who is of the opinion that music and school nuh gree. A wonder where them get that from?
Munga Honourable
TWENTY-SEVEN-year-old Munga was born Damian Rhoden and is a father of two.
He grew up in the parish of St. Mary, where he attended Hillside Primary and later, St. Mary High for two years. He then moved to Kingston, where he attended Tarrant High at the same time as Denise Plummer, a.k.a Dancehall Queen Stacie. At school, he had good grades and could have done any number of things, but he chose to deejay.
Growing up, he was an avid fan of Hardy Boys novels.
In 1997, he fell in with a group of thugs, and one day, stopped attending school, pre-empting plans to expel him.
Munga then started hustling to survive by washing cars and doing odd jobs in supermarkets. His decision deeply disappointed his mother, a teacher, Karen Hamilton, who had nurtured hopes that her son would have become an accountant.
In 1998, while visiting his grandmother in St. Mary, his uncle, Norman Hamilton, otherwise called La Lumba, encouraged him to enter the Red Label Wine Superstar competition with a song he co-wrote called Who Drink Out the Red Label Wine?
Munga entered and annihilated the competition, taking home the top prize.
After that, he drifted a little, hanging around the David House camp. He was the 'bannerman' in Capleton's Dutty Life video in the late '90s and he also did collaborations with Little Capes (Capleton's younger brother).
In 1999, he recorded his first song called Hold A Vibes. Soon after, he began to do small stage shows.
"We started travelling in 2001, opening for Capleton in the small islands, and then in 2002, I opened for him on the United States tour."
Getting a taste of the industry in 1999 with a mediocre track entitled Tears of Joy - produced by Militant Music - Munga started hanging out at all of Kingston's studios; getting to know producers and giving impromptu performances to anyone who would listen.
After a small audition with dancehall hit-maker Don Corleon, the two agreed that they would work together.
Bad Like I on the Sweat riddim was his first Corleon-produced track.
His more memorable tracks include Flippin' Rhymes and Hold You In My Arms on the High Altitude and Heavenly riddims, respectively. Of the latter, he says, "That's what earned me my status I think ... that's what made people start looking out for the next Munga track."
Source:yardflex.com/idletribes.com
He grew up in the parish of St. Mary, where he attended Hillside Primary and later, St. Mary High for two years. He then moved to Kingston, where he attended Tarrant High at the same time as Denise Plummer, a.k.a Dancehall Queen Stacie. At school, he had good grades and could have done any number of things, but he chose to deejay.
Growing up, he was an avid fan of Hardy Boys novels.
In 1997, he fell in with a group of thugs, and one day, stopped attending school, pre-empting plans to expel him.
Munga then started hustling to survive by washing cars and doing odd jobs in supermarkets. His decision deeply disappointed his mother, a teacher, Karen Hamilton, who had nurtured hopes that her son would have become an accountant.
In 1998, while visiting his grandmother in St. Mary, his uncle, Norman Hamilton, otherwise called La Lumba, encouraged him to enter the Red Label Wine Superstar competition with a song he co-wrote called Who Drink Out the Red Label Wine?
Munga entered and annihilated the competition, taking home the top prize.
After that, he drifted a little, hanging around the David House camp. He was the 'bannerman' in Capleton's Dutty Life video in the late '90s and he also did collaborations with Little Capes (Capleton's younger brother).
In 1999, he recorded his first song called Hold A Vibes. Soon after, he began to do small stage shows.
"We started travelling in 2001, opening for Capleton in the small islands, and then in 2002, I opened for him on the United States tour."
Getting a taste of the industry in 1999 with a mediocre track entitled Tears of Joy - produced by Militant Music - Munga started hanging out at all of Kingston's studios; getting to know producers and giving impromptu performances to anyone who would listen.
After a small audition with dancehall hit-maker Don Corleon, the two agreed that they would work together.
Bad Like I on the Sweat riddim was his first Corleon-produced track.
His more memorable tracks include Flippin' Rhymes and Hold You In My Arms on the High Altitude and Heavenly riddims, respectively. Of the latter, he says, "That's what earned me my status I think ... that's what made people start looking out for the next Munga track."
Source:yardflex.com/idletribes.com