Only the garrisons can solve the garrison problem

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
    Lazie, Lazie this is a microcosm of our problems. Tek off the JLP/PNP blinkers ask youself this if Tivoli and Arnett are the same have you ever heard of an equivellant of Horace Murphy from Tivoli. I give Bruce props for having the colleones to appoint someone who accurately describes Tivoli as " the mother of all Garrisons" to commissioner of Police. I will give you the benefit of the doubt and assume you have no idea of where we are vis-a- vis this situation.

Understand this your party leader obviously does and whether out of self-interest or the betterment of Jamaica he has made a commendable first step for which I salute him without reservation.
    See, I expected to be accused of making this a PNP/JLP thing. No, thats not it. The reality round here is as the buzz word Tivoli is mentioned all the experts appear .... here is an article that I posted a few years ago ... and all the experts ignored it. I'm not indicating that Tivoli don't have problems, but why people ignore what happen elsewhere? I recall the last time Tivoli was invaded, a family was roasted in their home .....

The St Andrew South Division — a crime nursery

By Denise Brown
    The St Andrew South Division is the most troubled and bloodiest division in Jamaica.
    Seventeen per cent or 238 of all the murders committed in the island so far this year, took place in that division. Last year, the division was responsible for 242 murders and with only two months left in the year, it is quite likely that the current crime rate will exceed that of last year.

The St Andrew South Division, which comprises of over 40 inner-city communities, is located at the most westerly end of the island's capital city, Kingston. It is the most populated division and comprises four political constituencies: South West St Andrew, North West St Andrew, West St Andrew and West Central St Andrew.
    Of the total 1,445 murders committed in the island last year, the St Andrew South Division was responsible for 242. Of this figure, 230 were gun related, of which 111 were solved. In addition there were 229 robberies, of which 176 were gun related. Shootings amounted to 303 and injuries 214.
    Although the division pursued several anti-crime initiatives during the year, these criminal activities still occurred. Of the 238 murders committed there this year, only 77 have been solved.
    Woefully inadequate
    Deputy Superintendent Winchroy Budhoo and Deputy Superintendent Oswald Ayre of the Hunt's Bay Police Station, which is located in the division, explained that the crime rate there is worsening because the current ratio of police to residents in the area is woefully inadequate.
    DSP Budhoo explained that in developed countries anywhere between 60 to 70 police officers work on a murder investigation, but “here we have one police officer working on 20 different murder cases.”
    “It is simply overwhelming,” he said.
    He also said that the manpower of the Jamaica Constabulary Force needed to be drastically increased in order for it to carry out its job effectively.

DSP Budhoo added that although there were several departments in the division, the largest being the Criminal Investigation Branch, 37 detectives were inadequate to deal with the crime situation in the area. In total the division has on roll 345 members, however, only 280 are available for work. At present the working strength is 280 comprising four officers, 10 inspectors, 30 sergeants, 46 corporals, 190 constables and 33 district constables.
    “The recommended international ratio is 1:250, but based on the level of crime in this division a 1:1 ratio would be ideal. The expected number of detectives for this division would be 100 members,” said DSP Oswald Ayre.
    He believes that the limited number of police officers in the area is seriously affecting their effectiveness and that the general attitude of persons there is not helpful.
    “The residents in these communities are not reporting criminal activities for fear of reprisals from these criminals. This sort of attitude is negatively affecting how well the police carry out their duties.”
    He added that the growing numbers of squatter settlements in the area is worsening the situation.
    Sunday Herald

Be thankful that such numbers can be compiled on this garrison. There are no such numbers on Tivoli. I guess nothing happens there.

Yay!

Be thankful that such numbers can be compiled on this garrison. There are no such numbers on Tivoli. I guess nothing happens there.

Yay!
        I present facts ... yuh coming with speculation. Did anyone say nothing happens in Tivoli? As mi say, line up the invasion .. no need fi smokescreens.

Actually, since I grew up with a lot of Italians and have the dubious talent of being able to swear in Italian "fangoula te, butana etc" Colleones represent the pronounciation approximation. Italians especially Sycillians pronounce their j's as l's hence colleones. Truss me this is a term I've heard many a time at pick-up basketball games and street-hockey games. nothing Jamaican about this.

Facts -

And the facts show that Tivoli is crime free?

Facts -

And the facts show that Tivoli is crime free?
              Stop being silly Mosiah. Where did anyone give that impression?

In any case my point is proven. KArl and Mdmex posted the article from morning ... and as soon as the buzz word is mentioned, all .. well some of the experts appear. When unuh gonna be even handed in unuh campaign?

That's exactly the impression you are giving. I don't have similar figures on Tivoli so it's speculation. No one has figures on Tivoli, Lazie! We are all speculating!

Speculating? Okay. Suh we all ignore the facts infront of us and continue alot the path of speculation?

When unuh serious and waan discuss the crime situation mek mi know.

Again I ask you If Tivoli and Arnett are the same have you ever heard of the equivelent of Horace Murphy from Tivoli. Hint: they have existed why have you ever heard of them.?

Who ever said Arnett and other garrisons weren't part of the problem? But what u need to realise is that there is a massive difference when the police can enter and conduct searches, maintain curfews, etc. in these problem areas and can't even approach the rest!

Why do you bother. I genuinely feel sorry for Bruce he has appointed a commisioner of Police who has intimate knowledge of what is actually happening based on his army experience for this and this alone he should be commended. Obviously Lazie and the other cheerleaders didn't get the memo.

Again I ask you If Tivoli and Arnett are the same have you ever heard of the equivelent of Horace Murphy from Tivoli. Hint: they have existed why have you ever heard of them.?
                          Still tip toeing around the issue Rudi. We all know Tivarli is the worst of the lot ... my question is why people don't discuss whats happening in the other areas? I recall a story of a woman from Arnett that had to pack up and leave like others in her community. Her son was murdered, she knew who did it .. and saw the killer on a daily basis... she got scared so she left. Funny enough ... the article was posted here ... the usual suspects tip toed around it ... those who tried to address it posted that who wrote the article and those of us here that was talking about it didn't know whats going on.

Was he appointed by Bruce? I think if he hadn't already fired the PSC for their Vasciannie choice he would have fired the board that selected the "mother of all garrisons" man!

Why do you bother. I genuinely feel sorry for Bruce he has appointed a commisioner of Police who has intimate knowledge of what is actually happening based on his army experience for this and this alone he should be commended. Obviously Lazie and the other cheerleaders didn't get the memo.
                              We're cheerleaders now? Comical. I'm very well aware who is the commish and you have it wrong, the PSC (police services commission appointed Lewin).

Come now Rudi .. duh better than that.

Was he appointed by Bruce? I think if he hadn't already fired the PSC for their Vasciannie choice he would have fired the board that selected the "mother of all garrisons" man!
                                Bill Maher ain't got nothing on you Mosiah .. him need a teleprompter for his jokes.