Shootout At British Link Up LaRoose Dance

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
    Jamaican men have always preferred brown women, and you can hear the preference in the music. "Brown Skin" by Richie Spice is a recent example.
    Yeah but these women aren't "natural" brownings.

By looking at the pic, yuh can tell if dem use bleach creme? A good indication of bleached skin is when yuh check out dem knuckles. More time dem knuckles look much darker than dem faces.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
        By looking at the pic, yuh can tell if dem use bleach creme? A good indication of bleached skin is when yuh check out dem knuckles. More time dem knuckles look much darker than dem faces.
        Listen to the Bleachologist.

All of the link up woman dem bleash. Now a days them a bleach so hard that you can harly see the cracks like before.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
            here is the problem. That noise rule shoud have seen that dance to be done from 2. Funny enough most people proably got there at two. I am willing to bet how many bottles or cases of Hennesey the cops got to leave every time they went to end it. I can tell you if it was a ordinary man thing that would be done but its flossing and cognac flowing so they look the other way. Fire the ole lot of them.
            And when the Commish seh that there is a criminal element within the force them VEX. How can a bashment suppose to end at 2 a.m., and it continue into 8 a.m. Law enforcers want someone to enforce them!! Cho

brown skin ... wha in jamaica them look at complexion come on now all ah them black.....

The problem

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                here is the problem. That noise rule shoud have seen that dance to be done from 2. Funny enough most people proably got there at two. I am willing to bet how many bottles or cases of Hennesey the cops got to leave every time they went to end it. I can tell you if it was a ordinary man thing that would be done but its flossing and cognac flowing so they look the other way. Fire the ole lot of them.
                Thanks for the return to reality on this issue.

Here we have a very recent, raw tragedy with death, injury and major trauma - and most of the comments here are about making fun of the victims - referencing the nonsense that dominates most Jamaican's thinking ...... even aided and abetted by foreigners on this forum.

Disgusting.

Thanks for the return to reality on this issue.

Here we have a very recent, raw tragedy with death, injury and major trauma - and most of the comments here are about making fun of the victims - referencing the nonsense that dominates most Jamaican's thinking ...... even aided and abetted by foreigners on this forum.

Disgusting.
                  Suck yuhself

Don1, sorry, but I can understand the lack of remorse by our forumites, in general. I cannot see how anyone with any decency could follow such an organisation. If people don't know what they are about then ignorance and naivete have reached new lows. I'll save my tears for the innocent among us who are being slaughtered on a daily basis. I really couldn't care less what happens to the BLU crew and all other link-ups. This is not your regular family reunion.

To catch a 'Fowl'
                    The nabbing of British Link-Up head

published: Sunday | June 20, 2004

Owen 'Father Fowl' Clarke
                    Andrew Clunis, News Editor
                    London: (The Voice)
                    BRITISH POLICE monitored Owen 'Father Fowl' Clarke for two years after he was identified as the head of a crack/cocaine distribution empire.
                    "We decided to use as many law enforcement agencies as possible to find his weaknesses. We saw whom he relied on and took out those cells. He had a network linking the north, east and south of London and he also supplied Leeds, Manchester, Birmingham, the West Country including Bristol as well as Brighton and Croydon in the south," Detective Chief Inspector Peter South explained.
                    "In the beginning he was doing it from a distance, and although he had control of the cells here, he was living in Jamaica. Once we took away the people he was relying on, we were able to draw him back to London. We then took out a key cell in Luton and he realised he was losing control, so in order to re-establish his authority he was forced to become more personally involved."
                    LINKED TO RADIO DJ'S DEATH
                    Convicted crack dealer 'Father Fowl' may have been linked to the killing of a London radio disc jockey, DJ Village, a police officer has said.
                    The budding radio DJ, who did stints at the BBC, was shot in 2001 in the presence of Jamaican dancehall star, Elephant Man. DCI South, who led the investigation that put away Fowl for 13 years last week, said intelligence suggests that while he may not have pulled the trigger on DJ Village, persons connected to his drug network may have been responsible.
                    He said Operation Trident had good intelligence that Fowl was definitely responsible for several killings in Jamaica. DCI South said Father Fowl, 46, was among the top six crack dealers in the United Kingdom.
                    "There are only a few people who operate at that level and we have gathered intelligence and we will be going after them," he said.
                    When Fowl was arrested, the police found him in a laboratory-style environment working on a new, more deadly form of crack. He was using a special oil to make it more pure, lighter in colour and more potent. The super crack would have been far more deadly, requiring only a single usage to induce addiction. Police seized more than 100 kilograms of cocaine valued at over £2 million.
                    When the police barged in on Fowl at the safe house in Collingdale, he tried to escape. Realising he was cornered, he told accomplice Jason Saddler to take the blame. Saddler pleaded guilty to manufacturing and supplying crack and was put away for five years. Father Fowl denied involvement at every stage during the trial, claiming he was 'stitched up'. He told officers that he was the puppet of another gangster, Mark Lamby, who
                    is currently in prison for a shooting.
                    EMPIRE
                    DCI South said Fowl's conviction sent a message to the trade. "That message is that even he can serve 13 years. He always thought he was untouchable. This has sent a strong ripple through the crack community," he said.
                    Police were kept on their toes trying to keep track of the wily Fowl. According to DCI South, "He changed his tactics several times, although he predominantly used mules. Many of the people who were arrested at Gatwick and Heathrow during that period were working for him."
                    Although the police have not been able to link him to any murders, they say he was close to a number of killings and might have given orders. Fowl was the pivotal figure in the British Link-Up crew, who staged dances and parties at the exotic La Roose entertainment spot on Port Henderson Road. As part of that British link up, he would use the women who travelled to and from Britain for the events as couriers.
                    An investigation is now taking place to determine Fowl's assets. He is known to own properties in Britain, Canada, the United States and three grand mansions in Jamaica. Fowl sported a £20,000 diamond and gold crucifix necklace and wore £10,000 hand-tailored suits. In Jamaica he drove a custom-built Jaguar. The police said Fowl was a 'man of leisure' and did not seem to carry on any legitimate business. A confiscation hearing will be held later this year regarding the seizure of his assets.

A life is a life.

I understand it but don't agree with it ...... I just find it disgusting.
                      Last edited by Don1; March 25, 2008, 01:14 PM.

And an innocent life and one riddled with "alleged" criminality are both lives that will not engender equal amounts of sorrow from me.

But what are they guilty of? Partying and having a good time as they see it?
                          Is it guilt by association?

Most of us used to follow certain sound systems back in the day.... surrounded by assorted criminal types sometimes.... I know I did my share. Young people do that for the kicks. Anyone can be caught up in that situation.

Do they deserve ridicule when they're victimized?

I am not making fun of anyone, but I just can't feel any sorrow when I hear of tragedy at a British Link Up affair. On the roads, they are a law unto themselves, tracing fellow motorists who dare to protest to no end! Their parties are big splurges, filled with people who appear to be less than upstanding citizens. Did it come as a surprise that there were guns galore at this party, even if some of them belong to licensed firearm holders? (As for that, some of these legit owners just prove how corrupt our police force is.)

If one needs to follow Stone Love or whatever other sound was there, does one have to go to Link-Up party? I don't think so!

Like I said, I know some ignorant but innocent people who were there. One got shot in his leg, and I hope he'll get better soon. But for those crook patrons who chose to do their own rendition of Shootout at the OK Corral, I'm only sorry they weren't all successful in their efforts in killing off dem one anedda.
                            Last edited by Mosiah; March 25, 2008, 01:27 PM.

No, they deserve ridicule when they are being ridiculous.

As for being traumatized.. I suspect the trauma will wear off in time for the next Link-Up event.

I am not making fun of anyone, but I just can't feel any sorrow when I hear of tragedy at a British Link Up affair. On the roads, they are a law unto themselves, tracing fellow motorists who dare to protest to no end! Their parties are big splurges, filled with people who appear to be less than upstanding citizens. Did it come as a surprise that there were guns galore at this party, even if some of them belong to licensed firearm holders? (As for that, some of these legit owners just prove how corrupt our police force is.)

If one needs to follow Stone Love or whatever other sound was there, does one have to go to Link-Up party? I don't think so!

Like I said, I know some ignorant but innocent people who were there. One got shot in his leg, and I hope he'll get better soon. But for those crook patrons who chose to do their own rendition of Shootout at the OK Corral, I'm only sorry they weren't all successful in their efforts.
                                I totally understand your cynicism and also note that you were not joining in the merriment on this issue.

I recall returning to Jamaica in 2003 and in a barber shop hearing the midday news and what to me was bloodcurdling, stomach-churning news of about 8 killings in a row....... I observed the other patrons & workers ...... absolutely impassive...... not a hint of any reaction- verbal or otherwise... jus anedda day in paradise.

It came home to me then the moral rot that had set in within the people. They appeared completely inured to and powerless/uncaring about the carnage. That is the attitude on magnificent display here.

Until that attitude changes..... no amount or quality of law enforcement will help us turn the tide.