• Primary schools falling below attendance targets

published: Wednesday | January 30, 2008

Earl Moxam, Senior Gleaner Writer

HOLNESS

Attendance in most of Jamaica's schools has fallen below the standards set by the Ministry of Education, with primary schools recording 82.2 per cent attendance in 2005/2006.

This is almost eight points below the 90 per cent established by the ministry to achieve the standard of competence expected of children at that stage of their development.

Truancy law

As a consequence, Education Minister Andrew Holness told Parliament yesterday that the Government intended to proceed with its plans to pass a new truancy law, as part of a compulsory education policy.

"In that compulsory policy, will be a policy on compulsory enrolment, between zero and 18 years old, compulsory attendance and compulsory completion," he said.

The minister, responding to questions previously tabled by Ronnie Thwaites, MP for Central Kingston, disclosed that in 2004/05 the attendance level in 693 primary schools was 81.6 per cent, just below the 81.7 per cent recorded in 2003/04.

The attendance levels in all-age and primary and junior high institutions are even lower, averaging 75 per cent and 76 per cent, respectively, in 2005/2006.

Less-than-satisfactory attendance levels were also recorded in basic, junior high and high schools.

Yup very importatnt because after primary
    school; one can go work in a casino or sell one's self.

Yup very importatnt because after primary
      school; one can go work in a casino or sell one's self.
      Stop acting halfwitted JAwge ... then again .. how did you describe yuhself again?

one can do that after college as well.

acting? i wonder how many persons (if any) with a college degree work in casinos?

How them a go sell themselves if them nuh have education?

You no realise that the educated prostitute get more money?

Are Casino workers trained? A see you only pass through, it must have been like worldwind.

too many years of waste considering the limited
              options (casinos, casinos and casinos). Just jump right in.

too many years of waste considering the limited
                options (casinos, casinos and casinos). Just jump right in.
                I think you're wrong .. that not where the years were wasted. Then again, knowing you, you won't see it.

Sass other than Prostitution and Gambling, can
                  you think of any other field that Ja could embark on in order to be productive? List training methods also fo these fields. Thanks.

AGAIN how does prostitution fugure? i fail to see how this connection was made.

is there currently prostitution in jamaica?

ask if there are casinos in ja? Why
                      puzzle yourself?

There are many areas Jawge, Many.

The first thing we need to do is find cheaper energy sources so that companies can be productive and competitive as high overhead killing too many. We need to look into Solar, and other form of energy. We need to make sure it is cheaper to manufacture so our shores are not full of good from US, China and Trinidad.

Farming Jawge. A tin a ackee in America is for $12.00 a tin, Oil is 90 a barrell, no do your maths and see why we need to produce more as t here is a market for it. We can double the earning for that.

If you in the mid west you see farmer making a killing of corn. Ask Bruce bout the corn fields out there. If we had our own corn the price of bread and food wouldn't be raising like it is today.

Yes we need to embrace other form of tourism. What stopping us from having the world biggest gospel fest like the Jazz festival? Casino or no Casino.

Jamaica right now will only get a small piece of the IT pie as we are too late. Yes we need to take advantage of what we can but there are many other oppurtunities to attract other business so why only focus on IT.

The other day you praise Paulwell and now you a say we can achieve a lot more, which is it Jawge?

You fail to give any credit but since the JLP took office they made free education, up the age of children in school if them can't pass exam and will give them trade. The minister said he will also deal with attendance problems. I think Manley would have feel good about it, don't you?

no, there are no casinos but there is prostitution. the argument has its genesis in the introduction of casinos, not the introduction of prostitution. so it is unclear why you have chosen to wed the 2.

btw i noticed this morning that the goct signed an agreement to export bananas to the EU, so you can add banana farming to casinos and prostitution

Okay I would like for you
                            to explain this statement: Jamaica right now will only get a small piece of the IT pie as we are too late. Yes we need to take advantage of what we can but there are many other oppurtunities to attract other business so why only focus on IT.

Why is this when the info age has just started? I see you promote farming and tourism. Quick question: Is gambling new and is JA making a late entrance?

Jawge a bury him head.

A wonder if him know some a dem chase mi inna Mobay pon the street that the theatre deh pon inna the dark. Them wanted a money and it was a slow night and mi take a shortcut a come from work and them think I was a customer.

Yes mi have fi run like thief and this was over 15 years ago.

If him want see prostitution just bo pon certain street or Go Go clubs, or Palour nuh wait pon Casino