Maroons bringing Casino

• Maroons bringing Casino

Maroons revisiting casino gambling plans Monday, 07 2008 The Accompong Maroons in St. Elizabeth have announced plans to revisit plans for the establishment of games rooms in the village to accommodate.
    Colonel Sidney Peddie said he intends to make contact with in Florida to determine if they are still interested in the project.

He added that casinos would boost tourist traffic to Accompong as well as the welfare of the maroons.

Two years ago, Colonel Peddie had announced plans to establish in the maroon community but the issue did not move past that phase.

Colonel Peddie pointed out that based on a treaty signed 270 years ago; the Maroons do not have to seek the government's permission to introduce casino gambling to the village.

Let me see how the churches and government deal with this one.

Didn't you see the article in yesterday's gleaner where Bartlett said the church was being hypocritical when it came to casino gambling?

Sigh. Not sure if this is the way to go. I don't have a problem with casinos or with the Maroons' right to introduce it to our shores. Just not sure if we need to make it look like casinos is the only way for "native" peoples to eke out a living. Perhaps it is!, but...

yeah but it is the best way fi introduce it to the island as only Bartlett has the political will to talk about it in the political circles. The government can't stop them, neither can the church.

We have been ********************footing since the 1980s.Good to see someone with the courage. It is either we say we ban casino and make laws according or we simple start building them.

Rasta uses weed religiously), yet it is illegal for them to do so. Perhaps Rasta should sign some treaty with the baldheads(though I would argue that right already exists) legitimizing their existence, but in the interim, shouldn't their beliefs be respected.

Blessed

Blessed

Rasta never sign nuh treaty with the English and if they did it could be argued that they were under the influence.

yeah but only him one a talk bout it on the political front.

I wonder what legitimate claims those Jakans have to being called Maroons?
                  Would the Maroons of the past open their villages(nondescript houses, the same as any other..) to the contriving forces to which they are familiar?
                  If casino gambling needs explicit approval of the powers that be, then it is currently illegal.

Blessed

Maroon have their own treaty and government in place. The fact that they still have their own rulers and the government of Ja can't break the treaty, all they have to do is take it to the world bodies and they will win, I bet you on that.

Well then they may as well go all the way, make weed legal there, that too will attract tourists, is that too covered under their inalienable rights?
                      Seems like all they would have to do is take it to one of those World body thingy.

Blessed

who say the maroons are into the weed? Remember the weed came from India, to Ja, not Africa.

What, even christians are into weed, they would just have to be into weed as they are in casino gambling. It attracts tourists, ..eeh...but at what cost?

Blessed

i have no problem with it...while everyone is figuring out whether it is the only way for indigenous people to eke out a living the "indigenous" people will gwa'an counting them money!

it's not?!!!