• Only the literate will sit GSAT - Holness

published: Wednesday | January 23, 2008

Daraine Luton, Staff Reporter

EDUCATION Minister Andrew Holness has said that very soon no child will be able to sit the Grade Six Achievement Test (GSAT) unless certified literate and numerate.

Mr. Holness was contributing to a healthy debate on education in Parliament yesterday.

The Education Minister said that students who failed the Grade Four Literacy Test would be promoted to grade five, while teachers worked to help them advance their literacy. He said, however, that they would have to resit the grade four test even when they reached grade six.

"Every parent must know, don't worry about GSAT, shift the focus. Worry about your child being literate and numerate," Mr. Holness said.

Opposition Member of Parliament Ronald Thwaites had moved the Private Member's Motion for the House to amend the Education Act and related regulations to ensure that mastery was achieved in each grade before promotion, as a norm in the public-school system.

"In principle, member, I share your concern but in practice it is not possible to do that," Mr. Holness said.

The Education Minister said that improving early childhood education would see better students later down the road.

At present, 40 per cent of students who sit the Grade Four Literacy Test do not achieve mastery.

"At grade four, children will be asked to sit a national literacy test and a national numeracy test that will certify them as being literate and numerate," Mr. Holness said.

Mr. Holness said that if children who fail at grade four are not promoted, an additional 93 classrooms or 10 more schools would have to be built. Already, the Ministry of Education is trying to reduce student-teacher ratio from 45:1 to 35:1. The building of 22 schools would help in this regard, Mr. Holness said.

Meanwhile, Maxine Henry Wilson, the former education minister, now Opposition spokes-person, said that studies had shown that if students were not promoted, they could become demotivated, or be labelled as 'dunce'.

I think that money needs to be allocated to have after school programs to help those students that are having problems.

Throwing money at the problem?

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
        Throwing money at the problem?
        Thats how you see it? Well, I guess thats a fair interpretation. Its something I've seen my wife did with her 4th graders and there was an improvement in their test scores. I don't see the harm in taking the same approach.

There has to be a concerted effort, especially from parents and teachers. The yutes need fi tek personal responsibility as well, and we must raise expectations. We need fi retire the get rich quick bling attitude that has permeated our society for too long.

Not disagreeing with any of that ... but think bredren. If the parents never pass it then, how dem gonna teach it now? As a youth, my only interest was football, music and girls .... luckily I had parents to get on my case. Yuh ever see a Passa Passa video if parents a party all night, where dem gonna get time fi help dem children?

Not disagreeing with any of that. However, uneducated parents do not necessarily produce uneducated yutes. There really has to be a bonafide commitment from the parents to have their yutes succeed in the classroom.

Nutting nuh wrong with partying all nite, as long as the partying is done in moderation. BTW, as an adult my interests are football, music and girls!

Not disagreeing with any of that. However, uneducated parents do not necessarily produce uneducated yutes. There really has to be a bonafide commitment from the parents to have their yutes succeed in the classroom.

Nutting nuh wrong with partying all nite, as long as the partying is done in moderation. BTW, as an adult my interests are football, music and girls!
                Maybe you missed my point. I'm in no way implying that uneducated parents produce uneducated youths. My point was if the parents don't understand it how are they going to help the kids. A tutor program where college kids, teachers or if its possible, volunteers could work with the students after school ends.

"BTW, as an adult my interests are football, music and girls"

Welcome to the club.

A tutor program where college kids, teachers or if its possible, volunteers could work with the students after school ends.

"BTW, as an adult my interests are football, music and girls"

Welcome to the club.
                  agree with the tutor program... its desperately needed... volunteers, college credits or some form of tuition credit for the college students...

btw, wonda if yuh wife know bout ALL your interests...