood with a child sitting around his neck wined with a reveller while she looked down on him.
    A group of funeralgoers showed that they were not to be left out of the fun as they put their shoes aside and wined with passing revellers along [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Oxford[/COLOR][/COLOR] Road, St Andrew.
    Route
    The parade, which started around 12:25 p.m., from East Kings House Road, made its way on to Hope Road, down Waterloo Road, turned on to Constant Spring Road moved down Half-Way Tree Road on to Oxford Road then Tom Redcam Avenue and on to Arthur Wint Drive for the final stop, the National Stadium's car park.
    Led by Digicel's [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]music[/COLOR][/COLOR] truck and the Tivoli Marching Band, revellers moved to several soca songs, such as Dead or Alive, Soca In My Blood and Chippin' Down The Road.
    The Bryon Lee and the Dragonaires truck, along with its live band, which was stationed at the back of the parade, pulled the spectators along with it as they did various soca and dancehall selections.
    A sea of green, red, yellow and blue was all the eye could see as the colourful T-shirt groups complete with headsets, flags and masks, gyrated to the intoxicating soca beats behind the big truck.
    When the parade reached Constant Spring Road and the rains stopped, revellers were able to refresh themselves during a break, with water, food and fruits. The long cords of orange peel dangling from one vendor's orange-peeling machine told that he was doing brisk business.
    Some revellers were so drunk by the music they painted themselves and poured water all over their bodies as they made their way down the road.
    Police officers were easy targets for some revellers. While many just stood and watched, others pushed them away when they went to 'wine' on them. However, two men who were in a police jeep were not so fortunate as a reveller climbed through the window of the vehicle to get to them.
    Crowd control
    The further along the parade went, the harder it became for police and security officers to contain the gathering. Many spectators pushed passed security personnel who tried to control the crowd, eager to share in the celebrations.
    As the parade made its way down Arthur Wint Drive, revellers had a burst of [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]energy[/COLOR][/COLOR] as they demonstrated their wining skills and utilised their last chance to "get on bad" behind the big truck. As the parade came to an end, it was clear that for both revellers and spectators, it was well-spent time.
    Revellers party in the streets despite showers - Norman Grindley

Fuss time me eh see pics with so much WOMAN in jamaican .. MOSIAH yuh know dat soca bring out all the WOMAN in yard .. look how the WOMAN DEM ENJOYING THEM SELVES

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
      Fuss time me eh see pics with so much WOMAN in jamaican .. MOSIAH yuh know dat soca bring out all the WOMAN in yard .. look how the WOMAN DEM ENJOYING THEM SELVES
      Wait,

Yuh think Carnival new to Jamaica?

you want go a halfway tree or crossroads about 3-5 o clock inna the evening and you see something else, or down a free zone when them have shift change if you want see woman.

This nonsense that we have imported. AAAAAARRRRRRRGGH!

The pictures above don't tell the whole story, because when I was inconvenienced last Sunday on my way to a tournament, all I could see were uptown Jamaicans (read white). I always seem to forget how many of them exist! These are the people who will spend their millions on an imported art form as Carnival, while paying scant regard to Festival, a celebration of their own culture.

The trouble for them is they are embarrassed to acknowledge the fact that kumina, pocomania, reggae and dancehall are their own culture. How big and famous could our own Festival have become if we stopped being ashamed of our heritage?!? I dare say it would have made T&T's Carnival look like sheggries by now! And of all the places in the world to borrow or steal an art form, we had to choose T&T. Left up to me, not even dem oil mi want!

Now, I hear that Jamaica's carnival is getting too downtown (read black). I wonder what our uptown people going to do to make sure they can keep it their own and is not runover by these plebes?!

Please! Yuh never see di woman dem a run wid dem shoes at British LinkUp dance last week?!?

Woman nuh short a dance in Jamaica. From Quad to Passa Passa, dem dideh. So, di carnival one dem can gwaan!

Woman nuh short a dance in Jamaica
              Between the tattoos, bleach face and weave I think it's safe to say Carnival has the edge
              Last edited by Bricktop; April 1, 2008, 04:15 PM.

Yuh see di uptown people dem inna dem bikini? Yuh woulda never give dem nuh props.

Picture di ghetto slam in har bikini and compare!

argument dun!

Picture di ghetto slam in har bikini and compare!
                  Problem is along wit dat comes the navy tattoos, bleach cream and weave. You can overlook dat if yuh waan to not me.

HAHAHA! Okay. Add phone credit and school fee. heh heh!

Yuhseeit. A nuff "Ghetto Page" mi get inna my time.

Hmm maybe it has something to do with the extra entertainment at some mass events..

When last yuh have a shootout at Carnival ??

This nonsense that we have imported. AAAAAARRRRRRRGGH!

The pictures above don't tell the whole story, because when I was inconvenienced last Sunday on my way to a tournament, all I could see were uptown Jamaicans (read white). I always seem to forget how many of them exist! These are the people who will spend their millions on an imported art form as Carnival, while paying scant regard to Festival, a celebration of their own culture.

The trouble for them is they are embarrassed to acknowledge the fact that kumina, pocomania, reggae and dancehall are their own culture. How big and famous could our own Festival have become if we stopped being ashamed of our heritage?!? I dare say it would have made T&T's Carnival look like sheggries by now! And of all the places in the world to borrow or steal an art form, we had to choose T&T. Left up to me, not even dem oil mi want!

Now, I hear that Jamaica's carnival is getting too downtown (read black). I wonder what our uptown people going to do to make sure they can keep it their own and is not runover by these plebes?!

Mosiah you know thats the same thing people in trinidad are saying about the reggae music in trinidad .. All the big stage shows etc dancehall blasting through out the year with hip hop and r&b.
                          CARNIVAL IN TRINIDAD COME FROM THE lowerclass. Today IT IS BIGMONEY MAKING BUSINESS in trinidad to go a fete ALL INCLUSIVE is $500 up . THE REGULAR FETE which the have fewer of is about 120-200 with drink expensive. So Carnival is getting to downtown in jamaica but it in trinidad upper class Mr Nuff Money can enjoy him self every weekend. (boy are we different )
                          the lowerclass man who working for 3o00-4000TT a month ketching he ass to go and enjoy him self ...

But during the year reggae hip hop r&b and dancehall is what make the money in trinidad

About the same time yuh had a shootout at Passa Passa.

oH poor mosiah come on you should ah jump out yuh car and take a wine... I bet you was playing ah little soca in yuh car

enjoy beenieman enjoy soca http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cosncXz3_VU