Fraud Squad investigates leaking of bank information

• Fraud Squad investigates leaking of bank information

<SPAN class=news_summary>Fraud Squad detectives probing the leaking of information on the account of CCOC Association have collected a statement from former Peoples National Party (PNP) General Secretary Colin Campbell. </SPAN>

<SPAN class=news_body>RJR News has learnt that Mr. Campbell gave a statement to the investigators over the weekend.

It is expected that the detectives will also question senior members of the Opposition Jamaica Labour Party (JLP).

The Fraud Squad launched an investigation into the leaking of banking information following formal complaints from the PNP.

The investigators are trying to identify the individual who leaked information on the bank account of CCOC Association.

The guilty party could face criminal charges for breaching the Banking and Financial Institutions Act.

Head of the Fraud Squad Superintendent Errol Samuels Monday confirmed that senior detectives are probing the incident which was referred to the police last week.

However he declined to give details on the probe, stating that the matter was in its infancy.

Mr. Campbell resigned as Minister of Information and Development and PNP General Secretary in the wake of the firestorm, triggered by the Trafigura affair.

However, some political analysts and commentators have argued that the leaking of the banking information is being overlooked.

They argue that this is a serious breach of the Banking Act and the guilty person should be found and punished.

First Caribbean International Bank, where the account was held, has suspended one of its senior executives pending the outcome of the probe.</SPAN>

RE: Fraud Squad investigates leaking of bank information

Is this a FREAKING joke? Whats wrong with these poppyshows? Shouldn't the fraud squad be investigating what kind of transaction CCOC had with the Dutch company? Shouldn't the fraud squad be reviewing the contract between PCJ and the Dutch company ... to see foo pocket money a guh inna?

The Fraud Squad is simply that ... a fraud. As usual, dem focus pon the wrong thing.

Lazie (10/10/2006)Is this a FREAKING joke? Whats wrong with these poppyshows? Shouldn't the fraud squad be investigating what kind of transaction CCOC had with the Dutch company? Shouldn't the fraud squad be reviewing the contract between PCJ and the Dutch company ... to see foo pocket money a guh inna?

The Fraud Squad is simply that ... a fraud. As usual, dem focus pon the wrong thing.
      Shouldn't the fraud squad be investigating what kind of transaction CCOC had with the Dutch company?

Why? Who or whathas been defrauded? The company that gave the funds or the party that received the funds? Both parties, just on the off-chance you may have forgotten have stated the funds were given and received willingly! There is a dispute on the why...but,thatis it!

Let's make it real - I gave you some money. You willingly received that money.I said I gave you the funds to further my "commercial interest". You said it was a gift.I am not asking back for the funds. You have a decision to make on whether or not you keep the funds...or, give it back as your "gift" to me!

Yuh si fraud?

Yeah.. You! Do you have a contract with the gov't? Is Lazie apart of the gov't? Guh get some coffee and come back, cause yuh nuh wake yet,.

You can only see one side of the equation eeh? So the bank has no rights to try and protect themselves from further leaks which could severly undermine any advances they have made.

Take for example the Observer has their accounts there, what if they are trying to say buy out the Western Mirror but some one in the bank leak info to the Mirror that Observer is over drawn by millions and they break off the negotiations.

You see Lazy you learn to much from your idol Smutty Perkins, he grabs on to one aspect of the thing and never lets go, completely ignoring the other aspects.

You and your fellow 'labor-wrongs' have completely missed my point from last week about the crime that was committed against First Caribbean, even the Observer editorial was not enough to convince you that there was a serious breach of ethics that took place.

I bet if the facts were known, we would hear that people have either withdrawn or threatening to withdraw the accounts and move elsewhere. I am also certain that other banks have had staff meetings since then and warned staff about repurcussions from leaks.

But since I chose not to think like the rest of the lumpen and discuss the obvious, I was labelled the spin doctor for the PNP.

Go on being lemmings....

Lazie, even God-blessed America would do the same thing. Why it suh hard to understand?!?!

Sickko, nobody labelled you ... re-read all yuh posts on the issue and see how yuh come across. There was not one ounce of objectivity in any of your posts, so to cry you're being labelled isn't fair, you labelled yuhself.

I'm quite certain, I have said the woman should be fired for breaching the bank's rules. How is it I'm not seeing the other side of the equation? Don't turn it comical Sickko. From last week mi tell yuh fi guh read the money laundering act and stop the break dancing (cause all yuh a duh is spin pon yuh back now). In case yuh figet, yuh former leader said a corrupt force cannot investigate itself, tell me if yuh think a corrupt gov't can investigate itself.

The problem is people keep thinking Jamaica operate like the real world. One more thing, yuh in no position fi diss Mutty. All journalists a yaad need fi learn from the great one. When unuh come cross the opposition unuh have teet as unuh should, but when unuh come face to face with the gov't unuh gwaan like school girls.

MUTTY KEEP IT REAL Sickko. Unuh need fi sit at the feet of the great one. Di man mek Omar nervous, yet yuh a diss? Slap yuhself Sickko!

Mosiah (10/10/2006)Lazie, even God-blessed America would do the same thing. Why it suh hard to understand?!?!
                ... and ignore CCOC's trangression? Whey you get that from? If it was in the real world, the contract and all documentation would bein the hands of the authorities, plus investigation would have started into the commercial transaction.

<DIV>Why can't the two things be done? Is there some exclusivity here? If one investigation taking place, it precludes the other from happening?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>hrmph!</DIV>

If this is money for business as the dutch company saying somebody should be in JAIL.

Smutty a great one... Ha ha ha ha...you and him blind alike....tell me when last you hear Perkins offer any bit of advise to anyone who has called his show?

Years ago I heard a man call him to ask some advise and he told the man to go call the other shows, obviously he was not there to give advise but just to spew bile and venom. It is amazing that he has so much hatred in that little body of his.

All when he cant see well enough to read the papers he still goes on and on and on...poor unnu.

When I lived in NY I used to read Mike Lupica until I got tired of his negativity as he coudl never see anything positive in anything, people like that wear you out, even the BIble talks about the contankerous woman.

BY the way IO noticed you could find nothing in my previous post to oppose so you try to spin it your own way.

What the ooman did was to set back banking, no wonder people keep them money under dem mattress instead of going to bank.

Like my neighbour who is almost 80 and used to live in England like to say, 'Di hole a dem is tieves , dem just want you money to do what dem want with it and ntell you how much you can take from what you cnat take.'

Mosiah (10/10/2006)<DIV>Why can't the two things be done? Is there some exclusivity here? If one investigation taking place, it precludes the other from happening?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>hrmph!</DIV>
                        Mi really a try wid yuh! You see any efforts to investigate the PNP members? Yuh somehow figet who have the handle.

Sickko, stop yuh foolishness about setting back the banking sector. Mi tell yuh fi guh read the Money Landering Act ... I suggest yuh so before going any further. I tell all the while, Lazie don't spin, Lazie keep it real. Pity unuh have a problem doing the same.

Yuh can try tear down the icon all yuh want with trivial stories, ICON is ICON!

I dont have tro read the money laundering act I know what it says and I cant understand why you keep harping on it as if the PNP got money from an illegal source.

What the Act speaks to is any sum of money over $100,000 that is lodged to any account, be it at a commercial bank or any insurance compnay etc. must be checked out to make sure the source is clean.

In the past few months I have lodged checks of over $300,000 and $500,000 and I am sure they were investigated and found to be legit and no one has called me once to ask me any questuons as to their source.

It does not matter how much you lodge as long as the BOJ can ascertain the legitimacy of the source you cool, was the company the check was drawn on a drug dealer or doing anything illegal?

I have also watched enough unlawful possesion cases in court and spoken to enough lawyers to understand what it says...the prosecution must prove that the money was obtained unlawfully or through some illegal means.

We all know what the US laws says about leaving or rntering the country with more than US$10,000. If I decide to go to the US with over US$10,000 in cash on my person, they cannot deny me entry based on that alone or take it away, as long as I can prove it came from a legitimate source.

Now I would be foolish to be walking around with that amount of money on me but that it the risk i would chose to take.

<DIV>Den Lazie, yuh nuh tink mi use to dem kinda tings? What yuh tink di JFJ guh true? </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>When people criticise the JFJ for not protesting against criminals when they commit the everyday murder but rail up when police kill innocent people, nuh di same ting dat?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>The courts of the land investigate the regular murders while they are supposed to do the same for the policeman's transgressions. That doesn't usually happen, hence the need of a JFJ.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>In this case, so far to my knowledge, no one has proven that any law was broken. Still, unquestionably, there is a lot wrong with what the PNP did and that's why every person and organisation worth anything at all is pressuring them to spill the entire deal for all to see. John Public is the judge in this case. What else can we do, save from voting them out at the next general election?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>So don't get me wrong, I want to get to the bottom of all of this, but the investigation into the bank leak must continue!</DIV>