We are walking a very dangerous road, we

But don't they have different areas of command? Area 1, Area2 etc which cover about 3 parishes? Yes they should have radios in each car but we need more than that.

We don't have resources cause use the money for other things. If them search long and hard enough they can find some technology which is not costly but can help them. there is no reason why each capital don't have a camera inna their bus park. You have any idea how much crime that would stop?

Sass listen to me; here in NYC each cop is assigned a sector;
      you by no means operate out of that sector, you are being monitored by
      your assigned spervisor (sarge). When I say radio, I don't mean in the car, you carry your radio (walkie talkie then) once on duty. Therefore if a 911 call comes in and its being escalated the high command in KGN can reach out to that sector anywhere on the island. It's called command and control. High time we move in the 21st century. Car radio is good, but all police officers should carry a radio. I think more officers lives will be saved here and better control over situatioins can be excercised.

Yuh talk as if yuh know how di ting set now, but it is clear that you don't.

Yuh need to keep up Jawge.

Toothy has been thoroughly debunked.

Stap run !

But Jawge all cops in Jamaica have their section that they monitor as well. The only difference is that a NYC can only act in NYC. A NY State cop can only act in that state. From my understanding way back Portland cops can't act in St.Mary either, I don't know if it change.

Cops having walkie talkie is good but it would be more worth it if we had a centralise database with all dangerous criminal that any police can access by a computer or some electronic device and all license plate can be tracked to owners.

him a talk like you you nuh have traffic "police" or warden in NYC different from the regular police, Housing police etc.

Blue bag work use to be very different from regular police. Like I know blue seem in the days use to guard banks and certain place.

Sass, read what I said;
                one base then you move up and branch off. All NYPD is under one command now; though you may still have specialzed branches such as transit and hosuing but their insignia says NYPD.

You don't seem to get what I'm saying.

Mo how many cops you see carry a radio? how many cops wander from one end of the island to another?

Imagine the scenario of the baby shooting with my suggested policies implemented: wouldn't the constable have to explain to his supervisor why he is discharging his firearm on the radio? Are you under fire? No sir.why and what are you shooting at? Continue, it seems as if we relish the third world life.

Jawge,

What "massive resources" are needed to keep a data bank and a "terminal" to access the information?

What is lacking is training which you mention, proper pay and POLITICAL WILL to revamp the constabulary.

pr

Well PR it's going to need a high level
                      certain expertise ofr this database (well maybe UWI and CAST couldbe called upon to make serious contribution here) You need strong encryption schemes to protect the data. Criminals with money can subvert or as a kid with a computer to hack the police network. I would assume that the JCF would consult with their counterparts abroad and see what they use.

PR these equipment don't come cheap but I agree that it should be used. What I said is a gradual introductiion given our finaicaial resources. We don't want a situation where KGN is fully equipped and the rest of island is under equipped. This would only cause the criminals to hide and move in the less equipped zones. It should be flat: The whole island staions and squad fully equipped. Therefore a crimianl cannot drive around in say Springmount thinking that ah is only KGN or inna mobay dem haff dem tings so mi arite yah so. Your plates tracked and backup called dpending on the code that flags your plate. Boss this will need money and one of the key thing is maintenance (this I notice is killing JA) propely tarined and well paid personnel to maintain the system.

First we have to tackle, how these guns are brought in the island. If not what's above will be useless.

Sass they are not under a rigid sytem of command and control.
                        Having a team with radios and a team leader (equipped with a cell phone) will make command and control very easy and efficient. Just imagine acompalint is give about an officer in Westmoreland. High command in KGN, goes on the computer look up who is the team leader and his assignment for the day, call the cell. Where is officer Jason williams, he isnot here sir. Give me his radio channel. Constable williams what's your 20? (williams inna bar a shake down smaddy fi money) Him inna big trouble on the other hand if he is present and accounted for, then high command can say at such time and such date officer williams was........

As mi say wi love the third world thing becuase if the police get very effective, nuff tings ago stop an big man might end up jail. So wi can all dream it won't happen. All we will hear is how the police are criminals and the worst thing in our society.
                        Last edited by Jawge; March 13, 2008, 12:32 PM.

Cops don't just wonder from one end of the island to another. Nothing nuh go so. Only special forces can do that. Most cops are stationed within a parish to a specific station.

Well PR it's going to need a high level
                            certain expertise ofr this database (well maybe UWI and CAST couldbe called upon to make serious contribution here) .
                            Jawge, a man like you who preaching IT and every thing technological, supposed to know that the institution is now called UTECH not CAST

Really? why is it then that so
                              much complaints are given about uniformed officers in other areas?
                              Sass what you seem to be missing is that once the citizen sees and knows that all cops have radios, the citizen know they can call high command and make a complaint and action is taken.

I know one person who told some NYD cops that they have the number to 1 police plaza, dem back off quick

I'm willing to give the police the benefit of the doubt because they stood tall to hold the fragile democracy of JA. At the same time the citizens do enjoy certain rights. With effective command and control, I think most police actions can be accounted for.

You seem to be saying Ja has this sytem in place and I know for a fact that all Police doesn't have radios. They are not broken up in teams responding electronically to a central command. A near version could be happening in KGN but what's the point? The criminals move into the remote areas. The constable that shot the baby; did he have a radio was he under direct supervison of a team leader?

The constable that shot the baby; did he have a radio was he under direct supervison of a team leader?
                                The cops that killed the Braeton 7, did they have radios? Were they under the direct supervision of a team leader?