Gov't to honour casino licence agreement made by PNP

same way i feel ... so i won't be going to any casino, never been inside one even though i'vre stayed at hotels and been on cruises with them.

having said that, what brain power does it require to buy lotto? if that brain power is above yuh then all i can offer your parents and fiance is my sympathy

Mi nuh haff no assets so ah muss fi
      har yuh talk. and yes it's very tangible

Quote: "silver and gold have I none, but such that I have i give....

Yuh still nuh get di sermon..... ah
        well.

So yuh nuh spend money pon casion? Yet yuh waan Ja fi indulge? ah tell yuh bout unnuh labourites

thank god! i would scare myself if i did!

suppen else in deh
            fi yuh. hee hee LOL

but mi nuh get ih...mi just nuh get ih...

same way mi can walk pass it, any jack man can dweet.......anyway casino is a TOURIST attraction.

suh because mi nuh like boxing dat mean seh boxing match fi abolish? because mi nuh eat sushi dat mean seh mi woulda fight 'gainst a sushi restaurant?

i tell yuh about your illogical reasoning and fallacious argument! i think it is the handicap that yuh labouring under rather than you just being stubborn.

if the church can put money inna scheme... an if dem can support bingo pon dem holy premises den de casino is fine wid me... as long as de govt mek sure wi tekking money IN from de farinaz dem...

if dat iz de way wi gwine get back some a weh dem tek from wi ova de years, its all good...

You are back to my point; so we
                    will depend soley on tourism for our economy? Can't you see that the world is changing? How long will it be before Cuba opens up? Central america (Costa Rica especially) is going agressively after the tourist niche.

BTW found out that the IT support for the VOIP system came from CR. Unnuh stay deh tink dis werl ah go stay one way. Nuff man rich ah ready so when JA ready fi keep Somalia n Chad company, all dem haffi do is board di private jet wid dem family (memba mi say all dem haffi do is??)

Bad one it's the same jam as the all inclusive
                      we will reap NOTHING from the casinos. Until we decide to work VERY HARD AND USE OUR MINDS, WE WILL SUFFER.

blame it on the church... jamaica could have long been the sole owners of casinos and reap the real profits, but for the hypocritical church... if the indians can do it in america, why couldn't our own govt (people) do it on our own...

Boss mi say we will reap
                          the wind. Jakan saying: ah nuh everbody haff luck fi carry goat cross wata.

I thought Casinos were supposed to add another dimension to the tourist product ?

You have a problem with the concept of improving the Tourist product ?

Let me put out my position
                              on Gambling: I don't gamble period. I don't even buy the
                              lotto and I've never set foot in a casino (although friends have invited me
                              on numerous occasions).

I like nice things and for this reason I will spend my money to receive either a goods or service. What I won't do is to part with my money for a promise (I have to hold on to something). Maybe it's because I'm not skilled in mind as some, hence anything that I cannot get on exchange for my money (readily in my hand) I leave alone.

Casino gambling in Jaamaica will foster tendencies towards laziness on the island.
                              We will have nothing of significance to contribute to modern day society. At the peak of the info age, Ja will be cast aside.

Bible: "it is finished".
                              Let me state my position on gambling. I do no gamble, although occasionally I will purchase the lotto when the money gets real large I am by no means a gambler. I work less than five minutes from an major casino here in KC and maybe 10 minutes from another. I go to both for lunch in their resturants and sports bars from time to time but never into the section to gamble. I have even spent a weekend in the hotel of another here in KC too, but did not go into the gaming arena. Gambling just does not appeal to me.

Right now, I will say that I would support casino gaming in Jamaica if it were to be properly controlled. Casino Gaming would enhance our already budding tourism product as well as provide some well needed jobs in the country. Currently Jamaica gets a lot of visitors who are coming to take advantage of the good all-inclusive deals to the island. We can appeal to another class of tourist who are not necessarily hunting the all-inclusive deal, but have the money to pay higher and have enough that they would be willing to gamble.

If we as a tourist destination do not offer this option to our potential visitors, they will just look elsewhere.

Gambling addiction is a big thing for a lot of people who have access to casinos on a regular basis. People have been known to dig themselves into some deep financial holes, even to the extent of borrowing on their homes or not paying their mortgages so they can gamble. We have to realize that this is a part of the reality if you have casinos, so government will have to be proactive to make sure we do not find ourselves in a situation where this is a major problem.

I really do not see the majority of Jamaicans participating on a large scale in casino gambling if it were introduced into the island. When you look at the fact that it could increase tourist arrival, increase the amount of foreign exchange earned by tourism as well as create jobs, I say we should go for it. I do not see how casinos are going to make our people lazy as it is not going to change the fact that people will still have to work for theirs if they want to have a comfortable life. If Jamaica is to be considered a serious tourist destination, then we cannot continue to turn our backs on casinos.
                              Last edited by Tilla; January 24, 2008, 11:26 PM.
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Sinners deserve their own space, free speech is a natural right and man is at his best when he is free. I say Legalize Casino Gambling, prostitution, naked go go dancing and bath suit optional areas of beach.