You have 100 days from appointment....
Last time me a Portland two years ago. Annotto Bay Police station was mess with police looking drive fi go solve crime. Last time mi check Hope Bay police station have no roof and many didn't have equipment to fight crime.
What false sense of security? The Jamaican police force will no time soon be able to police many rural areas and it going to take upstanding people in their communities to do what is neccessary and lawful to fight crime.
Them people who a bawl, how many a them go a station go report crime? By helping themselves they will help the police.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I do agree that the people need to report criminal activities they witnessed, not disputing that but the police need to get out there and be proactive in order to prevent crimes.
I recall coming from session 3-4 inna the morning and when we drive pass the St. Ann's Bay police station, lock up tighter than the bank down the road."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
ask them. Mi only a talk bout the results.
Fi some reason is seems more police inna these areas mean more crime and more people get dead.
Can you explain Maroon Town fi mi? and up inna the hills of Portland who man nuh see police fi all one year.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Postask them. Mi only a talk bout the results.
Fi some reason is seems more police inna these areas mean more crime and more people get dead.
Can you explain Maroon Town fi mi? and up inna the hills of Portland who man nuh see police fi all one year."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
well maybe we need fi stop build so much ghetto then. Maybe the bulldozer will work.
The thing that the rural people them do is look out fi them one another. Even some people inna some urban areas do that but majority a them see and blind, and hear and deaf. That is the reason why crime get outa control and them indirectly support these gun men one way or another.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
mosiah... i am not being argumentative nor trying to hijack the thread... however, for my info, what would you attribute to the drop in crime in ny... i've never really seen your take...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
It should be noted that when crime fell in NY, their was a corresponding crime drop in every large and medium-sized city in the USA. So, the argument that Giuliani was the one who made it happen is a bit spurious. Did Giuliani also make it happen in the other cities around the USA? Did all the mayors adopt Giuliani's policies. I think not.
If it is something else that Assasin is attributing to the crime drop, he has failed to say exactly what it is. But whatever it is, did all the citizens of these many towns and cities around the USA get the memo and they (we, because I lived there at the time) all followed the instructions resulting in the crime drop?
By the way, I just heard the other day that crime in the USA is at 1960s levels. Is that because of the actions of Giuliani, Bush or any set of policies created by some citizens association?
It is more believable if you suggest that the crime drop is a result of a better economy (thanks to Bill Clinton or whatever economic forces were at work during that time). Hell, even credit it to Ronald Reagan because maybe the USA is now benefitting from the lack of a Cold War. Perhaps it was Clinton's bill that put 100,000 more police on the streets throughout the USA. And if you want to get specific about NY, some argue that Giuliani reaped the benefits of Mayor Dinkins' policies.
The point is, there was nothing unique about NY's crime drop. The nation's crime drop could simply be cyclical, with no rhyme or reason that can be explained by any sociologist.
talking about giuliani dem seh...the more people got to know him....the less his popularity became...before he went to fl his rating was in the 60's after he went..it plummetted...
Sass what kind of ****************e are you talking?
What do you mean by citizens solving their own crimes? When it was the other party; it was the govt's duty, now it's up to citizens. Boss there is no need for politics here. Are you saying they should form their own militia and police themselves? It's the govt's duty to protect the rights of law abiding citizens. The people have a right to voice their dissatisfaction, if there is any.