• Bartlett urged to try religious tourism

published: Friday | January 18, 2008

The Government is being criticised for not empowering the country's people to invest their natural beauty and cultural talents, rather than continuing the debate on legalising casino gambling.

The comments were made by the Reverend Dr. Roy Notice as he delivered the main message at the National Leadership Prayer Break-fast, held yesterday at the Jamaica Pegasus hotel in New Kingston.

Games of chance

"But, shouldn't we be looking to scale down our indulgence in games of chance and instead be rekindling a stronger work ethic in this country?" asked Rev. Dr. Notice.

Rev. Dr. Notice, pastor of Mandeville New Testament Church of God, called on Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett to assist in transforming a seemingly poor work ethic that is coupled with a get-rich-quick mentality in the island.

"Come on Minister Bartlett. I am sure, especially with your Pentecostal background, that you will receive great inspiration so that you can begin to engage us in more meaningful things," he said.

"Why not explore the benefits of religious tourism, why not work on making Jamaica the conference Mecca of the Caribbean?" the pastor asked.

In response to his comments, Mr. Bartlett told The Gleaner there was a niche for all forms of tourism in the island.

Churchman lashes tourism minister over casino

BY INGRID BROWN Observer staff reporter browni@jamaicaobserver.com
    Friday, January 18, 2008

EDMUND Bartlett, the Jamaican tourism minister, yesterday got a lashing from the guest speaker at the National Leadership Prayer Breakfast, who rapped him for suggesting recently that casino gambling be considered to boost tourist traffic to the island.

Rev Roy Notice, in a personal reference to the minister, which caused some amount of discomfort for some guests, said Jamaica should be looking to scale down its indulgence in games of chance and instead be rekindling a stronger work ethic in the country.

Rev Dr Alston Henry (left), chairman of the National Leadership Prayer Breakfast Committee; Prime Minister Bruce Golding (2nd left) and his wife Lorna; and Opposition spokesman on transport, Robert Pickersgill bow their heads during a prayer for the nation at the annual prayer breakfast, held yesterday at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel in Kingston. Numerous government, business and church leaders were in attendance. (Photo: Joseph Wellington)

"Come on Minister Bartlett, I am sure, especially with your Pentecostal background, that you will receive great inspiration so that you will begin to engage us in more meaningful things," Rev Notice said as he addressed the nation's leaders at the breakfast at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel in Kingston, the Jamaican capital.

"Why not explore the benefits of religious tourism and why not work on making Jamaica the conference mecca of the Caribbean?" questioned Rev Notice, pastor of the Mandeville New Testament Church of God in the rural parish of Manchester.

Bartlett was not present at the breakfast, but in a telephone interview with the Observer shortly after the function, he said that singling him out instead of the Government for its policy decision on casino gambling was "not in good taste".

He said it was uncanny that such a statement should be made since he was the minister who brought the evangelical church into the mainstream of national life in Jamaica. This, he said, started in 1981 when, as the then minister of culture, he appointed one of the Blair brothers as chairman of the committee on religious services at Jamaica House.

"I was the first speaker at this same prayer breakfast in 1981," Bartlett said. He added that it was also in 1983, during his first tenure as a Cabinet minister, that a gospel festival was launched in George's Plain, Westmoreland.

He said he was also instrumental in having Al Miller become the first evangelical preacher to preach on an Anglican platform at the Parish Church in Kingston in 1985 at the National Youth Service.

"Amidst that background you believe I would be bashing the church?" Bartlett questioned.

He said, however, that suggestions made by the reverend on religious tourism were measures already initiated by the administration.

".Gaming would not take away from what I am doing; people travel for diverse experiences, faith-based tourism is one experience and casino gambling is another and there is a whole range of experiences," he said.

Bartlett told the Observer that it was just last Friday that he met with Bishop Herro Blair and Rev Al Miller to establish a task force to advise him on faith-based tourism, which he said would be part of the diversification of attractions. The official announcement, he said, would be made public after the task force's recommendation is made.

The tourism minister said conventions, religious festivals and crusades involving internationally renowned evangelists and inspirational speakers would be all part of the package, which would be marketed with an impressive niche appeal.

bartlett had a good response though.....there is a niche for everybody.

so whe the church people them a go gamble when service done if no casino?

dem gwine to give up bingo, grab bag and raffle?

I think he is working his tail off.

You know how much church trip end up a Atlantic city and Foxboro?

Di pastor dem can say wha dem want ... dem kriss when Sunday come. Barlett have a job fi duh ...

dem gwine to give up bingo, grab bag and raffle?
                  Nuh figet the "Japan" man Don't them still play that twice a day!