Accused cop seeks permission to visit ailing mom in USA

• Accused cop seeks permission to visit ailing mom in USA

(unuh really think him will return to Jam. for the trial)

Accused cop seeks permission to visit ailing mom in USA

PAUL A REID, Observer West Writer

Thursday, January 31, 2008

MONTEGO BAY, St James

A Montego Bay-based police sergeant facing charges of breaches of the Anti-corruption Act will know today if he'll be allowed to visit his ailing mother in the United States.

Detective sergeant Vincent Saddler's lawyer, Morrell Beckford, applied for an amendment to his bail condition to have his travel documents returned so he could make the visit.

The attorney told the court his client's mother was gravely ill and could not make the trip to see her son as she would normally. Senior Resident Magistrate Winsome Henry will decide what to do today after seeing the medical certificate.

Saddler is charged in connection with a July 2006 incident where he is alleged to have solicited $200,000 from the complainant in exchange for his not charging him for illegal gaming.

It is alleged that the senior officer and four other policemen - all in civilian clothing - went to the home of the complainant in Catherine Mount, Montego Bay, where he resides with his wife.

According to the allegations, one of the officers approached the complainant with a paper stating that he had a warrant to search the house. It is said that the officers subsequently went to the couple's bedroom and four preceded to search the area without giving any reasons.

Further allegations are that Saddler took the wife to another room and asked for "the big money", as he had heard that they were involved in illegal gambling. The woman however said she had no money and they proceeded back to her bedroom where he again asked her about money.
    She was later shown lottery tickets and $9000 that were allegedly found in a drawer in the room. The policemen also took the keys for a Toyota Levin motorcar that they believed to have been stolen.

The court also heard that the complainant was taken to the station where he was given back the $9000 after being interviewed by other police personnel.

Saddler allegedly told the complainant that he would charge him with fraudulent use of a licence plate. It is alleged that on the way to the cellblock, the accused cop told the complainant that if he wanted to avoid charges in relation to the lottery tickets, he would have to pay him $500,000, and this request was allegedly made on other occasions after that.

The complainant allegedly told Mr. Saddler that he could only pay $200,000 and they agreed on that figure. Subsequently on August 2 that year, the complainant's wife and her cousin, met with the sergeant to make arrangements for payment. Saddler allegedly told her that the money would only clear up the matter with the lottery tickets and said he would deal with the other charges later.

She subsequently made the payment later that day at Sgt Saddler's office at the Montego Bay Criminal Investigation Branch (CIB). An investigation was carried out two days after the incident, after a formal complaint was received.

So wait them a charge people with illegal gaming? mi think that nuh happen a Ja muchless Mobay and corrupted cops at that?

Mi think a only licensed Casino bring them problem deh.

don't forget how the cop "prostituted" himself!

I say grant his request.

Blessed

only if him a go get full punishment by the law.

You could stick a fork in him, sadly enough,he would've been better off murdering someone.
            They should grant his request.

Blessed

Based on report him make a very wrong move. Too many criminals in Ja get bail as baddaz.

we have fi send the right message, I will allow you to go under these condition that you get the full punishment of the law.

Rocky based on the little I know about them police a Mobay mi nuh have a lot of smypathy.

baddaz on bail tuh? seh wha?!!

mi never sa so at all sah

Sass, this was your line
                      Based on report him make a very wrong move. Too many criminals in Ja get bail as baddaz

Now, as I understand it "baddaz" in your sentence does not refer to a person, namely our esteemed poster here.

But I am ongle a village lawyer, you are now being questioned by Gamma, a man called to the bar So bredin explain yuself.

sorry it should have said 'ASK" baddaz as he preach it all the time.

Bwoy figet that trip to Portland, Gamma might use it as evidence against me sometime inna di future.