Good article, on point for the most part except one: "...there is only one way in and one way out." That's not quite so!
That aside, Mosiah did a good job writing this article.
"The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better."Mi bredrinSass Jan. 29,2011
And I'll reiterate, that's NOT quite so! There are actually 4 vehicular entrances into Tivoli Gardens.
"The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better."Mi bredrinSass Jan. 29,2011
Hey, mind people believe yuh. I would like to think that Betty reads this forum and wrote the article all by herself, while borrowing some of my finest lines!
Yes, there are probably around 7 ways in and out of the community, but only one in my mind is "easy". Several are permanently blocked, while some would require you to almost come to a halt before proceeding, just by the bottle-neck nature of the road. For all intents and purposes, it does have the feel of a gated community.
From my memory, there are about 10 entrances though only 4 where motor vehicles could enter.
1) One entrance leads from Spanish Town Rd, right next to the old Queen's Cinema and running alongside the Milk Lane gully down into TG at a section called Top 10.
2) An entrance leads from Coronation Market/Ebenezer Clinic leading into TG at a section called Bump.
3) One other entrance leads from off Industrial Terrace (via a small park) and into TG.
4) The other main entrance leads from Industrial Terrace in frot of the Tivoli Gardens High School, and goes as far as Center (a central point of the community).
Now, unless one or some of those 4 main entrances have been closed off in recent years, then the article is not entirely correct.
In terms of other entrances (walk foot & Cycle) there are about 6 others.
Last edited by Farmah; January 30, 2008, 01:37 PM.
If that is true, then three of the main entrances have been closed off. The question is, could this be done (permanently) without the knowledge and approval of the KSAC?
Did you guys check the map link? It is not one way in, one way out.
The other thing to note is that the community is never used as a short cut to anywhere, and that's because of the nature of the roads. It's not the same for Jungle or most other places.
There are times you mek some posts that convinces me which half of the horse you are. Damn!