PUBLIC AFFAIRS - Budget built on sand?

12 billion dollars if used to plant callalo and pop chow could lead to some form of growth. The fact is the money government is using to pay is not coming as an direct expense anymore to majority of Jamaicans.

If you invest Ja 10,000 in a cottage industry on micro scale and other do it could benefit the economy and influence some form of growth no matter how small it is. As you know small business is really a major source of employment.

12 billion dollars if used to plant callalo and pop chow could lead to some form of growth. The fact is the money government is using to pay is not coming as an direct expense anymore to majority of Jamaicans.

If you invest Ja 10,000 in a cottage industry on micro scale and other do it could benefit the economy and influence some form of growth no matter how small it is. As you know small business is really a major source of employment.
      You clearly are at sea when it comes to economics. Or perhaps this response was meant to amuse.... it certainly does.

Callaloo Economics

"12 billion dollars if used to plant callalo and pop chow could lead to some form of growth."

Your economic prescription is will indeed lead to massive growth ..... in flatulence.

What is massive growth?

The fact of the matter is small business is responsible for most growth in any capitalist economy. You think Butch Stewart started big?

The fact is micro economics matter and it influence Macro.

We keep on waiting for the big Overseas investment with no form of ownership from Jamaicans whatsoever and then talk bout "mental slavery'?

Wha happen to the Michael Manley "eat our own" and develop our own?

What is massive growth?

The fact of the matter is small business is responsible for most growth in any capitalist economy. You think Butch Stewart started big?

The fact is micro economics matter and it influence Macro.

We keep on waiting for the big Overseas investment with no form of ownership from Jamaicans whatsoever and then talk bout "mental slavery'?

Wha happen to the Michael Manley "eat our own" and develop our own?
            You are straying from the original point.

You opined that relief from payment of school and hospital fees may spark "growth" in the economy.

I debunked that wishful thinking with some basic economic theory which you are apparently unable to address with any specificity.

You state a truism - small businesses generate major employment and ecomic activity in most economies including Jamaica's - I agree with this as a general statement. However the fact remains that relief from payment of the aforementioned user fees wil NOT generate growth.

As to the late and lamented Michael Manley, do I really need to remind you what happened to him and his policies - as well meaning as they were?

Economic nationalism i.e. growing and developing your own, definitely has its place.
            Unfortunately one can't put all your eggs in that particular basket in this globalized world.

"As to the late and lamented Michael Manley, do I really need to remind you what happened to him and his policies - as well meaning as they were?"

Ummm ... I recall our company's business house team was struggling early on season. A quick coach change was made then we all understood that yuh cyaan give likkle bwoy big man job.

No I am not diverting from my point. I was justing diverting this money into the right channel could lead to growth however small. I know to get a three percent growth rate it has to come from multipli sources.

Talking about globalized world, the foot prices the are facing in Ja is because of the lack of planning and dependent on the globalized world. I am not all for globalization. Some things have to be protected and for me that includes some basic food supply. We can't depend totally on any country go feed us unless we can export and make up for the shortfall.

No I am not diverting from my point. I was justing diverting this money into the right channel could lead to growth however small. I know to get a three percent growth rate it has to come from multipli sources.

Talking about globalized world, the foot prices the are facing in Ja is because of the lack of planning and dependent on the globalized world. I am not all for globalization. Some things have to be protected and for me that includes some basic food supply. We can't depend totally on any country go feed us unless we can export and make up for the shortfall.
                  OK boss - I see your points and agree with many of them.

Let's agree to disagree on the issue of those fees generating growth... the other stuff I concur with.

Respek.

ok. We can disagree but on the Macro level but me know if me a get money that is usually in my budget what I am looking to do with it.