Bank employee fired. Who else needs to be 'fired' ?

• Bank employee fired. Who else needs to be 'fired' ?

The Trafigura Beheer saga took a new twist yesterday when a startling revelation surfaced about the donation from the Dutch-based firm to the People's National Patry (PNP).

Responding to a query from Hot 102 CVM News, the company's <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">United </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Kingdom</SPAN> office said, through both <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">fax</SPAN> and email, that as part of the development of its business in <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Jamaica</SPAN>, it has a "commercial agreement with CCOC Associates and payments were made under that agreement."

However, the nature of the agreement was not stated.

This is in stark contrast to consistent statements by chairman of the PNP, Robert Pickersgill, and the party's general secretary, Colin Campbell, who have stated categorically that the $31 million received from Trafigura was a donation to the party.

Trafigura Beheer said it conducts business in accordance with the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development Convention on combating bribery of foreign public officials.

It said it also "observes the OECD guidelines for multinational enterprises."

A high-level source in the PNP told The Gleaner yesterday that party officials contacted the Dutch-based company, which said it would clarify the statement today.

This sounds like Colin Campbell might be the next candidate for Prime Minister.... following in PJ footsteps. Let us see if Portia can approach a Manley... one ting bout Manley, he had some self-respect and a level of national interest.. there were limits. Looks like after him dead the vultures tek over.

Black Man Time.

Seriously, where do the PNP find these con-men ?

RE: Bank employee fired. Who else needs to be 'fired' ?

"Campbell, in response to the Trafigura statement, said it had contacted the oil trader and asked them to clarify the term "commercial agreement", said CVM.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The PNP general secretary maintained that the transaction was a contribution and that the CCOC would not do any business with Trafigura since it was only a fundraising account."<P class=StoryText align=justify><P class=StoryText align=justify>Clarify the term "commercial agreement' ?????<P class=StoryText align=justify>LOL !! WHoeee ! Murilitharan don't have nutting pon dem man deh. <P class=StoryText align=justify>Karl, Jawge... unnuh went to the same Klan Spinning Klass as Campbell.. he must have been a star student.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Mind him pull a muscle with this one doh.. <P class=StoryText align=justify><P class=StoryText align=justify>

the lady a the bank fi get a national award.

This is a big insight as to how the PNP party business run. If the company say is not a contribution then can Colin Campbell explain "party contribution"?

Jamaica need whistleblower law to product somebody like this woman.

Assasin (10/7/2006)the lady a the bank fi get a national award.

This is a big insight as to how the PNP party business run. If the company say is not a contribution then can Colin Campbell explain "party contribution"?

Jamaica need whistleblower law to product somebody like this woman.
        The need a law and need to ensure that there is a formal process of going about doing it. Confidentiality has to be respected and she should definitely pay for what she did. With that said the focus should be on the PNP and not this lady.

Me, I read the Money Laundering Act this morningand have to wonder if she is a scapegoat. When enormous sums are deposited it needs to be reported. Fine,it shouldn't be reported to the JLP she is OBVIOUSLY wrong there and shouldbe fired, but as the former PMsaid, "A corrupt police force cannot investigate itself!" Isn't the same true about a corrupt gov't?

If she had notified the Attoney General, nothing would come of it. If she had notified the BOJ, nothing would come ofit. Who else should she have or could have notified?

I refuse to believe that the people managing this contract is so stupid to only get12 centsout of $5+ per barrel. Somebody in the island mekking money off this deal. Some serious auditing is needed and smady need fi get lock up.

Lazie (10/7/2006)Me, I read the Money Laundering Act this morningand have to wonder if she is a scapegoat. When enormous sums are deposited it needs to be reported. Fine,it shouldn't be reported to the JLP she is OBVIOUSLY wrong there and shouldbe fired, but as the former PMsaid, "A corrupt police force cannot investigate itself!" Isn't the same true about a corrupt gov't?

If she had notified the Attoney General, nothing would come of it. If she had notified the BOJ, nothing would come ofit. Who else should she have or could have notified?

I refuse to believe that the people managing this contract is so stupid to only get12 centsout of $5+ per barrel. Somebody in the island mekking money off this deal. Some serious auditing is needed and smady need fi get lock up.
            If she makes a formal documented complaint, would the JLP have access to those records? If so then that would be the way to go. To me her being fired is a given. The focus should now be on the PNP and the difference btw their story and the company's story.

Sass careful on this one boss. Banking confidentiality is

very critical to the industry. Do yoiu know what would happen to the US economy if the public was aware of its banking confiential matters? Matter of fact no politician herecould not accept the info, not to mention publish it on national television. Serious questiions would be asked: Is that all was given to this politician? what else does he know? How is it that he is able to compromise the security structure of the bank? The feds would be called in and huge investigation would take place (in the meantime the stock market would take a nose dive). Boss this does not bode well for JA (who was gainig ground in getting foreign invetment) Who wants their finances to be made public? This is also a poor strategy for the JLP, because now they too will be under the microscope. The JLP seems to have a lot of money to burn (even before election is called) Where do they get this money from, collection from the masses in Ja?

We sure know how to wreck our economy, we are fast becoming experts. The world is now different, it's a global village; once the word goes out to entities that JA's banking system is a joke, we will find a firm place in the third world pile. Does Bruce have any info on the accounts in Cayman? Goes to show how far a field we are.

Jaime said to hail you up...saw him at a cocktail party last night.....

hehehe, it takes you to make a serious situation comical. Guh read up about the Whistleblower Act and stop form fool. I see the unethical behaviour of the gov'thas passed you by. The sad thing is others turning a blind eyeto the reality just like you.

Regarding the confidentiality issue ... the woman is already fired. Send home an enormous sum and see if dem nuhinvestigateyou. Blame the JLP for exposing the corrupt gov't. Yuh love mek referenceto what happens in America? How many politicians are imprisioned for ethical violations?

thanks, he called and i spoke with him this morning.

Lazie which politician here can go on National TV with banking records and signatures? You don't understand who sensitive banking is to an economy, also parallels with banking and trust. The integrity of Ja's banking system has been compromised (in the time of the global village, not the 70s) do you understand the effects with investors? You are speaking of money by Western Union, I am talking about JA in corporate eyes (who were obviously positioning themselves to be a tax haven for western interests). aaah bwoy.

Who talking bout Western Union? Get yuhself together son! The fact is Mullings have been asking for an audit of this contract from when and now dem guh duh some digging dem find something suspicious. Yuh nuh find it strange that instead of the Attorney General starting an immediate investigation him defend the culprits? What would Spitzer the A.G. or New York done? Thats how the real world operate.

If the JLP had only made the accusations what would you and others say? Where is the proof? Now unuh get it unuh a cry bout confidentiality? Jawge, dem a rob the country. Thats the issue! Address that.

No Jawge if a the US and Party moeny a go inna such account it would have to be upfront and registered with the necessary authorities.

Jawge this a big scheme it seems like from the PNP and it fall down pon them. Remember a same way Ronnie Twaithes had Post OFfice money inna him personal account?

Proper banking regulation is needed. I transfer 10, 000 dollars from one account to another and I get a letter from the bank that they have to send the information to the Feds. If you wire anything over 1000 dollars to Jamaica it is reported to the authority.

The country of Jamaica comes before any banking regulation and corruption can never build any country. I have a book for you to read and after you read that you tell me what you think, You will see the real economics and why countries such as Ja are left behind.

Sass my point was about the system of banking. Do you know that the Banks here make a lot of bad deals and fold? You don't see banks folding here in NY do you? no you see mergers. Nuff said. Anyway send the title of the book because I am the eternal Learner

Okay point taken. Care to explain where your party (JLP) got

so much money to run a campaign before an election is called? Let's say for some reason God gave you a visitation and you decided to register your own corp and start a business. Your business after a time is doing well, it acquire some assets (real estate, parterships in the construction business and entertainment business) You look at JA and their bonds seem attractive, you also want to run a joint venture with one of their local banks. You now see Bruce on TV with a foreign company's bankingrecords. As asuccessful CEO tell me what would you do? I hope this brings the point home.