In marketing, product differentiation (also known simply as "differentiation") is the process of distinguishing the differences of a product or offering from others, to make it more attractive to a particular target market. This involves differentiating it from competitors' products as well as one's own product offerings.
Differentiation is a source of competitive advantage. Although research in a niche market may result in changing your product in order to improve differentiation, the changes themselves are not differentiation. Marketing or product differentiation is the process of describing the differences between products or services, or the resulting list of differences. This is done in order to demonstrate the unique aspects of your product and create a sense of value. Marketing textbooks are firm on the point that any differentiation must be valued by buyers (e.g. [1]). The term unique selling proposition refers to advertising to communicate a product's differentiation [2].
In economics, successful product differentiation leads to monopolistic competition and is inconsistent with the conditions for perfect competition, which include the requirement that the products of competing firms should be perfect substitutes.
The brand differences are usually minor; they can be merely a difference in packaging or an advertising theme. The physical product need not change, but it could. Differentiation is due to buyers perceiving a difference, hence causes of differentiation may be functional aspects of the product or service, how it is distributed and marketed, or who buys it. The major sources of product differentiation are as follows.
Differences in quality which are usually accompanied by differences in price
Differences in functional features or design
Ignorance of buyers regarding the essential characteristics and qualities of goods they are purchasing
Sales promotion activities of sellers and, in particular, advertising
Differences in availability (e.g. timing and location).
The objective of differentiation is to develop a position that potential customers see as unique.
Differentiation primarily impacts performance through reducing directness of competition: As the product becomes more different, categorization becomes more difficult and hence draws fewer comparisons with its competition. A successful product differentiation strategy will move your product from competing based primarily on price to competing on non-price factors (such as product characteristics, distribution strategy, or promotional variables).
Most people would say that the implication of differentiation is the possibility of charging a price premium; however, this is a gross simplification. If customers value the firm's offer, they will be less sensitive to aspects of competing offers; price may not be one of these aspects. Differentiation makes customers in a given segment have a lower sensitivity to other features (non-price) of the product [3].
Me never ask yuh if post what yuh find about it. What did you understand from what you read about it?
"In September 2006, the government entered into an agreement with a group of foreign investors for the development of a major resort facility, which included an undertaking to secure for the project, a gaming licence to operate gaming machines, gaming tables and/or sportsbook as may be specified in the licence," Bartlett told the House of Representatives.
He said although the existing policy stipulates a maximum of 1,000 gaming machines for integrated tourism resorts, an undertaking was also given in 2006 to allow for an unlimited number of machines in facilities where a minimum of 1,000 rooms were established.
He said that Government recognised that its predecessor gave the undertaking and was not inclined to renege on that commitment.
"We recognise that the government gave an undertaking concernig gaming with this particular company and we are not in a position, nor are we inclined to renege on that commitment, in the generality of it. There are specific areas that require tweaking, which we are going to do. But, in the generality of it we are proceeding," he told the Observer.
Right! Yet some of them had a problem with the Virgin Airways agreement and would have loved to have reneged on that.
and this is coming from you; who could
not explain the product differentiation? I would like to how does the above definition ties in to all inclusives and the decline of Mobay's economy (reversing the name friendly city). Thanks.
and this is coming from you; who could
not explain the product differentiation? I would like to how does the above definition ties in to all inclusives and the decline of Mobay's economy (reversing the name friendly city). Thanks.
Ummm ... and where did Lazie indicate that AIs contributed to the decline of Montego Bay?
Damn ... AIs are simply another aspect of our tourism product and of course there are those tourists who will only spend their money to go to an all inclusive resort. If they don't have an AI to stay in Jamaica they will simply go to another tourist destination. Are All Inclusives the only resorts in Jamaica? Last I checked the answer is no. People like you that have a problem with AIs can stay at resorts that offer the other type (EP I think it was called).
Product Differentiation also address your stupidity regarding casinos. There are those that travel to destinations where they are able to gamble. Why shouldn't we target that market as well? You are aware there is sex tourism, religious tourism to name a few? If there are consumers for it ... why not?
How you come to the conclusion that All Inclusive resorts contribute to the decline in Mobay? You obviously have some strange source giving you bad information.
Lazie, let me first say thanks to you
for setting aside some your precious time, in order to
educate me on matters regarding tourism. I deeply appreciate it.
First let's look at this statement: Damn ... AIs are simply another aspect of our tourism product and of course there are those tourists who will only spend their money to go to an all inclusive resort. If they don't have an AI to stay in Jamaica they will simply go to another tourist destination.
Let's follow the "logic" above; AIs are another aspect of tourism.
This aspect of tourism seems to be asbsent from Western Europe and North America. I feel compelled to ask;why? Unless Europe and North america doesn't have much to gain economically from tourism (if this is the case let me know).
People like you that have a problem with AIs can stay at resorts that offer the other type (EP I think it was called).
Lazie the AI's are the economic package. BTW did you know that there is an increase in the number of tourists that comes to JA (since AI's). Please explain how does this huge amount of tourist manage to spend almost a week on our island yet NO MONEY goes into the locals hands. (will not even discuss firing employees because they take tips here ).
Do you know why the subprime market failed Lazie (SUBprime being the key operative here)
Even with gratuity, are they firing employees for taking tips in Europe and north America?
Product Differentiation also address your stupidity regarding casinos. There are those that travel to destinations where they are able to gamble. Why shouldn't we target that market as well? You are aware there is sex tourism, religious tourism to name a few? If there are consumers for it ... why not?
Okay we are entering a new market niche because strong evidence has shown; that we will offer a superior product to those competitors who are already entrenched in the market. Yes? Our high rate of crime will certainly help these millionaire jet setters in their decision to come to Ja and gamble. Also seeing that our police force is being portrayed as thieves and murderers must help when these rich gamblers think of security. Yes?
Lazie my advice is for you to leave the subject matter alone, as you are without the proper tools to give an account of yourself.
Theres a saying, one cannot convince an ignorant person with facts. Then again, as you stated in a post,
" I really don't know as these matters are very complex and I'm a simple man."
Now we know.