Chips start to fall but will the other shoe drop?

A bigger question is following the Money Trial on the Nigerian Oil...

Light Bulb a joke business....

We will gladly leverage all the international investigative skills we can get.

Mek some big fish get bummy....

Mi a tek notes pon yuh stance...

"Dat day will come...."

Don1: The facts as presented and reported in our news media are -
      a) The Jamaica Government officials (PNPites) of that time presented a case that makes it an illegal Dutch action...but legal in JA.

A gift!

b) The Trafigura officials of that time presented a case that makes it legal in thier country...but illegal in JA.

Business arrangement!

It is in the interest of both sides (PNP and Trafigura officials) to keep the Dutch investigators at bay. The JLP has to make a decision on what cost to the country and possible more importantly to the JLP...in terms of how it is perceived as party/entity to do business.

Let us call a spade a spade - The JLP is in payback mode for the sending of JAG Smith to jail. It is simple - how far does the JLP wish to go in the blood letting?!

...and when a PNP government returns to power, as it surely shall! - (Just as the JLP shall follow on after another PNP government...and so on...) - will the blood letting become something that JA will live with from here on out? ...and will that then...having each party continuous on toes...knowing there shall be hell to pay after being ousted from power...in the final analysis be good for the country?

Corrupt risk takers...grabbers of wealth from the public purse have always been with us...always around...here we are discussing mankind...there is and always will be 'the smoke'...and there shall always be ways to make the risk takers pay!

Yup! JLPites shall play with the 'public purse'...and the opportunity will be there for the PNP...when next it becomes the ruling party...to effect 'jailing'!
      You are advocating that criminals get away with their misdeeds. In whose world is that fair and just. How can one hope to break the cycle without firm action?

Don1 and Karl - I cannot support those statements at all and while I hold no court for lawyers in general or even Jamaican lawyers specifically to make a broad-brush statement like that about a whole "fraternity" is sad. Lawyers do get a bad name and while there are obviously some rotten to the core, the majority do their work within the confines of the law and the justice system.
        The legal fraternity is no more corrupt, lying and cheating than say doctors, accountants etc. etc. Question is what fraternity do the lawyers work for?

what ARE you talking about?!!

suh bribery of government official is legal in jamaica? massa....tek time talk. on second thought...you probably know more than me...so i concede..

You are advocating that criminals get away with their misdeeds. In whose world is that fair and just. How can one hope to break the cycle without firm action?
            Yikes!

If I understand you correctly you are saying - The fact of my saying that there shall always be 'tiefin' means I am saying 'di 'tief' must get away with engaging in that action.

Nothing could be further from what I am saying and or asking about. I am commenting on the situation as is...and asking questions of what is likely to occur in the future...and asking if that 'pay back type recurring action' would mean the people and the country get better representation from those who would offer themselves as our political representatives!

...what do we think - good for the people and the country? ...and what do you think the JLP's position is on whether or not they would welcome going down that path?

What do you think?

--------

Aside: Clearly all of us are inclined to believe that the politician, politician's relative(s), politician's associate, politician's acquaintance should not receive contract(s) and or purchase order(s) to engage in business with 'the government' that results in gain - financial or otherwise - losses would be appropriate? ..and or service for gratis would be A-OK?

Is that realistic? ...particularly in JA?

Look friend from school or other associate or other acquaintance or relative...who is a major government supplier ...perhaps, whose business survives on supplying a government department or quasi-government department or 'di government'...you are out of business as it would be inappropriate or seemingly inappropriate to have you receive favours from the government of which ... a part!
            Sorry!

...as to becoming a supplier or recepient of a contract to do business with the government...or any government department...forgetabout it! ...????
            Last edited by Karl; February 29, 2008, 12:12 PM.

You are so far gone it is scary.

Just like yuh Cult called the PNP.. so long in the cesspool dem nevah realize seh dem was stinking to high heaven.. well dem ah guh find out di hard way..

Check yuhself..

what ARE you talking about?!!

suh bribery of government official is legal in jamaica? massa....tek time talk. on second thought...you probably know more than me...so i concede..

Concession is good for the soul.

I never said what you allege. You appear to be aware of bribery of government officials. I am not so aware.

I merely stated facts - there has to be proof of illegality under Jamaican laws for Jmaican authorities to act.

You seem to believe that if the Dutch find evidence suggesting illegality under their laws then automatically there is a consequent situation of illegality under Jamaican law - I disagree.

Nothing to get excited about however.... I could be wrong.... but I doubt it.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                  Don1 and Karl - I cannot support those statements at all and while I hold no court for lawyers in general or even Jamaican lawyers specifically to make a broad-brush statement like that about a whole "fraternity" is sad. Lawyers do get a bad name and while there are obviously some rotten to the core, the majority do their work within the confines of the law and the justice system.
                  The legal fraternity is no more corrupt, lying and cheating than say doctors, accountants etc. etc. Question is what fraternity do the lawyers work for?
                  I agree that the statement is a generalization - it was not meant to be 100% serious. Do not feel too sad.

Lawyers are required in representing clients to present positions which may be untruthful even if their belief or knowledge indicates that a contrary position is true or even just.... just.

This may be why many have a healthy skepticism or disdain for them.

Um.. what are the Dutch Investigating ? Prostitution ?

Your gymnastics routine is amusing.

At very least the PNP must have known what the Dutch company was doing was illegal and was aiding it or why else would they have it put into a private account and not the PNP's.

Trafigura have to say it was a business deal to save themselves. What deal can Colin Campbell or the PNP claim to have with Trafigura that is not above board?

Colin Campbell should at least be charged with corruption.

the same one who hold "disdain" for lawyers when trubble tek dem pickney shut fit dem though?!

You seem to believe that if the Dutch find evidence suggesting illegality under their laws then automatically there is a consequent situation of illegality under Jamaican law

i dunno how you came to that conclusion if you read and understand what i wrote.....

funny as a man who above cuss lawyers yuh seem happy to play at being one.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                            I responded within the context of 'lawyer jokes'.

Agreed!

You seem to believe that if the Dutch find evidence suggesting illegality under their laws then automatically there is a consequent situation of illegality under Jamaican law

i dunno how you came to that conclusion if you read and understand what i wrote.....

funny as a man who above cuss lawyers yuh seem happy to play at being one.
                              Your comments are usually cryptic. So perhaps I did misunderstand what you meant... that's a possibility.

However I believe that regardless of what you meant, my comment above is true. You have presented nothing to change or even seriously challenge that belief.

As to playing at being a lawyer, I wouldn't lower myself quite that far. I'll content myself with having an opinion and expressing it as I choose.

Absolutely!

the same one who hold "disdain" for lawyers when trubble tek dem pickney shut fit dem though?!
                                In such times one needs the best liar, cheat and charlatan one can afford.