US$4b deficit

• US$4b deficit

Jamaica's trade deficit is now close to US$4 billion.

The latest trade figures from the Statistical Institute of Jamaica (STATIN) showed that for the January to November period last year, the deficit increased from US$528 million to US$3.9 billion.

During the eleven month period, Jamaicans imported goods valued at US$5.8 billion.

This represented a US$660 million increase over the figure recorded during the corresponding period in 2006.

Jamaica earned US$1.9 billion from exports.

The major contributor to the increase in the import bill was fuel which cost the country US$1.7 billion.

Other commodities imported were machinery and transport equipment valued at US$1.1 billion, chemicals US$786 million, manufactured goods US$695 million and food, US$661 million.

The gov't need fi act fast and address this energy crisis. Time dem start forcing people fi conserve.

Force them like how? Double the tax on SUVs?

Or a guess them can charge an extra tax pon gas so people can't afford it?

How about produce more ackee
          and leggo the casino?

Dat sound like a betta plan. Lazie start sound like a 70s comrade to me.

Force them like how? Double the tax on SUVs?
              That as well as charge high parking fees in the city forcing people to park and ride. Kingston have the JUTC, I guess they could find a way to provide buses to other areas like Mobay.

Dat sound like a betta plan. Lazie start sound like a 70s comrade to me.
                Oh ohh .. yuh got jokes? Luckily I like a good laugh.

Maybe we can get the govt fe distribute some energy-saving light bulbs?

LOL!!

Yuhseeit!