• plea bargaining for cops

Anti-corruption head says plea bargaining for cops coming soon
    published: Tuesday | January 22, 2008

Mark Beckford, Staff Reporter

Head of the Jamaica Constabulary Force's Anti-Corruption Unit, Justin Felice. Norman Grindley/Deputy Chief Photographer

Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP) Justin Felice, head of the Anti-Corruption Branch of the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF), says his division is looking at a 'plea-bargaining' policy to induce policemen and women to reveal wrongdoing within the JCF.

"There will be some sort of policy there about reporting wrongdoing where officers are sort of encouraged to come forward," ACP Felice told The Gleaner yesterday. "However, we are duty bound to report criminal matters to the director of public prosecutions, who will make any decisions on any subsequent prosecutions."

ACP Felice's comments have come in the wake of Detective Constable Carey Lyn-Sue's admission in court last Tuesday that he fabricated evidence in a case.

In describing Detective Constable Lyn-Sue's confession as "positive", he used the opportunity to encourage other policemen and women to follow suit.
    "I would encourage any officer who has committed any wrongdoing, any criminal act or any serious act of misconduct to examine their conscience."

ACP Felice, however, did not give a timeline of when the plea-bargaining policy would be implemented and said work within his unit was still in its "early days".

Last week's confession by the detective constable has drawn many reactions and Sergeant Dalton Scott, president of Cops for Christ, is urging that his case be treated as an isolated one.

"Here is a man who is saying I am following Christ, I'm sorry, I'm cleaning up my act," Sergeant Scott said. "It is out of the ambit of the police, it doesn't make anybody look bad, it doesn't betray anyone; the man is not a betrayer because there are rules and regulations that govern the force that says you are to do something a certain way and, if you go out of the ambit of it, then you are against the regulation."

Attorney-at-law Howard Hamilton, the former public defender, is appealing to Police Commissioner Rear Admiral Hardley Lewin to keep Detective Constable Lyn-Sue in the force as an example of honesty.

"In defence of Constable Lyn-Sue, I wish to appeal to the commissioner, punish him as you must, but at all cost keep him in the force," Mr. Hamilton said in a letter to The Gleaner. "He must be a constant reminder to all other members of the force of what the conscience of a police officer who has sworn to serve and protect looks like, only then, maybe, our entire police force will come to recognise that theirs is a higher calling."
    mark.beckford@gleanerjm.com
    Last edited by Karl; January 22, 2008, 11:13 AM.

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
    Attorney-at-law Howard Hamilton, the former public defender, is appealing to Police Commissioner Rear Admiral Hardley Lewin to keep Detective Constable Lyn-Sue in the force as an example of honesty.

"In defence of Constable Lyn-Sue, I wish to appeal to the commissioner, punish him as you must, but at all cost keep him in the force," Mr. Hamilton said in a letter to The Gleaner. "He must be a constant reminder to all other members of the force of what the conscience of a police officer who has sworn to serve and protect looks like, only then, maybe, our entire police force will come to recognise that theirs is a higher calling." mark.beckford@gleanerjm.com
    i strongly support howard hamilton in his views...

i had wanted to comment on this before... was somewhat disappointed in the response of the new commissioner hardley lewin to the cops gallant confession... didn't think the commish had given enough thought to the situation before his response of condemnation...

i strongly support howard hamilton in his views...

i had wanted to comment on this before... was somewhat disappointed in the response of the new commissioner hardley lewin to the cops gallant confession... didn't think the commish had given enough thought to the situation before his response of condemnation...
      What? The man broke the law. You or I would have been taken into custody as soon as the confession was made. Why should he be treated differently?

are criminals who give states evidence against their cronies treated differently?

lol... i can understand why you would react that way lazie... however, please look at the entirety of the situation as it realates to the challenge faced by the jamaican law enforcement and the potential for greater good...

the beginning of every journey requires only one step...

excellent question...

lol... i can understand why you would react that way lazie... however, please look at the entirety of the situation as it realates to the challenge faced by the jamaican law enforcement and the potential for greater good...

the beginning of every journey requires only one step...

The law is the law bossman ... the same consequences ordinary citizens face for breaking the law, is the same consequences the police must face. What kind of message would be sent to the public when they see law enforcement officers that break the law get only a slap on the wrist?

lazie can i also tell you that where a person pleads guilty, a plea in mitigation takes this in to account and is often a factor in sentencing?

this is a little different here because the police officer was not on trial, he was giving evidence in the trial of someone else. in addition he voluntarily made a statement against his own self interest. this is markedly different from it being discovered or alleged. maybe it never would have been found out, if he hadn't confessed.

now although what he did was deplorable, it did take a tremendous amount of courage to voluntarily try to right that wrong. i don't recall ever hearing of such a situation. i'm not saying to make him a saint, but it may be opening that is needed to delve further.

Lazie,

If the cop corporates fully with investigators and implicates other cops, then he should receive a reduced sentence when it comes to sentencing before a judge. This happens all the time with drug dealers & mafia killers etc.

The law is the law bossman ... the same consequences ordinary citizens face for breaking the law, is the same consequences the police must face. What kind of message would be sent to the public when they see law enforcement officers that break the law get only a slap on the wrist?
                    What is the law without a sense of compassion and use of commonsense?

...or, are you saying there are no different approaches...different good approaches to being back into society as worthy and or acting in/for the best interest/greater good of the society?

I had a problem when Mr.Ford was being forced out and a community came to his defense, hence he remained a cop, and isn't even policing that community.
                      A drug dealer that makes a plea of sorts doesn't return earning a pay cheque as a cop.
                      Every case that that cop paticipated in is now suspect.
                      As a result of his confession, he will be spared jail time.
                      The deterrent for cops lying is prison,and dismissal from the force.
                      We still have the bargaining power, talk in order not to go to prison.

Blessed
                      Last edited by Rockman; January 22, 2008, 03:13 PM.

Look, this is not a case where he confessed about something he observed but did not report. I would imagine that would demand more compassion.
                        The rules applying to termination of job already is in the best interest of the society.
                        Normal plea bargaining situation he discloses all and then hear his fate.
                        Don't hold the damn thing hostage as bargaining leverage.

Blessed

Look, this is not a case where he confessed about something he observed but did not report. I would imagine that would demand more compassion.
                          The rules applying to termination of job already is in the best interest of the society.
                          Normal plea bargaining situation he discloses all and then hear his fate.
                          Don't hold the damn thing hostage as bargaining leverage.

Blessed
                          Not as cut and dried from where I sit!
                          Do you have to consider - "greatest good for the majority"? If you do, then it may well be that merely "dash weh" of the cop does not allow for that? Right?

Suh it boils down to individual cases?

Blessed

Suh it boils down to individual cases?

Blessed
                              Yes...with twists!
                              ....just as, not everyone that commits murder is executed!