Mavado banned from St. Vincent and the Grenadines

• Mavado banned from St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Thursday, 10 January 2008 Another Jamaican dancehall artiste has found himself in the bad books of Caribbean authorities.

Popular entertainer Mavado has been banned by authorities in St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

Mavado's popular hits include 'Deh ya pon the Gullyside' and 'Dreaming'

Police Commissioner Keith Miller confirmed that Mavado, whose correct name is David Brooks, was due to perform in St. Vincent on January 19, would not be allowed to do so.

The Commissioner did not give reasons for the denial, but said the factors influencing the decision will be spelt out at a later media conference.

However, speaking on behalf of the promoter, management of Hot97 radio station, said the artiste's lyrics were cited as the reason for the cancellation.

Last week it was reported that police officials were concerned about Movado's lyrics, which were considered to be violent.

The police said the decision was also made bearing in mind that St. Vincent and the Grenadines just came out from a record year for murders and an increase in violent crimes, especially involving firearms.

There were 36 murders on the island in 2007, a huge jump from 13 in 2006.

It is the second time that a Jamaican artiste has been banned from performing.

In the mid 1990s, female dancehall artiste "Lady Patra" was also banned.

"The police said the decision was also made bearing in mind that St. Vincent and the Grenadines just came out from a record year for murders and an increase in violent crimes, especially involving firearms.

There were 36 murders on the island in 2007, a huge jump from 13 in 2006."

Suh what dem a say? a di music a cause the murder rate fi increase? Are these ********s serious? Mi nuh like Movado suh dem can ban him if dem want ... but fi talk like as fi banning the DJ gonna solve them problem is as stupid as dem can get.

I like Movado. Don't you think lyrics have any influence on 'innercity' youths?

Originally posted by Exile View Post
        I like Movado. Don't you think lyrics have any influence on 'innercity' youths?
        I can speak for myself. I grew up loving gun tunes .. clash tunes ... at no time it influenced me.

really?

..and therefore it will not influence anyone else? Is that your argument?

Originally posted by Exile View Post
              ..and therefore it will not influence anyone else? Is that your argument?
              I believe people must take responsibility for their own actions. This notion of blaming others for the acts you commit is nonsensical as far as I'm concerned. When Cain killed Abel, was it music that influenced his actions? Sorry ... I'm not on that bandwagon.

and how did these artist write these gun tunes? When them a talk bout the type of guns, the bulletts, and how it kill people? You think some a them just dream it up or them get inspiration from some divine powers?

So I guess it is not important to have parents in the home then? If everybody take responsiblity for there own action, since you don't make a difference for adult than children. If you don't include children then can they be influenced? Because I think they learn from what is happening around them.

and how did these artist write these gun tunes? When them a talk bout the type of guns, the bulletts, and how it kill people? You think some a them just dream it up or them get inspiration from some divine powers?
                    Wait, I was of the impression this was about how the music influence those that listens to it. Okay .. I'll play along .. When I was doing English Lit in high school, I wrote a poem about "Touring Europe." I've never been to Europe, so how did I write that poem? On road block radio I heard an interview with Vybz KArtel about his lyrics and , maybe he is lying, don't know ... but he said at times he is on the internet he will see something that gives him an idea.

So I guess it is not important to have parents in the home then? If everybody take responsiblity for there own action, since you don't make a difference for adult than children. If you don't include children then can they be influenced? Because I think they learn from what is happening around them.
                      Sass .. stop .... Yuh all over the place bredren.

I can speak for myself. I grew up loving gun tunes .. clash tunes ... at no time it influenced me.
                        How about those gangster movies? I prefer violence, war and mayhem when it comes to movies. Maybe dem jokers should ban those movie producers.

Because you don't want to deal with it. The fact is that the gun culture including the gun music has influenced a generation of children and it is part of the reason why we have such a high crime rate. No two ways about it.

Sometimes others have to bear the responsiblity for what they teach to the youngsters and the weak.

Mi nuh really business one way or the other however dese gun tunes are killing Dancehall music. Cyaan get no good music again since dis eediat ALLIANCE form a pure marrow fly foolishness. No wonder BEENIE a di KING.

You wrote about touring Europe? wasn't this something you learned? and I know you couldn't have written more than you were thought and it was not really indepth but have you listen to some of these tunes? and you tell me that they only hear bout these guns and clips? but never seen them right. Nuff a them fi go a jail, there are so many artists supporting gunmen it nuh funny.