• 'Ca-SIN-o'

'Ca-SIN-o'
    HENLEY MORGAN
    Wednesday, March 05, 2008

Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett is trumping casino gambling as the key to increasing tourist arrivals to the island by 70 per cent or five million visitors by 2012.

HENLEY MORGAN
    He, a churchman, sees the church as a stumbling block because of its opposition to the introduction of casinos.

Pointing to the almost $40 billion worth of gambling taking place in Jamaica each year without any visible or audible opposition from the church, the minister has joined Kingsley Thomas, Howard Hamilton and the editorial writers of leading local newspapers in calling the anti-casino element "hypocrites" for not raising their voices sooner. I agree wholeheartedly with this sentiment.

Each time I pass by one of the little roadside shops that take wagers on horse racing and see hordes of men, who, from their dress, belong to Jamaica's social underclass, gesticulating to place their bets on the odd chance that Lady Luck will run, I wonder if anyone has stopped to count the cost. If an outcry could have prevented us going down this road, then I agree, the church and those who care about the soul of the nation and the well-being of each Jamaican have been too silent.

Where I part company with Minister Bartlett and others of his persuasion, is when they suggest that to have been silent in the past denies one a voice in the present. It's time for the nation to hear both sides of the story.

Any balanced debate on the subject of casino gambling must begin by acknowledging the obvious benefits. Proponents of this type of attraction often point to growth in investments and employment as two of the positive economic impacts. Taxation from the industry has been used in some places to finance social programmes on government's vote-winning agenda.

If that were the whole story, there would be "no problem, man". But one must also count the costs. It's precisely for this reason why in 1996 the United States Congress set up the National Gambling Impact Study Commission (NGISC). The NGISC was given the mandate to unravel the puzzle surrounding gambling - free from the religiosity, emotionalism and self-serving interests that often accompany the debate. The report of the NGISC was released to the president and Congress on June 18, 1999.

Among the commission's findings is its estimation that over three million American adults have a pathological gambling problem - meaning they lie, steal, neglect jobs and family, and even commit suicide because of an uncontrollable desire to gamble. Compulsive gambling is recognised by the American Psychiatric Association as an impulsive control disorder and treated as an addiction.

Possibly the most damning of the study's findings is the fact that many of the benefits of legalised gambling are illusory - fool's gold. Lottery and casino revenues are often targeted to fund worthy aspects of national life such as education. But closer study reveals that such revenues displace funds that would and should have been raised in some other way. Add to this the fact that gamblers with household income in the lowest percentile spend three times as much as their better-off compatriots and you have the makings of a massive regressive tax. Former Nevada deputy attorney-general Chuck Gardener could not have been more correct when he quipped, "No one in the history of mankind has ever developed or operated a casino out of a burning desire to improve the lot of humanity."

But there is a more fundamental reason why the introduction of casino gambling to Jamaica should not be contemplated. A significant number of Jamaicans oppose such a move. A Don Anderson poll published March 2005 gave the figure as 56.7 per cent. In polls conducted by Bill Johnson, the number of people opposing casino gambling declined to 55 per cent in 2005 and to a still substantial 40 per cent in January 2008. If the church is really convinced that "ca-sin-o" by its name and nature is something evil that Jamaica should avoid, it had better start campaigning as if a referendum were going to be called tomorrow.

The conclusion reached by the NGISC is a warning that Jamaica had better heed: "The country has gone very far regarding an activity the consequences of which, frankly, no one really knows much about. Commissioners believe it is time to consider a pause in the expansion of gambling. Without a pause and reflection, the future does indeed look worrisome."
    hmorgan@cwjamaica.com

What is he talking about???

Jamaica already has Casinos (nuff nuff), they are just not official.

What is being called for is the establishment of "classy" casino joints!
    So what, its OK to have the low end casinos, but not the higher added-value high end?

The hypocrisy is mind-boggling!

Yuh done know seh dem a hypocrites. Mek I go search for the article I posted last week.

A rose by any other name is still a rose. So 'Ca-SIN-o' or CASINO is still a casino! Get that Henley, and I know I'll see you in one of them

Read it again. Yes keep it illegal; hence
        the option of a massive sweep and shutdown one day. What's next legalised prostitution? You guys have no respect for theintelligence of the Jakan people.

Its simple, who have a problem with casino simply don't go to one. Afterall, isn't it being used to attract more tourists? How many people would be able to gain employment from these entities? Who waan oppose can oppose .... the gov't have a country to run.

the former government has no respect for the jamaican people...let's be clear on that.....!

btw...what are your thoughts on las vegas?

Lazie stop being gullible and taking
                the simplistic path. Where on this planet it's recorded that casino gambling has bootsed and sustained an economy? Boss be prepared to roll up your sleeve and do hard work. Your party promised to put Ja on the right economic path via education and investment.

You guys should have said you were talking about casino gambling.

My thoughts are that it's not Las vegas that's
                  helping to sustain the US economy.

I am more inclined to think Silicon Valley.

Over to you.

Lazie stop being gullible and taking
                    the simplistic path. Where on this planet it's recorded that casino gambling has bootsed and sustained an economy? Boss be prepared to roll up your sleeve and do hard work. Your party promised to put Ja on the right economic path via education and investment.

You guys should have said you were talking about casino gambling.
                    Halfwit! Yuh figet what was found in one of the drawers after the PNP left office?

Atlantic City, Las Vegas ... how much of their revenues come from casinos? How much employment is being provided by these casinos? JAwge ... guh find some pictures and post.

so there is less of moral imperative? suh you are just a big a hypocrite ..... always thought so but thanks for proof beyond a reasonable doubt.

half? that much?!!

Jawge - nuff Church groups make pilgrimages to Atlantic City, Foxwood, Mohegan Sun and the Las Vegas stips!

What was the initial question? Moral imperative
                            or my thoughts on Vegas? Thanks.

You seem to be missing my point. I repeatedly
                              said I'm not arguing from a religious standpoint.