• Fight over control of public service

Fight over control of public service
    Ken Chaplin
    Tuesday, January 08, 2008

The conflict over the appointment of Stephen Vasciannie as solicitor general and the dismissal of members of the Public Service Commission (PSC) by the governor general on the recommendation of the prime minister has developed into an unpleasant affair. Five files dealing with appointments and resignations of members of the PSC since 1972 are missing from the PSC's office at the Ministry of Finance and Planning at National Heroes Circle. The governor general's office at King's House cannot retrieve the relevant files.

In the absence of the files, the PSC cannot say whether members of the commission resigned when there was a change of government in 1972, 1980 and 1989. In 1972, the People's National Party succeeded the Jamaica Labour Party and was re-elected in 1976. In 1980, the JLP formed the government again and remained in office until 1989 when the PNP took over the reins of government again and remained in office until 2007. As I remember, there was a convention that members of the PSC should resign to make way for the prime minister to recommend to the governor general the people he wanted on the PSC. I wanted to establish beyond doubt from the records whether members of the PSC had resigned when there was a change of government, so I turned to the PSC and King's House, but without success.

Therefore, I had to rely on the memories of a few members of past PSCs for information. One thing a former member of the PSC was certain about was that following the re-election of the PNP in 1976, members of the PSC were asked by Prime Minister Michael Manley to resign to make way for "little people".They resigned en bloc. It turned out that the "little people" included heavyweights and democratic socialists like Professor Rex Nettleford, Rev Ernle Gordon and E Lloyd Taylor. The governor general at the time, Sir Florizel Glasspole, accepted the resignations in order to avoid a constitutional crisis. The prime minister has no power to appoint or dismiss members. He did not appoint them in the first place. That power, in the final analysis, belongs to the governor general and as was the case of Sir Florizel, I believe he acted correctly. Another point is that the governor general cannot be sued in this or any such matters.

The Jamaican Constitution, as I wrote on December 25, "was written by gentlemen for gentlemen as a guide for good governance". The column further stated that "at the time when the Constitution was being drafted for independence, the founding fathers could not have envisioned the time would come when the executive arm of government (the Cabinet), would pack the PSC with its own sympathisers so that it could make any appointment to the public service the government wanted". This is the cause of most of the problems at present in the public service, including that which the Attorney General's Department is now experiencing because it has been dominated by PNP activists brought in over the past 18 years.

With a new government it cannot be business as usual. Many of the staff cannot accept that there has been a change of government and new policies relating to the management of the department have to be introduced in keeping with the government's promise to improve the administration of justice. The dismissed PSC was of a heavy political colour (orange). Of the five members, only Alfred Sangster appeared to be independent-minded. Of the others, two are rabid PNP activists and the other two strong sympathisers.

The conflict arose over the recommendations by the PSC to the governor general for the appointment of deputy solicitor general Professor Vasciannie as solicitor general. When Golding left the National Democratic Movement and returned to the JLP, he was harshly criticised by Vasciannie (then a key NDM official) in an interview on the television programme, IMPACT. Having regard to the criticism, it was unthinkable that the PSC would have recommended the appointment of a man who has to work in a critical position in the government led by Golding. It was a provocative act, and could probably lead to further conflicts. The prime minister could not call for the resignation of the PSC. He did not appoint the members in the first place. The conflict is really a struggle between the PSC and the PNP and the government for the control of the public service.

It seems to me that the constitution will have to be amended to ensure that truly independent people are appointed to it, and it does not become an appendage of any political party, otherwise we could face a constitutional crisis. I believe that as was the intention of the founding fathers and it worked for a time, but if Golding does not reinstate the non-partisan characteristics of the PSC, the public service will be in dire trouble.

None of the apologists round here have the balls fi call a spade a spade, them only looking for reasons to point finger at the gov't. The Sunday Herald reported that there is a cold war between the AG and staff members.

The AG was interviewed on NNN, and it appears Ken Chaplin is saying the same thing as the AG. She indicated that she has been asking about the billings the staff has been charging the gov't, the travel expenses etc, and it is causing a problem. Why?

Word is there are some 95 files that the former SG took with him when he went into private practice and he is refusing to give over the files .... why? Of note, most of these files are regarding FINSAC.

On the night of Sept 3rd, chief poppyshow stated, "It ain't over baby .... NO WAY!!!"

She know very well what she was talking about. Render dem helpless yes ... I guess its a promise of the nightmare.

hehehehehehh...i heard from a VERY reliable source about 4 days ago that therein lay the rub why the "policy" divide between himself and his employers.....the billing.

'Dead cat' comment and PM Golding
        published: Tuesday | January 8, 2008

Devon Dick
        Gleaner reader Wayne Lumsden claimed that he was "confused by a certain statement" I made because he "cannot recall ever reading that Prime Minister cited the 'dead cat' comment made by Vasciannie in the past as his reason for objecting to his appointment" and that columnists "should report fairly and truthfully" (January 3).

It seems to me that if Lumsden is saying that it was not the "dead cat" comment by Vasciannie why Prime Minister objected to Vascianne's appointment as the country's Solicitor General, then he should have told us the reason. Furthermore, Lumsden should have stated what his position would be if the reason Golding objected to Vasciannie was over the "dead cat" comment.

Perhaps Lumsden would have noticed that he is the only one who objected to the assertion about the rationale for Golding's action.
        In fact, I could inform Lumsden that I was encouraged to peruse two tapes in which Vasciannie made certain comments and the reason I was encouraged to watch and listen to the tapes was because it was believed that those Vasciannie tapes would convince me also that Vasciannie was not a fit and proper person to be the Solicitor General.

Forgive
        My respectful advice to the Prime Minister is to forgive that comment. The Prime Minister, like Vasciannie, has used pointed metaphors. The Prime Minister likened the PNP leadership to having their brains infested by termites. I encouraged the Leader of Opposition to forgive the metaphor and resume the Vale Royal talks. I am happy that she said she would resume talks in spite of no apology. I wish the PM would do a similar thing.

The Honourable Bruce Golding in the past had made some very harsh statements about the JLP and he established the NDM, which ran against the JLP, an action which some believe cost the JLP an electoral victory. Nevertheless, he is now part of the JLP again.

I am afraid that th to lack of forgiveness is frightening. It is a bad example for the country, especially one that suffers from a high murder rate predicated on reprisals. The other problem is that this fiasco could descend into a constitutional conundrum and an acrimonious litigation process. Furthermore, we had an unhealthy precedent in the region. Patrick Manning, Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago and a devout Christian, dismissed the country's Chief Justice because of alleged misbehaviour. As you are aware, the Chief Justice challenged the dismissal and won. Let Jamaica not take this road.

Compromise
        The situation calls for a compromise. It is time for former Prime Ministers P.J. Patterson and Edward Seaga to be treated as elder statesmen and their intervention and collective wisdom sought or offered and used in this potentially explosive crisis. There is too much mud-slinging which does not augur well for governance. I believe that the July 2007 judgment by the Supreme Court that the PSC acted not only unadvisedly but in a "cavalier" manner was a serious indictment against the PSC that warranted the resignations of those members involved in the decision, if they did not successfully appeal that ruling. However, if they are to be dismissed, due process should be followed. To me a possible compromise would allow for a new PSC and allow Vasciannie to be appointed.

I am aware that the Prime Minister has spiritual giants and eminent lawyers advising him, but I would suggest that he heeds this small, simple, shrill voice encouraging him to forgive and let sleeping cats lie.

Rev. Devon Dick is pastor of Boulevard Church and author of 'Rebellion to Riot: the Church in Nation Building'.

Can he forgive him and still nuh want him as SG?

i'm curious as to the composition of the new PSC.

Observer say so far two well respected former public servants but mek we wait and see.