PUBLIC AFFAIRS - Budget built on sand?

• PUBLIC AFFAIRS - Budget built on sand?

PUBLIC AFFAIRS - Budget built on sand?
    published: Sunday | March 30, 2008

FILE
    Christopher Tufton (right), minister of agriculture, in conversation with James Harmon (left), deputy director the US Agency for International Development (USAID), and Bradley Finzi-Smith from Food For the Poor, at a Rural Economic Agricultural Programme project at the St Dorothy's Anglican Church hall in Church Pen, Old Harbour, St Catherine, last month. The minister needs to rethink some of his plans for the sector.

Don Robotham, Contributor
    The Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) government has presented its first budget. The Budget proposes a total expenditure of J$497 billion. In real terms, this represents an increase of five per cent over last year. Last year, the Jamaican economy grew by 1.5 per cent, if as much. So, we grow by 1.5 per cent but we increase government expenditure by five per cent. Welcome to Jamaica! One Love!

The big question before us is whether and to what extent this new Budget will be inflationary. Already, under this government, inflation has leapt up to 18 per cent for 2007-2008. With this projected five per cent increase in expenditure, which is likely to be much more in the end, where will inflation be this time next year? In this Budget, there will be a significant increase in the projected budget deficit. The projected deficit is 5.5 per cent but at our current rate, where is the budget deficit likely to be this time next year? It is more likely to be closer to seven per cent of GDP.

How far we have come! In the 2005-2006 Budget, the minister of finance initially projected a balanced budget, eliminating the deficit altogether. Needless to say, this was not achieved and the deficit turned out to be 3.3 per cent. In the following budget year of 2006-2007, the projected deficit became 2.5 per cent. In fact, the outturn was about 3.7 per cent. Who would have dreamt that in 2007-2008, we would be congratulating ourselves on achieving a budget deficit projection of 'only' 5.5 per cent! What all these figures are telling us is that we are on a slippery slope downwards.

Just to give another example. The Budget provides J$123 billion to pay interest on debt in the coming year. This represents a real increase of five per cent over last year. So, we promptly take the opportunity to increase expenditure by five per cent. This will require us to borrow at least US$300 million. What sort of game is this?

Flawed thinking
    At a fundamental level, the Government's entire thinking about the economy is flawed. At one level, they seem to get the message which the detailed numbers convey about the shortfalls in resources. At another level in their overall strategic thinking, they seem simply not to understand. We are dealing here with an economy which is decrepit. In much the same way as Commissioner of Police Hardley Lewin has declared the police force to be largely decrepit in its present form. Just as Commissioner Lewin's strategic thinking is informed by this concept, the Government's Budget is in dire need of a similar concept with respect to the economy.

What an increased budget deficit means is increased debt to finance the deficit. It means more transfers to owners of this debt, therefore, increased economic inequality. It also means increased inflation. This in turn translates into devaluation. All of which adds up to no economic growth. Which means more social decay. Which means more youth frustration. In other words: more crime.

Budget deficit and inflationary policy issues seem to many to be arcane and technical and full of jargon. In practice, they are at the core of our economic and social challenges. The budget deficit is the accounting measure which most accurately captures the failures of out there in our real economy. It tells us how little is all our tourism and alumina and sugar and banana really worth in comparison to the goodies which we want to consume but do not produce! Pay close attention to the budget deficit because it is the best measure of our general economic failure and the hard choices we have to make.

Government is hedging
    For example, no offence meant to Chris Tufton who obviously means well, but his ideas on food security in Jamaica have a fanciful 1970s quality to them. As the PNP discovered on the food farm projects of the 1970s and Mr Seaga discovered at Spring Plains, the technological transformation of Jamaican agriculture is no simple matter. The human resource and other infra-structure required to accomplish this is simply not present in the Jamaican countryside as yet.

This Budget looks remarkably like one of those Omar Davies presented in the 1990s. The new MOU settlement is just below 18 per cent. The public-sector wage bill remains bloated beyond all justification. The real increase to the security budget is two per cent, which will go largely to repairs of stations and vehicles. At the same time, the Government seems determined to honour its election promises in the area of health, at least. The real increase in the health budget is about 11 per cent. Education is a different matter as it does not look to me as if there is a significant real increase. It is also intending to provide increased short-term relief to the poorest sections of the population. But all such measures run counter to the compelling economic necessity to reduce our budget deficit and to cut Inflation. The Government is hedging.

The problem here is not the goal of helping the poorest groups in society. That is vitally necessary. The problem is attempting to do this in an inflationary manner. If your economy is not growing and you wish to increase expenditure in a non-inflationary way, then you have to redistribute existing resources from one group in the society to another. At this point, financing the Budget becomes a very serious political and social issue of the highest importance. Otherwise, you borrow or print money.

In true Jamaican fashion, we seem to be opting to evade the issues yet again. We have chosen the latter alternatives. If you are going to apply new subsidies, then these must be financed in a non-inflationary manner. In other words, impose some new taxes.

The prime candidates here are our comically low property taxes and financial services. But for obvious political reasons, the Government (and probably the Opposition) are unlikely to propose such a course. We prefer to incur more debt financing and to increase inflation with all their dire consequences than to bite the political and social bullet of increased taxation. It will be critical, therefore, to see what the minister of finance and the Opposition spokesman on finance come with when the financing side of the Budget takes centrestage.

Low-resource measures
    Cutting our budget deficit means that we should forget about significant new resources for security, education and the youth. Such resources simply do not exist. The security strategy for this year must focus on low-resource measures - primarily the transformation of the force.

This approach to our finances is a harsh one, but global economic realities are getting harsher by the day and are unforgiving. Recession is a reality in the United States. The devaluation of the US dollar continues apace. Oil prices are now firmly over $100 per barrel. Global rice prices went up 30 per cent this week, and shipping costs continue to soar. The announcement by the Government that energy policy will be at the centre of their activities is therefore, greatly to be welcomed. We simply cannot continue with an oil bill heading towards US$1.5 billion.

But the Government must understand that a problem of such magnitude cannot be solved bureaucratically. Managerialism won't work here. Tough, consistent leadership by example from the top will be essential, otherwise these policies will have zero credibility. The sight of politicians zooming up in gas-guzzling SUVs to champion energy conservation is too ludicrous for words. Likewise for efforts from the Mercedes and BMW set to exhort people to take the bus. Some drastic steps will be required from our leadership for energy conservation to be taken seriously by the Jamaican people.

The Opposition's response
    All of this raises the question of what the Budget responses of the Opposition are likely to be. I hope they realise that the time for gloating over the failures of the JLP's pre-election promises has passed. It has already been clearly established that all that was electioneering rubbish.

It is now time to move on to a more constructive stance. Of course the Opposition must present a detailed critique of the Government's Budget numbers, especially pertaining to the revenue- and deficit-reduction targets. The real expenditure and financing costs seem greatly understated to me. The pressures for increased inflation from such a budget could be severe. But the Opposition has a duty to go further. It must show that it has a deep grasp of the problems of the country and a broad vision of how to advance.

The Opposition must try to be constructive and put forward credible suggestions to improve our dire economic situation. In the same vein, the Government will not get away with any more chatter about whether they inherited a so-called 'unbudgeted' commitment of $16 billion from the PNP. They must take full responsibility for this 2007-2008 Budget and not imagine that they can palm off blame on the previous regime. This is no time for demagogic point-scoring. Too much is at stake for the usual silly games of desk-pounding to be played by either side.

Financing with magic wands

published: Sunday | March 30, 2008

Martin Henry, Contributor
    On Tuesday, April 1 (All Fools' Day), all user fees will be abolished in government health facilities, except the Inversity Hospital of the West Indies, which is a regional institution not directly controlled by the Government of Jamaica.

Fees were introduced for a range of public services, including health care, during the last administration. If sheer wickedness is ruled out, there must be a reason why a government having the pedigree of the People's National Party (PNP) with its socialist and state-welfare roots had to introduce user fees. If they wrecked the economy and had to resort to user fees for a bail-out, then this Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) government has had no time to build back a 'broken' economy since being sworn into office six months ago on September 11 last year.

Indeed, the Government does not miss an opportunity to complain how external conditions beyond its control are battering the economy. And it says it has had to "find the money" to meet off-the-book expenses inherited from the last administration.

But, "we are irrevocably committed to the view that it is the duty of the Government", the full-page newspaper advertisements announce, "to provide unrestricted access to basic health services ..." And "one of the pledges of the Government is to abolish user charges at all public (Government) health facilities, including hospitals". Secondary-school fees introduced by the last JLP government have already been abolished in one of the first campaign promises fulfilled by the JLP government in office.

Grief
    Clearly, contrary to the protestations of the Government, it has to have a magic wand, or more, somewhere. Actually, governments have three magic wands to which no one else has legal access, raising taxes, state borrowing, and printing money. The problem is these magic wands quite quickly deliver grief to the very people who were to benefit from the waving of them.

The Ministry of Health has had $1.5 billion tacked on to its budget for absorbing the removal of user fees - in year one. A sustainable public policy will have to run successfully in perpetuity. National security, education, housing and local government are getting more. Somewhere is getting less. Even with magic wands, the 2008-2009 Budget could not have been made substantially more than last year's. And already, some two thirds of each revenue dollar goes to paying back what we have borrowed, much of it to financce unaffordable freeness.

Former Finance Minister Dr Omar 'Run wid it' Davies pointed out when the second Supplementary Estimates were presented to Parliament on March 18, the Government's cutting back on capital expenditure on a number of projects financed by international agencies adding up to some $2.3 billion.
    Health Minister Rudyard Spencer, who has spent most of his professional life in an environment where many people believe money does in fact grow on trees, seems to believe in magic as well. Listen to him jawboning policy into reality: "Failure is not an option. It is not a matter of if it can be done. It simply must be done."

Health-care workers
    To make it happen, "we have to beef up the system", says Chief Medical Officer of Health, Dr Sheila Campbell-Forrester. So "with two weeks to go before the abolition of user fees". The Gleaner reports on March 19: "The Ministry of Health and Environ-ment (is advertising) for health-care workers to fill posts in public facilities across the island." They need just about everybody in health care. Where are these people to come from in two weeks, or two months, or two years? And what are they to be paid?

Nurses, whose association's leaders apparently also believe that money grows on trees, are still agitating for a 100 per cent increase in salary, which Minister-of-Finance- in-waiting Audley Shaw had told them they deserve and he would provide in Government. Big people, unlike young children, should be able to make the difference between 'joke and serious thing' and learn to take a little joke.

I am afraid that the promise of free health care is also a little joke that has become deadly serious, and deadly in more than a metaphorical sense.

Access is one thing. Quality is another.

In the early days of this column, in the tail-end years of the last JLP government. I wrote about 'A long night at the hospital' which drew a phone call from then Minister of Health Dr Kenneth Baugh. The piece was about the 'sufferation' encountered in trying to get 'free' medical care for an acutely ill person in a public facility. User fees were introduced to pull some additional dollars into the system poorly financed from public revenue in order to improve the quality of service.

Unless this Golding government pulls off a major miracle, it will not be able to provide high-quality health care for free across the range of its policy prescription. In 1974, Michael Manley announced free education to university level. Legend has it that his Finance Minister David Coore, heard of the policy like everybody else in that impulsive public announcement. At least Audley Shaw and Ruddy Spencer have some lead time to 'find the money' pulled out of the hat.

Quality did not follow access and a generation later the free school system was still generously delivering illiterate graduates for JAMAL, the Manley temporary literacy initiative which became everlasting. University education has subsequently expanded explosively on fee. And school administrators and parents alike agree that the secondary school cess introduced by the Seaga JLP Govern-ment had made a difference in improving school quality.

Golding and the JLP are banking on possessing more powerful magic than Manley and the PNP of the 1970s. Politics will again attempt in futility to defeat economics - a game to which politicians are addicted. The very people, the poor, who are supposed to benefit most from freeness will end up suffering most.
    Martin Henry is a communications consultant.

Clowns that were cheerleaders for the previous gov't should simply keep their opinions to themselves. Were these jokers knocking the JLP for making empty promises during the election campaign? Suh why dem bitching now?

Of course gov't spending is going to be more compared to what was budgeted last year.

>The exchange rate is what now? Wouldn't that affect interest payments to be made in U$?
      >These so called analysts refused to point out that interest payments to the BOJ was never budgeted for ... on this budget it is.
      >There is an allocation to accomodate tutition fees.
      > Allocation for health care costs
      >Allocation for the CDF.

As mi say .. people who cheered on Omar and his destructive policies should simply tek a seat and be quiet.

technical point

Of course gov't spending is going to be more compared to what was budgeted last year.
        >The exchange rate is what now? Wouldn't that affect interest payments to be made in U$?

Not to take any sides in this discussion but I just wanted to make an observation of a technical nature.

The 5% or whatever increase in spending year over year refers to a REAL increase i.e. after adjusting for price movements... which would obviously include exchange rate movements.

It is reasonable to expect higher gross spending year over year because of the high inflation Jamaica experiences currently.

However it is not automatic that there should be an increase in inflation-adjusted spending (as you appear to imply).

That is a choice the GOJ makes in their wisdom ... for better or for worse.

It is clear to me that aggressive tax collection will be the tool to contain the deficit.

All bets are off if oli prices continue its present climb...Jamaica will then have to take DRACONIAN measures, much like the US in the 1970s, where you could only buyt gas every other day. New car sales will be restricted as well.

Don't you think free Healthcare and education will also result in some growth in the economy? Now that people will have more money in their pocket.

Could be, but I would not count on that in the short run.

Money need to be collected from the dodgers.

without a doubt but there are so many dodgers you a go hear that them a pressure the poor man

You have to create a perception that EVERYONE is under the gun... psychology.

Not to take any sides in this discussion but I just wanted to make an observation of a technical nature.

The 5% or whatever increase in spending year over year refers to a REAL increase i.e. after adjusting for price movements... which would obviously include exchange rate movements.

It is reasonable to expect higher gross spending year over year because of the high inflation Jamaica experiences currently.

However it is not automatic that there should be an increase in inflation-adjusted spending (as you appear to imply).

That is a choice the GOJ makes in their wisdom ... for better or for worse.
                    Don1: I think you came in late where my position on "inflation" is concerned.

Just to say...and to remind Willi and the others of my friends...I think there is no where excepting this to go.

I think we need to relieve the 'social pressure' and spend! spend! spend! As sure as 'night follows day' inflation shall rise. I expected more borrowing and more spending as an attempt to overhaul/revitalize/modernize the (nice word...as mi nuh waan cuss) aging infrastructure and put people to work.

[QUOTE=Karl;92254]Don1: I think you came in late where my position on "inflation" is concerned.

My comment was directed at Lazie Karl..... and I wasn't taking any position on the matter of the budget. It's too early (for me) and one only has what the press chooses to report (so far) to base an opinion on ... for me that's insufficient.

don't look for the draconian

No new regime in Jamaica especially one with a tenuous majority is going to seriously consider those severe measures you reference... in my opinion.

Such measures would be tremendously unpopular and hand the Opposition a cane to whip the JLP... I don't see any scenario under which that may occur.

As far as oil prices individually are concerned, Jamaica is currently cushioned by the Venezuelans through Petro Caribe. Increases in oil prices hurt badly but 40%-50% of the bill is transferred to our debt load (at ridiculously concessionary rates thankfully) and mainly serves to further mortgage our future by passing the responsibility of current housekeeping costs to our children and grandchildren.

As our people drive their SUVs merrily over hill & dale ... their children should be filled with fear and trepidation ... a good part of that gas bill will be theirs to pay.... unless Hugo writes it off.

[QUOTE=Karl;92254]Don1: I think you came in late where my position on "inflation" is concerned.

My comment was directed at Lazie Karl..... and I wasn't taking any position on the matter of the budget. It's too early (for me) and one only has what the press chooses to report (so far) to base an opinion on ... for me that's insufficient.
                          Hear you, boss. I hope you'll have something (also post here ) to say as the 'budget speeches' go along.
                          Last edited by Karl; April 2, 2008, 05:22 PM.

Here you, boss. I hope you'll have something (also post here ) to say as the 'budget speeches' go along.
                            maybe at the end of it all .... after the truth can be distilled from the political fluff and histrionics.

money jingling in the pockets

Don't you think free Healthcare and education will also result in some growth in the economy? Now that people will have more money in their pocket.
                              These are akin to what economists call transfer payments... not new money.

How much money does this "free" up?? Even if it's US$100m or US$200m - which is probably a wild overestimate - this cannot stimulate national growth. The households that benefit will see reconfiguration of their consumption into other areas.
                              If GOJ had received these fees they would spend the money in the economy themselves (minus what goes out in debt servicing) just as the beneficiary households will ... the net effect is close to zero assuming the GOJ and households are equally (in)efficient at making economic spending decisions... $10,000 sneakers anyone?

Jamaica has a US$11-12b economy (official) and GOJ spends US$7b. A couple hundred million here or there in re-directed consumer expenditure is of relatively minor importance to the national accounts.

In fact it will probably result in more GOJ borrowing and ultimately higher debt servicing as the GOJ seeks to fund these election-based goodies.