Horace Chang blocks park development
Let me give it to you staright: He
wants to develop "dump up" into a park because he already promised the old hospital site for a 200 room hotel. He will block development for
the old hospital site and at the same time offering "dump up" in the interest of the people. Right now locals and tourist intermingle on the old hospital site. I can't see a huge hotel being built on that narrow stretch which is already congested but the power of money will do anything.
You cliam to be a critical thinker; tell
me which would add more congestion. A park for pedestrians or a two hundred room hotel? Where would the sewage disposal be located for this huge hotel?
We are back to members only Dcave days. I can't see why local Jakans can't access a park on the old hospital site.
You should ask Chang; what is he preserving the old hospital site for? Is it that he feels the locals aren't good enough to mingle with the tourists? I'm searching for answers here.
Originally posted by Jawge View PostYou cliam to be a critical thinker; tell
me which would add more congestion. A park for pedestrians or a two hundred room hotel? Where would the sewage disposal be located for this huge hotel?
We are back to members only Dcave days. I can't see why local Jakans can't access a park on the old hospital site.
You should ask Chang; what is he preserving the old hospital site for? Is it that he feels the locals aren't good enough to mingle with the tourists? I'm searching for answers here.
Chang nuh just come ? Who was in control for the last 18 years ???
Is how yuh have suh much mout these days ??? Why yuh nuh check wid di previous administration and find out what dem was tinking..
Yuh in quicksand and nuh even know it.
Lazie jwage is trying to show you the relationship between the proposed site and dump up beach. I dont know why chang thinks dump up is more central. But at the same time didn't chang get a whole heap of money to do something by flankers and all now nothing happening? It seems like he just like to be important. He need to start work and let them build the green space on glouster ave.
What yuh expect tuh see happening by Flankers ?
Jawge cyaan show nuhbaddy nutting.
Dump up is far more central than Old Hospital site.. how much more central yuh want to be dan across from Kentucy ?
Where would YOU build a park for Mobay ? Middle of Hip-Strip ????
Ah wheh di...
Montego Bay park fuss
There are two parks in Montego Bay, one at the Freeport - which is virtually unused - and the other in the centre of the city which is continually in use by many of the town's people. The one in use is the only open green space in town and has been so since the hospital was moved from there to its present position. There is apparently yet another plan afoot to sell the site for development. Why do the developers repeatedly try to remove from the people of Montego Bay their only open space? Why not sell the other park that is not used, up near the cruise-ship pier, and put the hotel there?
Let's get our values right. Sometimes, we do need to put people first and this piece of open land belongs to the people of the town. In fact, the Chamber of Commerce has in hand specific plans to beautify the site as a public park. - Geoffrey de Sola Pinto, desola@cwjamaica.com"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."