• O'Meally-Nelson leaves UTech

O'Meally-Nelson leaves UTech
    published: Saturday | January 12, 2008

Petrina Francis, Staff Reporter

Blossom O'Meally-Nelson had indicated to her employers from as early as a year ago that she would only remain for one more year. - file

Dr. Blossom O'Meally-Nelson, was recently removed from her position as Pro-Chancellor of the University of Technology (UTech), after serving the institution for 18 years.

But Andrew Holness, Minister of Education insisted last night that she was not fired, noting that there was a mutual agreement for her to leave the institution.
    "She was not fired. Our political system is just that firing is not what we resort to," Mr. Holness told The Gleaner.

He said he met with Dr. O'Meally-Nelson; President, Professor Errol Morrison, who took up office last March and the Chancellor Sir Bill Morris, based on information he had received that there were differences in management style, structure and personality between the administration and the Pro-Chancellor.

The Education Minister said that, in discussions with Dr. O'Meally-Nelson, he told her it would be best for her to give the new administration a chance.
    "She agreed, but she didn't want it to appear that she was asked to leave her job because there was a change in the (political) administration,"said Mr. Holness.

The Education Minister said both he and Dr. O'Meally-Nelson agreed that she would voluntarily step aside by the end of last year.

He noted that he subsequently called her and he was told that the differences between the two offices were settled. However, Mr. Holness said further investigations revealed that the differences were still there.
    "So I instructed the permanent secretary to send her a letter on November 12, thanked her for her years of service, and wished her well in her new direction," Mr. Holness said.

Asked why Dr. O'Meally-Nelson was specifically asked to leave, Mr. Holness said it was difficult to find a president and the selection process was a very rigid one.

He noted that the Office of the Pro-Chancellor had grown in power to rival that of the president.
    "That wasn't supposed to happen and we can't afford for the university to operate in a political tug-a-war," Mr. Holness said.
    petrina.francis@gleanerjm.com

O'Meally-Nelson leaves UTech
    published: Saturday | January 12, 2008

Petrina Francis, Staff Reporter

Blossom O'Meally-Nelson had indicated to her employers from as early as a year ago that she would only remain for one more year. - file

Dr. Blossom O'Meally-Nelson, was recently removed from her position as Pro-Chancellor of the University of Technology (UTech), after serving the institution for 18 years.

But Andrew Holness, Minister of Education insisted last night that she was not fired, noting that there was a mutual agreement for her to leave the institution.
    "She was not fired. Our political system is just that firing is not what we resort to," Mr. Holness told The Gleaner.

"So I instructed the permanent secretary to send her a letter on November 12, thanked her for her years of service, and wished her well in her new direction," Mr. Holness said.

petrina.francis@gleanerjm.com

I'm sure she preferred that!

Lazie and his crew?
        They are sure a bunch of phartz!

Karl that is normal.

You want fi see what happen at my previous job which was with a college.

People was afraid to become VPs.

Karl, nuttin is wrong with the new leadership desiring people aligned to them to be in charge. This is a non issue.

It is an issue when you say yuh not firing somebody when that is exactly what u did. If this govt. lays off 10,000 people over the next few years, should we just accept it when it tells us that it simple had a staff alleviation or some other euphemism?

Obviously unuh have a problem with comprehending what unuh read?

How many ways can u interpret this:

What if she had disagreed with the minister's suggestion?

Did she go to the minister requesting a departure?

It's a face saving measure to have the lady removed. It's the government's prerogative to decide who they would like to lead UTECH.

How many ways can u interpret this:

... and what about the rift between she and Morrison? Unuh gonna side step that reality?

No problem with that. Do you understand where I am coming from?

Actually no.

There is a big difference between being FIRED and what happened to this lady.

These are not advanced concepts.

You comrades clearly not going to mek it at this rate...

I fully well understand bredren .. part of the nightmare promise.

Erm, I was directly addressing Hortical. But thanks anyway.