• Gov't to honour casino licence agreement made by PNP

BALFORD HENRY, Observer writer balfordh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Thursday, January 24, 2008

TOURISM Minister Edmund Bartlett says that the Government will pursue an agreement made last year by the previous administration to grant a casino gaming licence to a group of foreign investors.

"The first thing we have to do is to ensure that the arrangements continue in the best interest of the country... so that we may tweak an arrangement here and there, but basically a sovereign commitment is a sovereign commitment," Bartlett told the Observer Tuesday night.

He was clarifying points made in his response to questions from Opposition Member of Parliament Ronald Thwaites regarding casino gaming in Jamaica and its territorial waters, in the House of Representatives earlier.

Bartlett said that gaming machines have been licensed to operate in Jamaica since 1992, and that hundreds of these machines are legally operated in various locations across the island.

He said that a committee, chaired by Dennis Lalor, examined the potential for casino gaming in Jamaica in 2003, and recommended that it be introduced with appropriate enabling legislation.

"In September 2006, the government entered into an agreement with a group of foreign investors for the development of a major resort facility, which included an undertaking to secure for the project, a gaming licence to operate gaming machines, gaming tables and/or sportsbook as may be specified in the licence," Bartlett told the House of Representatives.

He said although the existing policy stipulates a maximum of 1,000 gaming machines for integrated tourism resorts, an undertaking was also given in 2006 to allow for an unlimited number of machines in facilities where a minimum of 1,000 rooms were established.

He said that Government recognised that its predecessor gave the undertaking and was not inclined to renege on that commitment.

"We recognise that the government gave an undertaking concernig gaming with this particular company and we are not in a position, nor are we inclined to renege on that commitment, in the generality of it. There are specific areas that require tweaking, which we are going to do. But, in the generality of it we are proceeding," he told the Observer.

Bartlett also disclosed that since taking office in September, his government had also received proposals and expressions of interest in major investments involving casino facilities, which are being carefully examined before being submitted to Cabinet for approval.

He said that the public would be made fully aware of the proposals before they are implemented.

Just duh the thing and stop drag unuh foot. The church can mek as much noise as dem want ... who cares?

Yuh see yuh? anyway this is the
      begining of the end. Wi too licky, licky an lazy, we refuse to use our minds. Wi haffi suffah.

Singapore fuss wi....

was it portia's government that gave the commitment?

Tek time nuh...

I thought you said it was the beginning of the end when the JLP won the election? Mek up yuh mind.

Everyting is Singapore an lee
                kwan yu? Boss why unnuh nuh go deh go live? Mi werking wid
                Marcus Mosiah Garvey

so unnuh lose now?

apparently the end has many beginnings! either or his defintion of "the beginning of the end" is unique to him. let's face it, he is a unique...uh..erm...ah...character...yes, that's the word.

so mi tink unuh say unnh did
                      smarter dan di PNP? All and sundry expected 180 degree turn from what di past govt. did (this was what was causing Ja to fail) now it's the same jam, why even bother to change govt.

that is your line now?

how about some more prophecies.....it's a slow morning...and i have to go windsurfing later!

would answer you
                          on the unique characteristic but I won't. Trust me it's a virtue

i can only imagine...when yuh can enter yourself into the caymanas sweepstakes derby and not need a jockey....that is a real virtue!

As I said it's for the females boss. not for
                              you. ahite