Bunting bashing...

• Bunting bashing...

What future for the PNP under Peter Bunting?

Wednesday, January 30, 2008

It is almost political culture in Jamaica for media houses, and especially newspapers, to be accused of partisan bias when political parties are in the throes of election campaigns.
    The Gleaner - "Next time! Next time!" - had its day in the 1970s at a time when Jamaica was experiencing a bitter ideological struggle pitting the Democratic Socialist People's National Party (PNP) against the Conservative Jamaica Labour Party (JLP).
    In the 2002 general elections, a JLP crowd marched on the Observer, protesting against the paper and a columnist whom they believe was campaigning against their leader and their party.
    In the 2007 elections, the PNP turned on the Observer and claimed that the newspaper was biased against the party and its leader. Some supporters even ascribed to the Observer the power to have influenced their loss at the polls.
    Over the years, the media have come to regard these accusations as par for the course. Elections often bring out the worst in our politicians, some of them showing a willingness to sacrifice everyone and everything on the altar of expedience.
    But, usually, once the elections are over, they regain sanity and seek to restore broken relationships, including with the media. Except now there is Mr Peter Bunting.
    Elected Sunday as the PNP general-secretary, Mr Bunting was on radio Monday morning declaring that everyone knows the bias of the Observer against the PNP. This was his reaction to a news story quoting the Brian Meeks Committee which found that many PNP supporters blamed their leader for the party's loss at the last general elections.
    There was a time when we had high hopes for Mr Bunting, believing that he could bring the freshness of new thinking to the political arena. That was not to be.
    First, he proved that he did not have the stamina to stay the course and soon dropped out. Then he returned in the 2007 campaign and took over the Central Manchester constituency.
    For a time our hopes were again kindled, until he declared how much he could lock down Mandeville, when he was faced with competition from a woman contestant in Ms Sally Porteous.
    But we should have known better. Because he failed his first test as Opposition spokesman on industry by lashing the Government's decision to take control of the scrap metal trade, not caring that illegal exporters were endangering the country by removing for sale, vital metal parts of bridges, transmitter cables, phone and light facilities.
    Readers will understand that after his comment on radio Monday we have again lost hope in him. We had expected a new beginning. The PNP has much work to do to ready itself again to be government, if and when the electorate calls.
    It is a time for mending fences, building back bridges, healing wounds and laying the foundation for victory. And who more than the general-secretary of a party is responsible to lead this process?
    Instead, Mr Bunting remains as rabid as ever. Forgetting that the elections are over, he still courts the ghosts of 2007. Dr D K Duncan might still rue the day he withdrew from contesting the post of general-secretary.
    We shudder to think what future the PNP now has under Peter Bunting.

Observer can stay deh. I have nothing but high hopes for the PNP with someone like Bunting in a leadership role.

ummmm ... lets see ... same high hope as when Portia became PM?

Well compared to Danny Buck...

BTW, I saw the "plastic" cold embrace between Bunting and Portia. Contrasted so much with her warm embrace with Danny Buk seconds later. Portia really enjoys a hug up and kiss, so the fact that she was just going thru the motions with Peter B said it all to me!

I read up that play.

Well compared to Danny Buck...

BTW, I saw the "plastic" cold embrace between Bunting and Portia. Contrasted so much with her warm embrace with Danny Buk seconds later. Portia really enjoys a hug up and kiss, so the fact that she was just going thru the motions with Peter B said it all to me!

I read up that play.
          Didn't you hear that Portia wanted DK to get the position? The talk is with Peter B in this position he may work things that pretty soon Peter P may get the reins. There is a saying that a good chess player is 5 moves ahead .. Portia not that bright ... but she may well see that she is being cornered.

yuh nuh si whey the half man half horse posted yesterday...the chess maestro says he only sees one move, but it is the correct move. bulls hit if you ask me, the one move is predicated upon several moves down the line!

not because it is writeen or said by whomever means that mi a guh just accept it will nilly!

I thought the JLP gazette oops sorry observer
              said Nanny P asked DK to move aside. Ah well.

I thought the JLP gazette oops sorry observer
                said Nanny P asked DK to move aside. Ah well.
                DK in an interview stated that the Meeks report recommended that the Gen. Sec not be an MP so he would withdraw.

Are you an expert in chess Gamma?

nope. are you?

No, I'm not but who is the
                      one that's saying what the article said of grand masters is BS?

Scientific american had serious data and experts in the field to back their claim. If you don't mind could you present your data with experts backing your arguments? Thanks.

because the article is less about chess than it is about cognitive and linear reasoning..., which is not limited to chess .. and .. well to put it quite bluntly, i don not beleive it because in MY opinion it does not lead to the conclusion he has drawn, i.e. he only sees one move but it's always the right move.

i don't willy nilly follow what experts may or may not say, it has to make sense to me. unlike you i don't try to pass off other people's learning as my own, ihave to understand what is being said and it has to make sense to me.

if he was trying to teach me chess i would take his advice r if not go to someone else. not all great players make good coaches.

Gamma some people are of the opinion
                          that the earth is flat, the only problem is that they don't have the
                          necessary data to prove their opinion.

Gamma did you see my name on the scientific american Article? If so please point it out to me. Thanks.

Gamma the article is not about Grandmasters being good teachers. I suggest you read it over. Wind serfing today by any chance?

1. they probbaly don't the necessary data to disprove it either;
                            2. no i did not see your name there. have you adopted the premises and conclusions of the article?
                            3. did i SAY it was about grandmasters being good teachers? i suggest you read my post again and this time consider the context and the use of analogy.

no no plans to go wind SURFING today.

Bible: "it's hard for thee to kick thy feet against
                              the pricks" Boss if you have no data nor evidence why rail against those that have it?

Have you ever read an article and found yorself agreeing with it Gamma?

Why are you speaking about great players not being good teachers then? Is this one of your tactics to perplex a simple man as myself?