• 'I resigned'

Gordon-Webley shows proof of resignation as JLP caretaker
    KIMONE THOMPSON, Observer staff reporter thompsonk@jamaicaobserver.com
    Friday, January 04, 2008

EXECUTIVE director of the National Solid Waste Management Authority (NSWMA), Joan Gordon-Webley, yesterday provided proof that she has resigned as the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) caretaker for South East St Andrew, a move which she hoped would put an end to queries from the Opposition People's National Party (PNP) about her motive for distributing Christmas gifts in the constituency.

In a letter dated November 4, 2007 - a day before she took the top job at the waste management company - Gordon-Webley expressed regret at walking away from the constituency but said it was necessary in order to "eliminate the appearance of conflict of interest".

Gordon-Webley sent a copy of the letter, addressed to JLP general secretary Karl Samuda, to the Observer.
    Gordon-Webley's role in the constituency, which she lost to the PNP's Maxine Henry-Wilson in the September 3 polls, has been called into question since she became head of the NSWMA late last year.

However, up until yesterday, there was no evidence that she had in fact stepped away from representational politics.
    In the run-up to the national polls, she told constituents that she would remain with them whether she won or not.
    "Win, lose or draw, South East St Andrew will be my home," she repeated at a JLP Area Council One meeting before local government elections last month. And to date, four months after the elections, a billboard reminding the residents of the Mountain View area that "...my first responsibility is to you" remains in place.

On Wednesday, Henry-Wilson wrote to Prime Minister Bruce Golding asking him to clarify Gordon-Webley's role in the constituency. She also accused the NSWMA head of using company resources for personal reasons and supported her claims with photographs of Gordon-Webley issuing gifts from a NSWMA minivan in the constituency.

In her own defence, Gordon-Webley maintained that she was well within her rights when she used a marked company vehicle to distribute the gifts.

"I am designated as the executive director of the NSWMA to use any vehicle within the premises for my personal use," she said. "It's part of my package. The last manager was given the last vehicle which was a Prado and I understand it is to be sold to him, so I didn't get any such vehicle. I am [therefore] authorised to use any vehicle within the NSWMA."

The gifts, she said, were procured with private funds through a welfare programme she started and maintained that it was not the first such treat.

"We had one in Riverton City the Thursday before Christmas and we used the same vehicle and no noise was made about it... and next week we'll be in Retirement in Montego Bay to hand out back-to-school gifts," she said.

Yesterday, Samuda stood up for the waste disposal boss.
    "It is the knowledge of the party that Mrs Joan Gordon-Webley has neither violated a moral code nor any legal code in respect to South East St Andrew and that she is not the caretaker, having resigned to take up the post at the NSWMA," he told the Observer.

Still don't see what Mosiah dem fussing bout. Dem just looking for reasons to vent dem personal feelings towards Joan .... the "scum".

Give yourself "time"! You'll then see!

Unlike you and the other jokers, I don't jump to conclusion to fit in with the crowd.

Which crowd I fitting into? Ever since I see har Sunday excursion into the area to clean up ole car I knew she was onto something. Mi nuh wait pon crowd. Remember is me use to push JFJ matters. Which crowd follow dat?

Admit it, yuh just have hangups regarding Joan. Even Maxine in her letter admitted that the task of removing those old cars was welcome ... suh what unuh fussing bout. She resigned as MP ... no you was fussing bout the car ... read the article again ... then slap yuhself.

Unlike you and the other jokers, I don't jump to conclusion to fit in with the crowd.
              Good!
              ...so you shall give yourself "time"!

But I thought Joan was assigned her own vehicle..

Then again I am going on Mosiah 'intelligence' on the matter...

What is Joan citizenship status by the way ?

Heh, heh. Sample central in yah... 18 years does nuff damage apprantly..

So wait yuh abandon JFJ matters now

Suh wait.. yuh nuh see what happend September 3rd ?

Man have him priorities straight.

Heh, heh.

The PNP and them apologists are desperate. Imagine throught the 18 years the PNP has never come out and condemn any form of corruption, instead they defended it as a part of government ie. Paulwell.

They haven't come out and said one recent thing on corruption in NSWA, JUTC and others and only after the light bulb was forced on them they asked the ministers to resign, and now this is the kind of evidence them showing as corruption? Where were their accountability when they were in charge? If they had shown it I can only say Jamaica would have been a much better place.

The PNP and them apologists are desperate. Imagine throught the 18 years the PNP has never come out and condemn any form of corruption, instead they defended it as a part of government ie. Paulwell.

They haven't come out and said one recent thing on corruption in NSWA, JUTC and others and only after the light bulb was forced on them they asked the ministers to resign, and now this is the kind of evidence them showing as corruption? Where were their accountability when they were in charge? If they had shown it I can only say Jamaica would have been a much better place.
                        Huh? They asked Paulwell to resign? Yuh figet after conducting their own "investigation" Danny Buck told Paulwell and Spence they have nothing to worry about.

Which change course or not? How do you think the JLP is in power? PNP people changed course to allow them to change course. But now wi start fi wonder if di course really change!

I have no problem with that only who is quick to point them finger even for the smallest infraction, maybe them need to point on themselves first and fix their problems.

Which change course or not? How do you think the JLP is in power? PNP people changed course to allow them to change course. But now wi start fi wonder if di course really change!

PNP people changed course? Yeah .. right. I hope the elections site put back the general elections data because you seem very much misinformed.

"But now wi start fi wonder if di course really change!"

Unuh sitback and allow the idiots to eff up fi 18 years ... now unuh expect water fi tun inna wine inna 3 months? A whey unuh come from?