Adidas follows Puma into Brand Jamaica

• Adidas follows Puma into Brand Jamaica

Adidas, manufacturers of sportswear worn by the late Bob Marley, are to become the latest brand following Puma to use 'Brand Jamaica' to promote their products, reported trade publication the Media Post yesterday.

The campaign is the first by Adidas promoting its Originals lifestyle range, which includes retro products similar to that worn by Marley, either casually or when playing football.

A series of documentary films will be released, including one titled 'Sounds of the City', which will include reggae-related footage filmed in Jamaica and music from other world cities.

Puma's association with Jamaica is well known via it's sponsorship of national athletics, and a product range that now stretches to fragrance.

Capitalising on the 'coolness' of local culture other foreign-based companies have used Jamaican and Rastafarian colours in their designs from market leading sportswear firm Nike to French fashion house Christian Dior.

Brand Jamaica helped revitalise Puma's fortunes, through the use of the national flag and colours in recent years, but the company has encountered difficulties over its use of Dancehall artiste0s following protests from gay rights activists.

Story taken from the Jamaica Observer 'Observations' blog. For further coverage, multimedia, weblinks and more visit: www.jamaicaobserver.com/blog

All Adidas have to do is put Veronica Campbell Brown pon the gears and I'll buy

yuh can tell all the arrepentidos that the name JAMAICA is a brand! a high numerical ranking in the FIFA should be less of a problem for us than haiti or grenada when it comes to negotiating sponsorship!

a better ranking is always preferable of course, but jamaica is no ordinary country....

creating or shaping perceptions is the primary objective of marketing... it is also a key tactic in negotiations to arrive at a desired result... it has been clear to me that the people who represent jamaica football are out of their league in negotiating for contracts... they have undervalued the brand jamaica... its sickening... jamaica football should not be running behind anybody for kit sponsorship... they all should be lining up to sign up jamaica football... no leveraging...

I refuse to support this talk about the JFF. Right now we have
          to tip our hats to the captain et al.
          We cannot even organize a group to make noise in the office; then we question kit negotiations? We then wonder why the execs view us with contempt. We as a club must earn our respect by demonstrating our ability to organize and administrate certain affairs.

If we put a well organized cheering team in the office come qualifiers; both players and admin staff must look at us with respect.

Our goal is to have drummers and a marching band rotating in cheers for the rboyz. reams of papers are cheap here; we will print made up cheers and hand them out to supporters until everyone is familiar with some of the songs.

Boss let's do our work, so that when we say how come you guys can't negotiate a kit deal? The JFF will have to say well could you guys give us some pointers? Right now wi naah really say nutten (not that we don't have the potential, but potential is not good enough. We have the resources too)

LET'S DO THIS.

See, no one rallies
            to this call. I know in time the soldiers will stand up and be counted.