When will my people take education

• When will my people take education

seriously and make it a priority above all in their lives (this way they cannot be tricked and deceived). Yes Mi did know; cow neva know di use ah him tail....... Hog did ask him mumma why har mout so lang, she say "by an by yuh wi see".

You will have to pay a hundred years of slavery, mussi tink man did put dem money inna dis ting fi nutten. Unnuh try figure out what is near dis beach.

Who owns Dead End Beach?
    Patrons worry as privatisation plans threaten free accessKERIL WRIGHT, Observer West reporter
    Thursday, January 03, 2008

FREENESS EBBS. Patrons who used to enjoy free access will soon have to pay. (Photo: Keril Wright)
    MONTEGO BAY, St James -

Patrons of the Dead End Beach in this resort are upset over alleged plans to privatise and eliminate free access to the popular recreational facility.

Many families who turned up at the landmark property on the weekend were warned that they would soon have to pay to access the facility, while vendors were told they would not be allowed to peddle their wares at the popular beach, which borders the Sangster International Airport at the end of Gloucester Avenue.
    The residents say men on the beach interrupted their holiday fun by repeatedly pointing to a fence being erected along the beach wall and warning that the beach would no longer be free to the public.
    At the same time operator of the nearby Buccaneer Hotel, Courtney Hamilton, who for some years has brought a suit before the Supreme Court disputing a claim of ownership against the property, says he will not be complying with any plans to privatize the beach.
    "I believe the beach is the property of the citizens and does not belong to any private person," said Hamilton, whose guests also use the popular facility. "I am going to continue to go to the beach," he insisted, adding that he would continue to enjoy his beach privileges until his suit comes up for trial.
    In the meantime, president of the Montego Bay Chamber of Commerce, Pauline Reid, who has long advocated for proper public recreational facilities for the city's residents, said she was not aware of the recent developments but noted that there were discussions early last year to develop the Dead End Beach, as part of a wider programme of maintenance of public beaches.
    "I know they were looking at all the public beaches," said Reid. "The plan was to develop them and charge a small fee"
    According to Reid the original plan for the Dead End Beach, which was to be undertaken by the Tourism Product Development Company (TPDCo), was to repair the wall and implement a maintenance programme. "It (the beach) would still be accessible to the public but there would be a small fee to cover maintenance," she explained.
    She was however unable to say whether this new development was part of the original plan.
    However new chairman of TPDCO, Robert Russel, said he was not aware of any current plan to develop the facility.
    "I have not seen anything like that come before me," Russel told the Observer West yesterday.

Well, the HQ for Sandals Resort International is located on that dead end strip and Sandals once controlled the Carlisle Inn that was also onthat strip. It probably goes by another name now, but I believe it is still owned by Sandals.

So maybe our good friend Butch Stewart, who is not unknown to capture beaches from the natives, should be asked about this.

To completely rid the area of "them" is
      to reinstate the members only policy at Doctor's cave beach. You then would have to tell the Police what are you doing there other than working garden, bar tending, waiting or maid quarters. I don't mind, because this what we need (the whip) because that's all we will react on.

Joshua don't cry or turn in your grave. It's not you, this one is on us, we have decided to suffer for another hundred years. We seem to be lost on the concept of vision, hence only by continous and HARD beatings we will learn. Thanks for what you did in the past but we would rather suffer our way through.

Mo I am not sorry for the people,
        I am happy in our suffering. Maybe after a hundred years we will decide
        that education and using our brains is better than meat and sugar.

What about accounting, IT, sales/marketing, hotel management? I dont completely disagree with your thesis here but you always think that people who work in the all-inclusives do only menial tasks...

Well, well the prodigal may
            just may be coming home Since you asked:IT, hotel management (mid level that is) is good but on the all inclusive front doesn't help Mobay's economy. These Jobs are too small in number to offset a spending power within mobay (to restart the engine). Mobay needs to return to the state where it had a thriving night life (many cities boast of their night live culture which generates billions; NY, Las vegas, San Anto9nio et al springs quickly to mind) Mobay need to have the tourist dollars floating freely all around the town and not concentrated in the hands of a few.

Please note that these tourists that spend time on the island at all incusives are incurring costs that has to be picked up by taxpayers. No matter how you cut it, if one comes and stays, move about by just paying one price one incurs costs. Ja is a nation of 2.6 million, if over 2 million tourists visits for the year guess what? In layman's terms they are adding wear and tear; the taxes and the few jobs by the hotels cannot offset this. The tourists need to come out and SPEND THEIR MONEY.

what is the wages of an IT mid level manager as compared to a mid level hotel manager?

How it doesn't help the Mobay economy? Them nuh buy Sugar, car and houses etc.?

Sass stop being a yes man for
                something that crippled a city's economy and catapulting it into a sea of crime. What can the spending power of five do against that of a thousand?

Quick question: Do you think, you will be able to own one of those all inclusives in Mobay (in this lifetime)? Do as Garvey said defend things that is in your interest.

Bless.

To completely rid the area of "them" is
                  to reinstate the members only policy at Doctor's cave beach. You then would have to tell the Police what are you doing there other than working garden, bar tending, waiting or maid quarters.
                  Den suppose me is there pimping - me won't be allowed Hell there goes the trade!

Sure right.

Lemme guess we should stop pay for water too right? Have you seen the state of Hellshire? Somebody has to maintain the beaches how do you propose the government go about doing this?

yes Jawge I dream big. It might nuh come to nothing but that is all I have dreams.

The fact is Mobay is have other hotels than all inclusive. They have the holiday Inn, Halfmoon, and so many others so how can you blame the all inclusives? How many people are employed in the tourism industry in Mobay and take out their slice out of the economy and tell me bout a crippled city.

You need to look at the overall picture and see it. Things can be better but you have to look on the overall impact. How many IT firms you see a run go Jamaica in the short term?

I think St.James should pay
                          the Parish of Trelawny for Water. Those that live outside of Mobay and
                          are gainfully employed should pay Taxes for the upkeep of the city.

For ME: All beaches should be FREE. Central govt can handle that via UDC et al.

so who pay UDC?

Who pick up the paper at night?

It should be government owned but people must pay a smalls for proper security, proper life guards, upkeeps.

For ME: All beaches should be FREE. Central govt can handle that via UDC et al.
                              UDC does INVESTMENT PROJECTS and AGENCY PROJECTS. Beaches and attractions fall under the INVESTMENT side. When you invest you expect a return on your investment hence $200 to go to the beach.