Wonder what is the reaction to this move?

• Wonder what is the reaction to this move?

LATE, that is the reaction. A few weeks ago Orett was saying dat dem cyaan do anyting about rising world prices. Now they found a way.

sigh

LATE, that is the reaction. A few weeks ago Orett was saying dat dem cyaan do anyting about rising world prices. Now they found a way.

sigh
      You comrades are sounding more and more bitter by the day. You are aware that the price of bread will not increase? You're aware that the price of locally produced cooking oil and counter flour will decrease while baking flour will remain the same?

It nuh matter, nuh matter what dem duh, you people gonna find fault.

The Jamaica Agricultural Society (JAS) has welcomed the step taken by the government to subsidise the price of fertiliser to farmers.

JAS President, Senator Norman Grant said the move will help farmers who are still recovering from the devastation caused by heavy rains last year.

The government will be providing a ten percent subsidy on the ex-factory price of fertiliser over the next three months.

Additionally, livestock farmers will benefit from the allocation of $30 million that will be distributed through the Rural Agricultural Development Authority on a constituency basis.

The government announced plans to pump $50 million into the sector for the provision of fertiliser subsidy.

Another $50 million will be allocated to aid in increasing local production.

Agriculture Minister Dr. Christopher Tufton says this is being done to assist in the reduction of the prices of locally grown foods.

The measures will be in place until the end of the financial year in March, after which special budgetary allocations will be made to combat rising food prices.

Lukewarm response to government’s food assistance measures

The Opposition People's National Party, (PNP), says it is not satisfied with plans outlined by the government to ease the burden of high food prices.

Opposition Spokesman on Industry, Peter Bunting, said the measures do not go far enough to resolve the crunch facing consumers.

Mr. Bunting told the RJR News centre that questions have also been raised whether the Bruce Golding administration is trying to gain political mileage from the $500 million assistance package.

He said the party is happy the government has finally moved to provide some mitigating measures to assist the poor, but the three month period is only an interim measure.

He asked the Jamaica Labour Party administration to explain what long term plans it would be implementing.

The administration announced on Tuesday that five basic food items - counter flour, baking flour, cooking oil, bulk rice and milk powder - will be subsidised.

And the National Consumer's League, said it is conducting an analysis to determine if the measures announced by the government are enough to protect vulnerable Jamaicans from the rising cost of living.

However, the league called the initiative a good move.

You comrades are sounding more and more bitter by the day. You are aware that the price of bread will not increase? You're aware that the price of locally produced cooking oil and counter flour will decrease while baking flour will remain the same?

It nuh matter, nuh matter what dem duh, you people gonna find fault.
            You are a joker when it comes to defending the JLP!
            Did you support the JLP's position when the PNP called for 'government to do something to hold rising prices in check'? Did you throw water on that suggestion?

...now the JLP does what the PNP called for...not apparently as well as the PNP would have liked, but something is being done...you suddenly find favour with that which the PNP called for???? - Joker!

You are a joker when it comes to defending the JLP!
              Did you support the JLP's position when the PNP called for 'government to do something to hold rising prices in check'? Did you throw water on that suggestion?

...now the JLP does what the PNP called for...not apparently as well as the PNP would have liked, but something is being done...you suddenly find favour with that which the PNP called for???? - Joker!
              If the PNP was in office they wouldn't have done it. Now they're in opposition they suddenly have ideas. Thats the position I took when they were mekking up noise. Yuh nuh realize that it nuh matter what unuh call me? My back broad Karl ... broader than broadway.

Karl, what I find amusing is that unuh all seem to have memory problems.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...5122#post65122.

If the PNP was in office they wouldn't have done it. Now they're in opposition they suddenly have ideas. Thats the position I took when they were mekking up noise.
                  What were the PNP's actions whenever prices rose precipitously?
                  Massa guh look pan di PNP's actions over the years?

Yuh nuh realize that it nuh matter what unuh call me? My back broad Karl ... broader than broadway.
                  Mi rate yuh fi dat!
                  Yuh cyaan give hit an yuh cyaan tek hit!
                  Yuh large, boss! Misguided ...but, large!

Talk about speculation!

Speculation? Have you been paying attention to whats taking place? If you were you'd see that even though man a study fi dem CAPE ... him not an idiot ... compare to the man wid the PhD.

for how long?