• Webley denies conflict of interest

Webley denies conflict of interest

Posted: 2008-01-03 14:14:00
    Live Regular updates on Power 106
    »» Weather Information
    »» More News/Updates

NSWMA boss denied that her distribution of gifts in the South East St. Andrew constituency presents a conflict of interest.

Yesterday, Member of Parliament for the constituency, Maxine Henry-Wilson, wrote to the Prime Minister questioning the current role of Mrs. Gordon-Webly in the constituency.

Mrs. Gordon Webley said she is no longer the caretaker for the constituency.

Mrs. Henry-Wilson also raised questions in the letter about the basis for the concentration of activities by Mrs. Gordon-Webly in the constituency.

The letter pointed to an event in the Swallowfield community where Mrs. Gordon-Webly used the NSWMA vehicle to distribute gifts.

According to Mrs. Gordon-Webly she is allowed to have a vehicle at her convenience as head of the solid waste agency.

She also said the event to which Mrs. Henry-Wilson referred is one of several treats the agency organised.
    Source: Gleaner/Power 106 News | Print Version | More News | addthis_url = location.href; addthis_title = document.title; addthis_pub = 'gleaneronline';

if she is allowed to use the vechile at her disposal then nothing is wrong with her using it to give gifts.

The vehicle was a minivan, with NSWMA marked on the door. Is that the vehicle assigned to her? Is that what she drives to work every morning?

And even if she is given a vehicle as part of her package, does that mean that the gas bought by the state should be used to glean future votes by handing out presents to her would-be constituents?!?

was the threats by the NSWMA or her. If its not by the NSWMA then she should be roped in.

The should be policies and regulation to guide this. You can't blame her for the lack of it. It is for the state to make the laws and restrict the use of the vechile.

If they say as the head she will have the use of a NSWA vechile at her covienence then no law is broken. What maybe needed is a change of the law. If the law don't say that then it is corruption but I wouldn't go out on the limb saying the later.

I find that a very unlikely story. Her employees just got together and bought gifts, not for a children's home in the area, or a home for the aged, or for a community in Grants Pen. They knew she should have been the MP for the area so they bought the presents and they all went down to "her" constituency.

Yeah, right!

Should have been the MP ?

"her" Constituency..

Yuh trying too hard.. it should come easy..

Ah keep telling yuh to pace yuhself.. early days...

Assasin, that was not the vehicle assigned to her. Joan Gordon Webley would not be found dead driving that minivan through her gate, with the big dutty NSWMA brandished on the side. Better she say that it was more convenient to drive the state's vehicle because of the gifts, but don't try and pull this nonsense about executives in that position is assigned a vehicle for his/her use.

The sad part is (the vehicle for me is hardly the issue) she continues to usurp her position to try and win sentiment and votes in the constituency.

And Lazie, just to remind you before you accuse me and others of not having a problem with it - I have long said that govt. ministers and their appointees like Webley have no bizniz driving SUVS like Prados and Pajeros. The country cannot afford it! I wonder what vehicle was really assigned to Webley.

I will pace myself. This new year, I will start by ignoring such trivial responses that do little to boost the image of your "good school".

Lawd man.. how yuh survive the last 18 years ?

Mi keep telling yuh.. mind yuh heartstring buss...

How yuh a wondah.. yuh nuh muss know.. based on your argument...