NHT set to record millions in losses

• NHT set to record millions in losses

There is more worrying news surrounding the financial affairs of the state run National Housing Trust, (NHT).

Managing Director of the NHT Earl Samuels, confirmed that the agency is to record a half a billion dollar deficit for the financial year 2007-2008.

This is after accounting for the various grants and subsidies.

Mr. Samuels revealed that the decision to subsidise some housing programmes including the Sugar Workers Housing and Inner City Housing Programmes, helped to contribute to the deficit.

This follows on the heels of the agency's nearly $2 billion operating deficit last year.

Mr. Samuels said, "We are looking at a loss of about $500 million dollar for 07/08 and this is due a reduction in our investment income because the pool of funds for investing has been reduced by about $7 billion, so we will be making lower returns both as a result of a reduction in the amount we have to invest and a reduction in the interest rate."

It emerged in 2005 that the Government's decision to withdraw $5 billion from the entity to fund the Education Transformation programme, left the agency in the red.

But Mr. Samuels said the agency remained viable.

He said the Board had approved a major programme to improve the agency's financial position.

"We cannot continue to operate at that level so we are putting strategies in place and these will be communicated to the public in the next couple of weeks. We will still continue to provide mortgages to our contributors at what we hope is the same level of subsidy, on the interest rates. But the capital write off, we are going to have to revisit that," he said.

In the meantime, Mr. Samuels said the agency is moving to clear the huge backlog of contributions refund applications, which had multiplied since the start of the year.

He said this demand resulted in delays in processing contribution refunds cheques, but that measures will be implemented to speed up the process.

"We were looking at receiving about 30,000 applications for the month of January, but to the 29th we received over 50,000 applications. We had promised a three day turn around but this became impossible, until we are able to adjust our back office to deal with this above expected applications. We have assigned additional staff to the area, and we are also working longer hours to normalise the situation," he explained

Two twos we hear Portia and Court JEster Omar blaming the current gov't.

PNP all bankrupt NHT !?

Impressive.

What of the supporters of this abomination ?

I would be ashamed to be associated.

Well .. the PM indicated that the interest rates at NHT may have to be increased. He stated that the former PMs PJ and Portia continued to decrease the interest rates for political expediency ... and now the NHT is in a bind.

Bobby "Wrong Jungle" Pickersgill says he finds it disturbing that the gov't is planning to increase the interest rates and that the alarms bells will be ringing on this one.

Was Bruce's free tuition(and proposal on Healthcare) done for political expediency?

Blessed

Was Bruce's free tuition(and proposal on Healthcare) done for political expediency?

Blessed
            Is that actually a serious question?

I have always argued that corporations/organizations etc are not voters,ergo people are more important. Who stands to benefit from the interest rates being lowered? Wha?.. growth..?, the NHT has enjoyed a constant, enviable growth. Was it really political expediency?
              Lazie, in my opinion, NHT has changed, mind you, it happened under the PNP rule.
              Now,I am not disputing the Govt owing the NHT.., but gosh, can you imagine if poor people are charged the same interest rates as Govt?
              Good time to collect the debt.

Blessed
              Last edited by Rockman; February 6, 2008, 11:57 PM.

You apparantly do not have a clear grasp of the issues.

The issue is not lowering rates. The best benefit of the NHT is it's viability and availability of funds.

The issue is the same that surrounded Omar actions prior to 2002 elections.. 'Aftah wi get in wi can karreck it'