• Out of many, one divided people

Out of many, one divided people
    HENLEY MORGAN
    Thursday, February 14, 2008

JAMAICA is at war with itself. This is neither a positive nor negative statement. It's a truthful one. So entrenched and protracted is the warfare, war stories like those we see on cable television are beginning to emanate. Readers who enjoy these real-life sagas will have a treat reading the blood-curdling accounts by Observer staff reporter Karyl Walker. The most recent one appeared in the February, 10, 2008 Sunday Observer under the caption "Bulbie's ruthless reign shielded by politicians".

The killing spree has been with us for over a generation. According to Walker, "Just after the December 1944 general elections, former Prime Minister and National Hero, Alexander Bustamante, set the stage for the dog-eat-dog style of Jamaican politics when he rewarded his party's supporters with jobs, political favours and other scarce benefits. Since then, the dog fight for political spoils has never ended."

The casualties from the internecine warfare are staggering and mounting daily. The official body count, which exceeds 15,000 between 1995 and the present date, is pretty impressive for wars of limited engagement (not involving whole armies) and limited feedstock (small number of people available to be killed). Those who believe this talk of us being at war is at best a dramatisation and at worst an exaggeration, need only look at the comparative figures for the number of murders committed in Jamaica and other countries. In 2005 when we reached 1,674 murders, the murder rate for Jamaica was 64.4 for each 100,000 persons in the population. The 2006 murder rate for the USA was 5.7 per 100,000 and Canada 1.85 per 100,000. The comparative figure for other Caribbean countries in 2005 was: Trinidad and Tobago 35.7 per 100,000, the Dominican Republic 26.7 per 100,000 and Haiti 11.5 per 100,000. By everybody's estimate, Jamaica has the second or third highest murder rate in the world.

For there to be a war there has to be opposing sides to a conflict. As Karyl Walker rightly surmised, the conflict is over the distribution of scarce benefits among desperate people on the one hand and the desire among power-hungry men and women for political supremacy on the other. The role of tribal politics in dividing citizens into warring factions is well known in Jamaica. The intricate methods used to perpetuate the divisiveness among a seemingly homogenous people are not as easily understood.

While I have been focusing on politically conspired garrisons as the means of institutionalising political tribalism, I was recently awakened to a more sinister method that is practised away from the glare of criticism. At the Second Annual Restorative Justice Conference last week, executive director of the Dispute Resolution Foundation (DRF), Donna Parchment, drew the audience's attention to the practice of constituency caretakers. She characterised the practice as the single most divisive in Jamaican society.

Ms Parchment pointed out that in other mature political democracies, at the end of a contest for a seat in parliament, the loser returns to being an ordinary citizen and the winner goes on to be the representative of all the people in the constituency. Not so in Jamaica. The caretaker, who has become entrenched in our politics, remains prominent, with a seat at the table to ensure his tribe gets a share of the scarce benefits and spoils. As a reward for his/her contribution toward the continuing hostility among adherents to the different political parties, he/she is rewarded with an opportunity to run for the party in the next general election. And so the band plays on.

A system that is so intricately wrapped in evil can only be redeemed through a thorough cleansing. At the highly successful and well-attended two-day conference on restorative justice, the consensus centred on the need for some form of truth and reconciliation. In Mr Bruce Golding, we have a prime minister with whom this sentiment will resonate. The Roadmap to a Safe and Secure Jamaica, a study he commissioned while in opposition, speaks to the need. "Restorative justice elicits from the perpetrator a confession and from the victim, hopefully, forgiveness.

Putting in place the legislative and other requirements for a Truth and Reconciliation Commission in Jamaica would start a process that would allow us to understand and overcome the present effects of the political tribalism of the post-independence period".

It's over to you, Mr Prime Minister.

Out of many, one divided people
    HENLEY MORGAN
    Thursday, February 14, 2008

The casualties from the internecine warfare are staggering and mounting daily. The official body count, which exceeds 15,000 between 1995 and the present date, is pretty impressive for wars of limited engagement (not involving whole armies) and limited feedstock (small number of people available to be killed). Those who believe this talk of us being at war is at best a dramatisation and at worst an exaggeration, need only look at the comparative figures for the number of murders committed in Jamaica and other countries. In 2005 when we reached 1,674 murders, the murder rate for Jamaica was 64.4 for each 100,000 persons in the population. The 2006 murder rate for the USA was 5.7 per 100,000 and Canada 1.85 per 100,000. The comparative figure for other Caribbean countries in 2005 was: Trinidad and Tobago 35.7 per 100,000, the Dominican Republic 26.7 per 100,000 and Haiti 11.5 per 100,000. By everybody's estimate, Jamaica has the second or third highest murder rate in the world.
    Incredible!

Not gonna happen. In order for things to really change; Ja
      needs a politician brave enough to change the laws and at the same time show the elite that it's in everyone interest to have a middle class. Who do you think created the middle class across Europe to N.America? Who crated the engine to drive the industrial revolution? (dig in history and you will see).

Joshua did not demonstrate or articulate to the elite that having a well educated middle was to their benefit.

Karl Ja is operating of the ancient slavery laws, other than Joshua, no
      one has the guts to tackle it. The instability of the island is reaching critical mass. The present Govt. is just picking up where they left off 18 years ago. There is no change and Ja is going over the edge of the cliff.

We should ask ourselves why is it; someone who is regarded as an ordinary working class citizen can come to the US and make it terms of wealth, political power, et al? Why?

Incredible!
        Why yuh shock? Suh yuh tink when people was saying we were the murder capital of the world it was a joke?

You are a clown; do some research
          in JA, truth may give you heart attack. As I said go get your red and white walking cane.

You are a clown; do some research
            in JA, truth may give you heart attack. As I said go get your red and white walking cane.
            Coming from you thats so amusing. If a poll should be done on this forum as to who is the clown around here ... you'd be the only contender. You comics love to talk bout duh research when unuh cannot support unuh own points.

Again .. some of us have been consistently pointing out that Jamaica was ranked # 3 when it came to murders ... anybody that needs to do any research its certainly not Lazie.

Go get your red and white cane.

"There is no change and Ja is going over the edge of the cliff"

Heh, heh.

Tell that to some Civil Servants....

Yuh speaking waaaay too soon.. but making a eediat out of yuhself is your forte.. carry on.

While I have been focusing on politically conspired garrisons as the means of institutionalising political tribalism, I was recently awakened to a more sinister method that is practised away from the glare of criticism. At the Second Annual Restorative Justice Conference last week, executive director of the Dispute Resolution Foundation (DRF), Donna Parchment, drew the audience's attention to the practice of constituency caretakers. She characterised the practice as the single most divisive in Jamaican society.

Ms Parchment pointed out that in other mature political democracies, at the end of a contest for a seat in parliament, the loser returns to being an ordinary citizen and the winner goes on to be the representative of all the people in the constituency. Not so in Jamaica. The caretaker, who has become entrenched in our politics, remains prominent, with a seat at the table to ensure his tribe gets a share of the scarce benefits and spoils. As a reward for his/her contribution toward the continuing hostility among adherents to the different political parties, he/she is rewarded with an opportunity to run for the party in the next general election. And so the band plays on.
                  I have often wondered why we give opposition persons so much time. If a foreign head of state comes to Jamaica, he/she has to meet with the opposition leader. If something is being done a constituency, somehow the opposition caretaker is advised or is somehow involved. At int'l football matches, the opposition leader has to shake hands (and kiss all who will).

It's this sort of thing, as Ms. Parchment is suggesting, that does little to break down the tribalism.

Wid all the love at the last game mi think we a 'one big happy fambily'

In what Capacity was Seaga shaking hands?

I have no idea why Seaga was shaking hands or Portia. One can come up with an endless array of capacities to justify dem nuffing up demself fi shake hand. Hell, I think the president of the RBSC should have been in the official shakehand party too!

Suh yuh bittah because of yuh
                        agenda? Okay mo

I have no idea why Seaga was shaking hands or Portia. One can come up with an endless array of capacities to justify dem nuffing up demself fi shake hand. Hell, I think the president of the RBSC should have been in the official shakehand party too!

Yuh dead now! Heeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee comes siccko!

Afta mi nuh fraid a him!