Is there any truth that once you

Lazie after you stop spinning for a moment

Please remain seated and i beg of you don't leave your seat without reading the warning sign....PASSENGERS Please remain SEAted UNTIL Permitted to do SO>>>>WOW
    "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

Originally posted by PeeJay View Post
      Please remain seated and i beg of you don't leave your seat without reading the warning sign....PASSENGERS Please remain SEAted UNTIL Permitted to do SO>>>>WOW
      Where you see spinning boss?

apply for an American passport, the applicant has sworn allegiance? I've downloaded the forms and all I see on the form is to sign that the information provided is true.

Maybe Professor David Rowe should face charges for perjury.

Citizenship of Children

The 14th Amendment of the U.S. Constitution guarantees citizenship at birth to almost all individuals born in the United States or in U.S. jurisdictions, according to the principle of jus soli. Certain individuals born in the United States, such as children of foreign heads of state or children of foreign diplomats, do not obtain U.S. citizenship under jus soli.

Certain individuals born outside of the United States are born citizens because of their parents, according to the principle of jus sanguinis (which holds that the country of citizenship of a child is the same as that of his / her parents).
        -----------
        Was Vaz born in the USA?

It would appear not based on what we have heard of his stance in court!

Was he born to a parent or to parents who were US Citizens at the time of his birth?

It would appear not based on what we have heard of his stance in court!

I am thinking we can assume that his mother became a US Citizen after his birth and he was filed for by her and became a citizen through that process being approved and the necessary entry visa issued.

This, I understand (?), is how the process works -
        Once the visa is issued -i) if he was outside of the island...he immediately becomes a citizen on entry...but, has to have applied for on his behalf, naturalization; ii) he would be able to obtain a passport on presentation of his entry visa and an affidavit...notarized affidavit by his US Citizen parent attesting to that person being his parent. Ofcourse any other necessary docs (pics, etc.) and payment of the appropriate fees would apply.

btw - What questions are asked on - i) that form requesting the issuance of a passport? ...and, ii) that form requesting the issuance of Citizenship?

NB: Since 2000 the laws governing the above has been changed -

...again!

Citizenship of Children

The 14th Amendment of the U.S. Constitution guarantees citizenship at birth to almost all individuals born in the United States or in U.S. jurisdictions, according to the principle of jus soli. Certain individuals born in the United States, such as children of foreign heads of state or children of foreign diplomats, do not obtain U.S. citizenship under jus soli.

Certain individuals born outside of the United States are born citizens because of their parents, according to the principle of jus sanguinis (which holds that the country of citizenship of a child is the same as that of his / her parents). The U.S. Congress is responsible for enacting laws that determine how citizenship is conveyed by a U.S. citizen parent or parents according to the principle of jus sanguinis. These laws are contained in the Immigration and Nationality Act.

In addition, Each year, many people adopt children from outside the U.S. The Child Citizenship Act of 2000 (CCA) grants those children the ability to automatically become U.S. citizens when they immigrate to the United States.
        I believe(?) there was a process whereby adopted kids could have gained citizenships.

So...was Vaz adopted by his parent-mother? Why? I understand that some parents found that method an easier option!

Do not ask me, why?
        I have not a clue on why that would be a preferred option!

'US passport is proof of allegiance'

American law expert George Crimarco said under cross-examination yesterday that the possession of a United States passport was proof of allegiance to that country.

Questioned by attorney-at-law Jalil Dabdoub, as to whether the word 'duties' on the American passport form refers to an applicant's duties of allegiance, Crimarco said he was not prepared to answer that question.

Crimarco said on Thursday that Jamaica Labour Party Member of Parliament Daryl Vaz did not have to live in the United States from age 14 to 26 to retain his U.S. citizenship.

No such requirement

He said further that the relevant law was repealed in 1978 and such a requirement was no longer necessary.

Crimarco, who has been called as a witness by Vaz, has contradicted the evidence given by American law expert, Professor David Rowe. Rowe was called as a witness by People's National Party candidate Abe Daboub.

Rowe had testified earlier this month, at the election petition hearing in the Supreme Court, that a person who obtained American citizenship through one of his parents, as Vaz did, would have to live in the U.S. from age 14 to 26 to retain it. Rowe said if that was not done then, when the person applied to renew his passport, there was an oath on the passport form and that amounted to acknowledging allegiance to the U.S.

On being questioned Thursday by attorney-at-law Ransford Braham, who represents Vaz, as to whether the U.S. 1544 Code implicitly stated that, in order for one to have a U.S. passport one must have allegiance to the U.S., Crimarco replied "to my knowledge it says nothing of the kind".

In breach of Jamaican Constitution

Dabdoub is contending that, because Vaz has U.S. citizenship, he was in breach of the Constitution of Jamaica and was not entitled to be a Member of Parliament because he had pledged allegiance to a foreign power.

Crimarco, who is a member of the Florida Bar, on being cross-examined by attorney-at-law Jalil Dabdoub, who represents Mr. Dabdoub, said he agreed that the rules governing the Florida Bar stated that a lawyer should not knowingly make a false statement of fact or law to a tribunal.

He admitted that a U.S. citizen could renounce citizenship by performing certain acts. He said a person living in Jamaica, who wishes to renounce his U.S. citizenship, would have to go to the U.S. Consul and fill out the appropriate form to do so. The form, when completed, would be sent to the U.S. Department of State in Washington.

He said, prior to the case now before the court, he did not have an attorney-client relationship with Vaz and he did not tell Abe Dabdoub in February last year that he had such a relationship with Vaz. He said he did tell Abe Dabdoub that Vaz had said he (Crimarco) told Abe Dabdoub that he (Vaz) was a U.S. citizen.

Yesterday Crimarco complained that, in respect to certain questions being asked by Jalil Dabdoub, his professional integrity was being impugned and commented further that Jalil Dabdoub was being confused by his father (Abe Dabdoub) who was sitting behind him.

Chief Justice Zaila McCalla warned that cross-talk would not be tolerated.

American law expert George Crimarco said under cross-examination yesterday that the possession of a United States passport was proof of allegiance to that country.

Questioned by attorney-at-law Jalil Dabdoub, as to whether the word 'duties' on the American passport form refers to an applicant's duties of allegiance, Crimarco said he was not prepared to answer that question.

Crimarco said on Thursday that Jamaica Labour Party Member of Parliament Daryl Vaz did not have to live in the United States from age 14 to 26 to retain his U.S. citizenship.

No such requirement

He said further that the relevant law was repealed in 1978 and such a requirement was no longer necessary.

Crimarco, who has been called as a witness by Vaz, has contradicted the evidence given by American law expert, Professor David Rowe. Rowe was called as a witness by People's National Party candidate Abe Daboub.

Rowe had testified earlier this month, at the election petition hearing in the Supreme Court, that a person who obtained American citizenship through one of his parents, as Vaz did, would have to live in the U.S. from age 14 to 26 to retain it. Rowe said if that was not done then, when the person applied to renew his passport, there was an oath on the passport form and that amounted to acknowledging allegiance to the U.S.

On being questioned Thursday by attorney-at-law Ransford Braham, who represents Vaz, as to whether the U.S. 1544 Code implicitly stated that, in order for one to have a U.S. passport one must have allegiance to the U.S., Crimarco replied "to my knowledge it says nothing of the kind".

Dabdoub is contending that, because Vaz has U.S. citizenship, he was in breach of the Constitution of Jamaica and was not entitled to be a Member of Parliament because he had pledged allegiance to a foreign power.

Crimarco, who is a member of the Florida Bar, on being cross-examined by attorney-at-law Jalil Dabdoub, who represents Mr. Dabdoub, said he agreed that the rules governing the Florida Bar stated that a lawyer should not knowingly make a false statement of fact or law to a tribunal.

He admitted that a U.S. citizen could renounce citizenship by performing certain acts. He said a person living in Jamaica, who wishes to renounce his U.S. citizenship, would have to go to the U.S. Consul and fill out the appropriate form to do so. The form, when completed, would be sent to the U.S. Department of State in Washington.

He said, prior to the case now before the court, he did not have an attorney-client relationship with Vaz and he did not tell Abe Dabdoub in February last year that he had such a relationship with Vaz. He said he did tell Abe Dabdoub that Vaz had said he (Crimarco) told Abe Dabdoub that he (Vaz) was a U.S. citizen.

Yesterday Crimarco complained that, in respect to certain questions being asked by Jalil Dabdoub, his professional integrity was being impugned and commented further that Jalil Dabdoub was being confused by his father (Abe Dabdoub) who was sitting behind him.

Suh wah yuk tink di Courts shudda duh?

...an iffen yuh seh rule gainst Vaz, wah yuh tink di PNP shudda duh?

Aside: On the PNP acts, if successful in the Courts, I have already made my position known in posts here!

No such requirement

Maybe you would like to change and or comment on your earlier
              Maybe Professor David Rowe should face charges for perjury.
              ?

Right?

Maybe you would like to change and or comment on your earlier ?

Right?
                Why? He said when you signed the passport form you're swearing allegiance .. download the form fi yuhself.

Signing the form as I explaned yesterday is done as final step in your application process.

Again - What are the requirements previous to gaining citizenship? It certainly is not the mere signing of the application for passport form that gives you that.

Info:

There are 4 requirements for using this form. Please use the following checklist to see if you are eligible to apply with a DS-82:
                  I can submit my most recent, undamaged passport AND

I was at least 16 years old when my most recent passport was issued AND

I was issued my most recent passport in the last 15 years AND

I use the same name as on my most recent passport or since my passport was issued, OR I have had my named changed by marriage or court order and can submit proper original documentation to reflect my name-change.

If you answered NO to any of the 4 statements aboveā€¦ STOP! You cannot use Form DS-82! You must follow instructions on how apply in person . Example -the following appears on the passport application form
                  ...and,

Should You Apply In Person?
                  You are applying for a U.S. passport for the first time. Yes

Your previous U.S. passport was lost, stolen, or damaged. Yes

Your previous U.S. passport has expired & was issued more than 15 years ago. Yes

Your previous passport has expired and it was issued when you were under 16. Yes

Your name has changed since your passport was issued and you do not have a legal document formally changing your name. Yes
                  ...and, on the passport form that must be used when you are renewing for the first time after you have attained the age of 16 you attest to (swear to) filing under applicable US laws!

NB: You also attest to so doing each time you apply for a US passport.

I agree with you, that is not spinning, it is complete and utter avoidance of a simple question but even that action is loud and clear that you really cant answer or is afraid to do so honestly as it may betray your politics to do so...life is a bitch, then you die.

I wonder if Lazie sees the lessons in this simple answer?

I agree with you, that is not spinning, it is complete and utter avoidance of a simple question but even that action is loud and clear that you really cant answer or is afraid to do so honestly as it may betray your politics to do so...life is a bitch, then you die.
                        Avoidance? You kids say the darnest things. Where you see me avoiding any question?