• Dah breddah yah lick hot...

A legacy of shame, a beacon of hope
    Lance Robinson
    Saturday, February 09, 2008

There was once a time in Jamaica when we as citizens could stand proud in the grand traditions of our founding fathers in enjoying the multi-party democracy which was fashioned by them and which gave rise to the two great political parties, the Jamaica Labour Party and the People's National Party.
    Like the Conservative and Labour parties of the UK and the Democratic and Republican parties in the United States, Jamaica, in our own small way, created and nourished a vibrant two-party system which encapsulated our own rich democratic traditions of freedom, justice and fair play of which we can be justly proud.
    The defining moment perhaps in our political history came with the advent of Michael Manley on the political scene in the 1970s when, using his awesome powers of communication, he was able to carry his socialist credo to heights in Jamaica hitherto unknown. This decade marked a watershed in our history, of two defining realities - a past up to that time, devoid of any ideological cleavages and a future fraught with the vagaries of confrontation politics brought on by ensuing political friction.
    Not having been previously exposed in our local politics to the international fissures of such political ideology, this period, to our detriment, was used by our leaders to awaken in us all the hidden strictures of class warfare, racial intolerance and wealth disparity in the society. Our attempts since then, at unifying our society under any one set of national ideals or under one flag, have been met with abject failure. It is during this time that the polarisation in our society took hold and became most distinct.
    We look back and reflect in our moments of introspection, as to how and why we have arrived at this place where we are today. Any analysis, if we are to be honest, can only lead us to a comparison of the performance of our two political parties while in government.
    There can be no doubt that progress of any kind, in any society, must ultimately reflect a successful and vibrant economy in that particular country. A brief analysis of the five decades leading to the present in Jamaica brings out most strikingly, the differences in the economic performance of the country under each party during that time.
    The two periods of PNP governance in the 70s and 90s were marked by serious economic stagnation in the country. While our neighbours and indeed many countries of the world were showing growth from seven per cent to 10 per cent annually, under the PNP Jamaica could only display flat or declining growth.
    The JLP, on the other hand, having generated our highest economic growth in the history of Jamaica during the 60s, had to work assiduously during the 80s to reverse our negative economic fortunes after the debacle of the 70s.
    For the better part of the last two decades, the PNP, in true fashion, showed little or no inclination for self-analysis, while still displaying their propensity for profligate spending and their inability to produce wealth. As a result, they handed over an economy with a trillion-dollar debt burden and a totally abysmal growth of 29 per cent in 19 years, on demitting office.
    In governance, leadership is everything, and our current parlous state of affairs in this country must be laid squarely at the feet of the PNP. Our economic deterioration, our crime, our lack of social justice and our general lowering of standards of excellence were allowed to take place during the last 19 years under their watch. Their legacy to this nation on demitting office could only be construed as one of outright shame. Playing the blame game and remaining in denial just cannot cut it anymore.
    As Jamaicans we must make up our minds. We will either be detractors and continue to bellyache about non-existent problems without offering any solutions, or, for the first time in a very long time, join together in creating and achieving a new vision for Jamaica which will give us all a better life for ourselves and our children. There is only one Jamaica, and we are all a part of it. Let us give Jamaica our fullest priority and put aside partisan politics.
    We cannot go back, the only way is forward. For let us be brutally frank, to once more reinstate a PNP government in Jamaica at this time would represent a disaster of monumental proportion for the country.
    Despite the many prognostications to the contrary, the JLP has started off in government doing a sterling job. Their ministers have all hit the ground running and are deserving of much praise.
    They have managed to institute programmes in five months that the PNP could only talk about for the last 19 years. For the first time in a very long time, a beacon of hope is once again shining in the country and the whole psyche of the nation has been re-oriented towards a much brighter future. For Jamaica to catch up with the rest of the world in growth and development, the current government must be given full support by the people in not only completing their term in office, but achieving their vision for the future of a much brighter and more prosperous Jamaica.
    Lance Robinson is a freelance writer.
    lrobinson22@gmail.com

Pity ... jokers like Karl, Jawge and other unthinking comrades will simply bypass this ... but dem quick fi holla "broken promise" whenever the gov't makes an annoucement.

We need to move forward.

We have already established that there is an almost manaical support of straight up ALMHOUSE on the part of the PNP for almost 2 decades (put down the seventies to 'revolutionary' chaos).

The question to ask is WHY ?

We need to understand the disease before we can seek to cure it.

What drives a Komrade to his/her destructive tendencies ?

Both you and Willi can sit and comfort yourselves with
        the BS that is written above. His first down fall is to talk about economic
        growth in certain time periods. Since 1838 none have the majority of jakans (descendants of slaves; including you Lazie) has been unable to acquire any significant wealth via any of Ja's industry.

Let him talk, all I know is that Ja needs a civil rights bill. Our citizens are dumping their money in some ponzi scheme whilst their tax paying dollars
        are used to provide working capital in the tourist industry. Why can't these same people be allowed to by shares in these entities? Why aren't they public? We would be certain that the money comes to JA.

Both you and Willi can sit and comfort yourselves with
          the BS that is written above. His first down fall is to talk about economic
          growth in certain time periods. Since 1838 none have the majority of jakans (descendants of slaves; including you Lazie) has been unable to acquire any significant wealth via any of Ja's industry.

Let him talk, all I know is that Ja needs a civil rights bill. Our citizens are dumping their money in some ponzi scheme whilst their tax paying dollars
          are used to provide working capital in the tourist industry. Why can't these same people be allowed to by shares in these entities? Why aren't they public? We would be certain that the money comes to JA.
          The Meek's Report addressed comics like you!

Why can't these same people be allowed to by shares in these entities? Why aren't they public?

So we need more civil rights then? What has PJ been doing other than running up the debt fi the last 18 years? Nani P had one year and she couldn't change it?

Meeks was one of those that
              ill advised Joshua. I think the time has come for UWI to let go of those leftist ideals.Start to use their minds to prepare our youth to push the island in a progressive direction.

Meeks report is meaningless to me. It has one intent and that is to bring division and discontent. The biggest give away is that he blames the party's loss on one person; Nanny P.

Can't wait for that education bill in the US. Cho at times ah man nuh waan say tings but peeple push yuh.

Your paty said they needed a 100 days. Yes?

BTW do you think if the Govt. partnered with you, you could run one of those 100 room hotels?

Meeks was one of those that
                  ill advised Joshua. I think the time has come for UWI to let go of those leftist ideals.Start to use their minds to prepare our youth to push the island in a progressive direction.

Meeks report is meaningless to me. It has one intent and that is to bring division and discontent. The biggest give away is that he blames the party's loss on one person; Nanny P.

Can't wait for that education bill in the US. Cho at times ah man nuh waan say tings but peeple push yuh.
                  You remind me of the man that walk in on his wife and another man then turn to his friends and stated ... "that man is me!!" Gwaan hide from reality Jawge.

Your paty said they needed a 100 days. Yes?
                    Where you get that from? The same source that informed you of the price of gas back home?

find another catch phrase; this one
                      is now seedy.

okay my bad. A 100 years maybe?

What you need to do is get yuh facts straight and stop embarrass yuhself in public.

Okay a 100.......... when? (you fill
                            in the blank)

Okay a 100.......... when? (you fill
                              in the blank)
                              Guh get the facts and correct yuhself.