• 'We're not gamblers, we play only to relax'

(Jawge need to read this)

'We're not gamblers, we play only to relax'
    Gaming lounge patrons spend thousands each nightBY INGRID BROWN Sunday Observer staff reporter browni@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, March 02, 2008

As they drop thousands of dollars worth of tokens into the slots at three of Kingston's major gaming lounges, the men and women of varying ages, educational status and socio-economic backgrounds claim it is all done for relaxation.

Don't even mention the word gambling, as many of those observed sticking in token after token into the slot machines were adamant that they are not gamblers.

"I am just doing it to relax," was the common response of all the patrons who spoke with the Sunday Observer at three main gaming lounges in Kingston a few weeks ago on condition that their identities not be disclosed.

Two former government ministers, a local actress and a prominent businesswoman were among those who continuously heaped loads of tokens into the slots or sat in deep concentration around the automated dealer's table.

While some players admitted to having lost up to $50,000 in one night, and others say they cannot tell their families where they go each night, they are adamant that they are not addicted.

Similar to its spread from Las Vegas across the United States, casino-type gambling lounges have sprung up around the island, as Jamaicans and tourists are caught up in the high of playing slot machines, betting at blackjack or just one of the numerous machines to be found at gaming lounges.

Even the smallest of bets makes the heart race, as the Sunday Observer witnessed among patrons at Acropolis Gaming Suites in Barbican, Monte Carlo at Terra Nova Hotel and the Treasure Hunt in New Kingston last week.

If the vehicles in the parking lots were anything to judge by, some of the patrons at these establishments were not pinching pennies.
    The huge flashing screen at the entrance to the Acropolis is enough to entice even the worst tightwad as images of laughing patrons scooping up their winnings make it seem like pure fun.

On the inside, however, there's a different picture as many players sit for hours in deep concentration hitting the buttons of chance.
    A woman in a dark blue business suit with matching shoes and handbag calmly reaches into the jar filled almost to the brim with tokens which she mechanically keeps feeding into the slots. Her gaze is fixed as she appears totally unaware of her surroundings.

One of the former government ministers, who is a regular at the gaming lounges, said he is not addicted to gambling but only goes as a way to relieve stress. He believes that casino gambling should be introduced in Jamaica and that unlike the Bahamas it must be opened to locals.
    "Jamaicans must be free to come to any casino," he said.

A 51-year-old management consultant who declined to give his name, but who appeared to be highly respected by his peers and the former minister, said "relaxation" was the sole motivation behind his nightly trips to the gaming lounge. He told the Sunday Observer that he visits Jamaica, from his home in Canada, two weeks out of the year and that he visits the gaming suites every night during his stay here. The man, who also disclosed that he studied at the Theological College of Jamaica, said he has seen his fellow college mate who is now a pastor also come to play. "He was here only last Saturday," he said, even as he blasted the church for being hypocritical in its anti-casino gambling position.

The female actress, who was seen playing a machine, was quick to point out that it was only being done for fun. "I don't come to spend off my children's money or my bills money or anything like that," she said.
    A 60-year-old entrepreneur said she goes gaming when she is bored. "The children are away, and so when my husband is busy playing dominoes I will come here to relax," she said. She, however, admits that she lear
    nt the painful lesson of knowing when to stop after having lost thousands of dollars. "I have a girlfriend who comes here every night, but I try not to because I know you can lose a fortune," she said.
    "I have seen a woman lose her rent money in this very club and start to cry," she said.

The businesswoman said she was first introduced to gambling while growing up around her grandmother and father who were both gamblers.
    However, casino-type gambling is not reserved for the upper echelon of society. A 53-year-old housewife who lives in a neighbouring inner-city community said she visits the lounge nearly every day. "Sometimes mi win but mi lose more than what mi win and mi will go away feeling a way and say mi not coming back, but after a while mi come back," she said.

She is unable to put a figure to how much money she has lost, stating instead that it would be enough to buy a car. She said she usually gets to the lounge around 8:00 pm and doesn't leave until 3:00 am.
    A 20-something year-old taxi driver who was seen playing a machine at Treasure Hunt in New Kingston also claimed he gambles "just to pass time".

He, however, admitted that he cannot tell his partner that he spends at least three days a week in the gaming lounge or that he has lost up to $20,000 in one night. However, he was adamant: "I am not addicted."

Since my a nuh gambler, and mi a nuh freedom fighter, and mi nuh know bout Jamaican legislation, what is a gaming lounge and how mi never hear huh church talk bout it and what it cause to society.

Why mi nuh see none a dem a demonstrate outside these lawns?
    A because a pure Jamaicans go deh?