• Why UWI is close to our hearts

Locally developed heart simulator could hit US market
    Ross Sheil, Online Coordinator rsheil@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, March 26, 2008

A heart surgery simulator developed in Jamaica is now being marketed in the United States by a leading American heart surgeon.

Dr Richard Feins, Chairman of the American Board of Thoracic Surgery (ABTS), has hailed the technique as 'revolutionary'.

Developed at the University of the West Indies (UWI) Mona the 'Real Heart' project uses a pig heart, inflated by balloons to simulate a beating human organ, held inside an artificial cavity. The process speeds up training since it allows students to work on a real heart - a pig's is anatomically similar to a human's - rather than the current alternative, which is to observe between 500 to 1,000 surgeries.

"It provides a tool for the master surgeon to create a training session using a real heart and it also provides real time vital signs," explained Dr Daniel Coore, head of Mathematics and Computing, UWI, who developed the software, one of several persons who workedon the Cardiac Surgery Training Project.

The project was the brainchild of Dr Paul Ramphal, a heart surgeon at the University Hospital of the West Indies (UHWI), faced with needing to better expose trainees to the real life procedure.

"While we were able to perform all of these procedures on human patients in Jamaica (and did so many times), limitations in resources such as intensive care facilities and staff meant that we couldn't do large numbers of procedures, and therefore our trainees were not seeing enough procedures to properly learn to do them," said Ramphal.

However, the prototype had been dismantled after it was initially developed in 2005 due to lack of funding needed to take the project further. That was until Dr Feins typed 'heart surgery simulators' into a web search engine late last year.

"The Internet version of this paper had two video clips of the simulator and I was instantly impressed with how real it looked and with its potential application to surgical training," said Feins. "I might also add, that for the last two years, my youngest son has been in the United States Navy in naval flight school, training that makes heavy use of simulation and I have become convinced that we could significantly improve surgical training if we could get the right simulators."

He funded the team - which also included Richard Craven from the United Kingdom who was responsible for the electrical engineering on the project from his time at the University of Technology (UTech) - to construct another simulator earlier this year. He has since been promoting it in the US, confident that Real Heart will become standard in heart surgery training.

"It is the hope of the ABTS to provide the support necessary, both financially and professionally . I believe that as long as all parties involved remain committed to developing this product for the sole purpose of helping cardiothoracic surgical education, there is no limit as to how successful it could become," said Feins.

To watch videos of the Real Heart simulator in action, visit the Jamaica Observer 'Observations' blog: www.jamaicaobserver.com/blog

A di same intellectual ghetto university yuh a talk bout?

it same one.... this heart simulator business must have happened on an off day or maybe an off year or two.

However, the prototype had been dismantled after it was initially developed in 2005 due to lack of funding needed to take the project further. That was until Dr Feins typed 'heart surgery simulators' into a web search engine late last year.

This must be comedy.. and you clowns don't even get the joke.

But nuh worry... mek UWI continue to form the fool.. even wid a MIT PHD from IBM Watson research center doing di software is a random web-search wi a rely pon fi save di project..

I could not find a better example of an Intellectual Ghetto if I tried.. tenk yuh sah !.

If ah laff tiday !!

WHOIEEEEE !!

I see you know the whole story behind it. Please share!

Thanks in advance!

I see you know the whole story behind it. Please share!

Thanks in advance!
            I think the project could benefit from the input of some Silicon Valley economists!!

Or perhaps some software engineers from Wall Street?

What say you?
            Last edited by Don1; March 26, 2008, 06:20 PM.

Love the post!
              Wish the project every success!

Or an infusion of cash? DOn't it did shut down for lack of funding? It seems plenty folks back a yaad willing to risk money in risky business...maybe this is/was an opportunity to get involved in something worthwhile.

pr

Or an infusion of cash? DOn't it did shut down for lack of funding? It seems plenty folks back a yaad willing to risk money in risky business...maybe this is/was an opportunity to get involved in something worthwhile.

pr
                  Just a touch of sarcasm in my response....... referencing some ludicrous posts from an accidental comedian posting here a couple of weeks ago.

Would love to be able to follow how this 'project' develops?

If the various 'rights' were protected there must be opportunities for tremendous benefits to accrue to the country, UWI and some local individuals?

Would love to be able to follow how this 'project' develops?

If the various 'rights' were protected there must be opportunities for tremendous benefits to accrue to the country, UWI and some local individuals?
                      I would assume that that IP protection would be the first order of business before marketing started.

As you undoubtedly know, the US is very competitive and problematic to introduce new products especially in such a heavily regulated field- bio-medical devices. Might be best to consider giving up some control and partnering with a company like Medtronic, Johnson & Johnson or some other significant player in that market segment. Vested interests will try to derail them... a relatively easy proposition- so a big partner is essential.

Wish them all the best and lots of luck ... they'll need it.

I would assume that that IP protection would be the first order of business before marketing started.

As you undoubtedly know, the US is very competitive and problematic to introduce new products especially in such a heavily regulated field- bio-medical devices. Might be best to consider giving up some control and partnering with a company like Medtronic, Johnson & Johnson or some other significant player in that market segment. Vested interests will try to derail them... a relatively easy proposition- so a big partner is essential.

Wish them all the best and lots of luck ... they'll need it.
                        A given that partners would have to be had...

...what I am thinking is if the careful work that needed to be done was not done...'our guys' would not be the first to lose 'everything'...

...even history has in the past have had not even footnotes....not even 'vapour trail' on those who should have had been rightfully given credit.

A given that partners would have to be had...

...what I am thinking is if the careful work that needed to be done was not done...'our guys' would not be the first to lose 'everything'...

...even history has in the past have had not even footnotes....not even 'vapour trail' on those who should have had been rightfully given credit.
                          Agreed.

BTW, a suggestion, from a marketing standpoint maybe you should have that slogan as: ReggaeBoyzsc.com, Life online is now worth living.

Selah

look to india, brazil and other big improving third world countries fi market, figet the US and build your brand first.

Me ?, I say you are an idiot and don't even know it.

Do some reading about Innovation Economy, it will at least occupy you so you make less of an a$$ of ourself in here.