• Lazie look what I found

JLP promises to make Portmore 15th parish, renegotiate toll
    BALFORD HENRY, Observer writer
    Tuesday, July 31, 2007

PRIME Minister Portia Simpson Miller may have missed out on levelling with Portmore residents on matters like the toll road issue last week. But Opposition Leader Bruce Golding made sure to offer a bag of goodies on Friday night.
    Speaking to thousands of supporters at the Naggo Head bus park, Golding not only promised to renegotiate the contract under which TransJamaican Highway Limited operates the controversial toll road, but also to make Portmore Jamaica's fifteenth parish.
    The Opposition Leader noted that St Catherine was Jamaica's largest parish even before the development of Portmore, as a dormitory area for the Corporate Area. He said that the addition of Portmore had now made the parish's infrastructure virtually "overburdened".
    "When you have the largest parish, then you put into the largest parish, the largest city, you end up with almost an overburdened parish," he said.

"I think that Portmore has more than come of age, where Portmore can manage its own affairs and, therefore I am announcing that it is going to be in our manifesto that, once we become the government, we are going to amend the Counties and Parishes Act to declare Portmore as the 15th parish of Jamaica and to separate it from the rest of St Catherine," Golding said.
    On the toll road issue, he told the rally that even if the residents lose the appeal to the Privy Council in London on October 16, his government would still pursue a renegotiation of the contract.
    He noted that the basis of the residents' case is that original homeowners and their successors paid for the Causeway bridge as part of the cost of their homes, and therefore are part-owners of the bridge.
    He said in that context the government had no right to close the bridge without the approval of the homeowners.
    "If the Privy Council is to rule in our favour, what a something that will be? Some people would have some serious problems," Golding warned. But, he added that even if the appeal decision went against the residents, there were other options.
    One option, he said the JLP was committed to pursuing, was to have the contract renegotiated.
    Among the issues, he said, that the party would seek to renegotiate were:
    . to have the toll rates reviewed once, instead of twice, per year;
    . to amend the clause restricting expansion of the Mandela Highway alternative route, so as to expand it by two additional lanes;
    . and to reopen the railway with a line into Portmore, which is not possible under the current contract.
    Golding admitted, however, that in renegotiating the agreement the JLP may have to seek conditions which will give it the leverage to get an agreement, including lengthening the time period of the contract.
    He also admitted that his views were based on general knowledge of the contract as a copy has never been made public or opened up to the Opposition.
    Friday's meeting was in support of South St Catherine candidate Dr Errol Williamson. Other speakers included Karl Samuda, Olivia Grange, Everald Warmington, James Robertson, Derrick Smith, Delroy Chuck and Devon McDaniel. Chairman was Kingston's Mayor, Desmond McKenzie.

Now we understand why yuh unaware of whats happening. Yuh behind time bredren.

Please bring me up to speed. Thanks.

lazie...if yuh have the time, is one thing but if yuh have the inclination...more power to yuh sah!!

When lass yuh do some snorkling?

when last yuh read sup'm whey yuh understand?