Giving up Liberties

• Giving up Liberties

"Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." - Ben Franklin

Point me to di uptown or bourgeosie that would tolerate 40 of their own being rounded up, questioned and released a day later without charge.

Those that would give up the essential liberty of OTHERS to purchase THEIR OWN temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Maudib

Wi si dem and wi know dem..

How yuh doing Karl ?

"Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." - Ben Franklin

Point me to di uptown or bourgeosie that would tolerate 40 of their own being rounded up, questioned and released a day later without charge.

Those that would give up the essential liberty of OTHERS to purchase THEIR OWN temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Maudib

How yuh doing Karl ?
    Thanks Maudib! BADDAZZZZ!!!! there is the quote. I was searching for it but was searching for it as a Thomas Jefferson quote.

Well actually their is still debate as to if it was Ben or not.

But that is besides the point...except for those concerned primarily with the messenger and not the message...

Nuff a dem deh bout..

How yuh doing Karl ?
        Fine!
        ...and, if the polcie acted in a resonable manner based on observed activities or receipt of intelligence reports...uptown, mid-town or downtown, a jus suh!

great quote maudib... however, as you put it, its not exactly accurate... the original quote did not have 'OTHERS' nor did it have 'THEIR OWN'...

maudib, you know that this inaccurate presentation of the quote, alters the original meaning to suit your motive, whatever that may be...

and lazie, once again you've demonstrated a comprehension deficiency...

a key word in that quote is ESSENTIAL... consult your dictionary to learn of its definiton, then talk to me about what i stated about the temporary suspension of rights to restore order...

my bad maudib, i just saw that you had offered the original quote... i had read lazie's post before i read yours... still, the maudib quote with others and their own alters the meaning of the original quote...

even using the original, my views on temporary suspension of rights to restore order still applies because i am not advocating giving up ESSENTIAL liberty...

[quote=Maudib;77603Point me to di uptown or bourgeosie that would tolerate 40 of their own being rounded up, questioned and released a day later without charge.[/quote]

its redundant but still needs to be said... i was not in tivoli and neither were most of us on this site...

so you think that uptown or bourgeoisie have less tolerance than tivoli people... lets see the uptown or bourgeoisie behave unruly, disorderly, threatening or attempt to incite riot first before you spew your rhetoric...

it is not unusual for law enforcement in the pursuit of their jobs to apprehend, question and release people, especially under the circumstances and the environment in which they were operating... what is surprising, is they did not charge any for obstruction, attempting to incite riots or some minor charge... but why tie up the courts with minor breaches and afterall, it would be money out of the pockets of poor people...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                great quote maudib... however, as you put it, its not exactly accurate... the original quote did not have 'OTHERS' nor did it have 'THEIR OWN'...

maudib, you know that this inaccurate presentation of the quote, alters the original meaning to suit your motive, whatever that may be...

and lazie, once again you've demonstrated a comprehension deficiency...

a key word in that quote is ESSENTIAL... consult your dictionary to learn of its definiton, then talk to me about what i stated about the temporary suspension of rights to restore order...
                At times I wonder how seriously I must take you people. The Jamaican constitution listed the rights we as a people are entitled to .. gov't over the years have put forth amendents taking away those rights ... now you talking bout temporary suspension? You can play dandy shandy wid the word Essential" all yuh want.

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                  its redundant but still needs to be said... i was not in tivoli and neither were most of us on this site...

so you think that uptown or bourgeoisie have less tolerance than tivoli people... lets see the uptown or bourgeoisie behave unruly, disorderly, threatening or attempt to incite riot first before you spew your rhetoric...

it is not unusual for law enforcement in the pursuit of their jobs to apprehend, question and release people, especially under the circumstances and the environment in which they were operating... what is surprising, is they did not charge any for obstruction, attempting to incite riots or some minor charge... but why tie up the courts with minor breaches and afterall, it would be money out of the pockets of poor people...
                  There is a jamaican saying..

"Duppy know who fi frighten"

Advise me if I need to explain it to you and its relevance at this juncture..

Where was this quote when we were discussing the issue of a preemptive strike on Iran?