? about Jamaica, mormans, the church of latter day saints

• ? about Jamaica, mormans, the church of latter day saints

I notice on my more recent trips to JA I se these guys who are white always in a pair, wearing short sleeve shirts and a tie walking around, who are they ? aare they mormans or latter day ? is there a different ? is this the same church as Mitt Romney ? do J'cans know about the racist past of that church ? and how do J'cans react to them ?

What do they do exactly ?

Originally posted by Scaly View Post
    .. do J'cans know about the racist past of that church ? and how do J'cans react to them ?
    As you said, past .. ... shouldn't be a problem. The KKK was /is christian oriented ... right? How many Jamaicans today are christians?

Scaly what about the racist past of the Catholics and Church of England etc?

I never know we had Jamaicans who are mormons but I found out a friend of mine was. Still can't see why she say she saved.

Mormons are Latter Day Saints. They have not been there only recently. When I lived in Jamaica 20 years ago, they would be seen riding around and trying to talk with you about their religion whenever they could get the opportunity. I always avoided discussion however, just like I avoid the Jehovia's Witness.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

As you said, past .. ... shouldn't be a problem. The KKK was /is christian oriented ... right? How many Jamaicans today are christians?
          I am fully aware that the Christian religion has a past like that to but my question is specifically about those people.

I am more interested in how J'can respond to them.

The Jakan man may welcome the Mormons - arn't those the ones who can have more than ONE wife

everytime is see them around my blood boils....i don't know where you get this "past" thing. it's very foundation is racist!!!!!

some likkle 19-20 year old a come ell mi seh dem a "elder" and how come yuh nuh si nuh black "elders" out there spreading the gospel? they have been in jamaica for over 25 years...their tabernacle at the corner of constant spring road and dunrobin avenue is well known!

they act like they are "white missionaries here to save the savages from themselves".....same church as mitt romney!

mi nuh like dem!!!!!!

everytime is see them around my blood boils....i don't know where you get this "past" thing. it's very foundation is racist!!!!!

some likkle 19-20 year old a come ell mi seh dem a "elder" and how come yuh nuh si nuh black "elders" out there spreading the gospel? they have been in jamaica for over 25 years...their tabernacle at the corner of constant spring road and dunrobin avenue is well known!

they act like they are "white missionaries here to save the savages from themselves".....same church as mitt romney!

mi nuh like dem!!!!!!
                Passed thru Mandeville last Sunday. There was quite a good crowd leaving the Mormon church there. The one at Constant Spring/Dunrobin seems unused.

They still walk around in twos, probably more in the country than in Kingston. And they do have some black elders among them.

When I went to Salt Lake City 2 or so years ago, they filled the entire airport and planes as they were on their way around the world to spread their gospel. SLC is still very much filled with them and their doctrine, but luckily for people not so inclined Las Vegas ain't so far away!

mi nuh like dem!!!!!!

wow ! and how do you really feel about them.....ok I see I know the church u speak of didn't know that was them.

I remember seeing them when I lived there but recently it seems they have multiplied cause I buck dem up on every corner.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                    The Jakan man may welcome the Mormons - arn't those the ones who can have more than ONE wife
                    Thanks for looking out for us Tigers, some a dem on this board want to fool youMdmex that they are "one man Band" eeehh ehheh.

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
                      Thanks for looking out for us Tigers, some a dem on this board want to fool youMdmex that they are "one man Band" eeehh ehheh.
                      One man band?

mi nuh like dem!!!!!!
                        They have been clever in their strategy. They used basketball courts to lure young men to hang out at their buildings. They also got the Govt to agree to them computerizing our birth records for free, as they "need" this info to pray for their deceased Jakan mormoms, so they can get redemption and be saved from hell.

One small anecdote.

Was accosted once in a shopping centre in Span Town by 2 of them, one white, one hispanic. Told them I was Catholic, but they were in a pestering mood and wouldnt let it go. Finally I just blurted out their sudden acceptance of black people in 1978 when we were elevated to "human" in their eyes! Suddenly, they recalled they were in a sea of black people and the Mexican one lost colour intermede! The White one suddenly got sense and let the matter drop.

I call it the nuclear option. LoL

Mormons are Latter Day Saints. They have not been there only recently. When I lived in Jamaica 20 years ago, they would be seen riding around and trying to talk with you about their religion whenever they could get the opportunity. I always avoided discussion however, just like I avoid the Jehovia's Witness.
                          Dem deh bout in Jam since the 1970s.

Socialists back then used to call them CIA agents! LoL

Mormons are the colloquial name for members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.

A bredda name Joseph something or another (Smith?) formed the church in the 800s in the US. Confidence trixter!

They had a little school in the country parts somewhere where they claim they exhibited tough love. Apparently a few of the kids had to run away.

Mi..... Nuh...... Like...... Dem!!!!