Observer EDITORIAL: Can Commissioner Lewin make...

• Observer EDITORIAL: Can Commissioner Lewin make...

Can Commissioner Lewin make the quantum leap?

Thursday, January 03, 2008

We are more than pleased by the invitation of Police Commissioner Hardley Lewin to the public to debate his ideas on fighting crime, and his promise to keep open communication with the nation.

Ordinarily, this is a pledge that one would expect from a new head of the police force, especially a savvy one, and the question might well be, "So what's new?"

This, we suggest, is no ordinary police commissioner. Rear Admiral Lewin is going to have to make a quantum leap in order to keep his promise of open communication.

Recall that he is coming from a culture of - perhaps not quite secrecy - but great reticence, as head of the Jamaica Defence Force (JDF) where that was expected. Neither is any command from the top expected to be questioned in the ranks. It's the nature of the beast.

In fact, during his years as head of the army, Admiral Lewin gave extremely few media interviews that we know of, and even fewer public speeches. To this point, he is not regarded as what we in media call a "media personality".

So we hope that Admiral Lewin is not just playing to the gallery by saying something that should please everyone. Because whether it is a public relations stunt or not, he has hit the nail squarely on the head in identifying the need for open communication with the public.

In disclosing his plans to close some police stations, where desirable, in order to put more policemen and policewomen on the streets, and presumably, in more direct confrontation with criminals, he was quoted in yesterday's edition as saying:
    "I believe we need the widest possible discussion, because we are not the repository of all knowledge, and the smallest man out there can come up with some good ideas... One of the things I believe is, when you are contemplating issues that will affect people you need to communicate, and one of my platforms as commissioner of police will be constant communication from me personally, the internal communications within the force, and the force's communication with the public to whom we provide this essential service."

The more the Jamaica Constabulary can get the public talking, the greater will be the fall in the crime rate. There can't be anyone left who does not know that it is impossible to get on top of crime, if the public does not keep the police force informed about criminals and criminal activity.

There is some general agreement that the Jamaican public is hesitant to provide the police with information on criminals and that this reticence is largely caused by fear of reprisal. That, of course, assumes that the information shared with the police will get back to the criminals, or that after the court trial, the police can't protect the witness. In both cases, this spells a crisis of confidence.

To some extent, we saw an improvement of public confidence in the leadership of the force during the tenure of Colonel Trevor MacMillan who, we believe, had a comfort level with the public.

We can't say for sure that that had anything to do with the fact that he came from the army or from just outside the force, but we hope that Commissioner Lewin will enjoy even greater confidence.

For the sake of us all.

They certainly need training in how to deal
    with the public. Last time I was there (last summer): my vehicle was hit, now i was looking towards the cop for assistance (well that's what I'm accustomed to here) the police siad "unnuh go sart out wha unnuh ah sart out ova deh so an hol up traffic. gwaan ah station"

I had a good laugh about it with my sister,her husband and mom. Apparently these guys must have been absent from training school the day when the instruction on duty to protect the citizens was being taught.

No King Jawge, dem wasn't absent from training school.

What yuh didn't realize was that you were holding up progress - please understand that, the officer mini bus haffi run pon road and transport his passengers and bring in $$$, so yuh haffi clear the path for traffic to proceed smoothly.

Sad, i guess what will hurt me in
        Ja is the fact that I finished growing in the states, hence certain things
        I will look for (like here you see two cars that are in an accident waiting for the cops whilst everyone goes by if there are no cops). This is why my father worries when I'm there because he knows I'm just not accustomed to the system ( especially if I go far). Life but I stil think that to keep
        the little democracy that's left there, the JCF is the last line.

smaddy mus di deh fi hold yuh hand when "you go far" ...

how far is far...to the end of the road? to the gate? to KINGSTON!!!??

mi belly...mi cya'an breathe properly....

Laugh all you want because I know
            you for what you are ( a likkle punk) an truss mi, mi nuh fraid fi move roun ah yaad.

What because yuh come on yah cuss yuh bad wud, disrespek mi woman an mi nuh really say nutten, yuh tink yuh can walk over mi. yes mi read mi bible an mi fear an respek God but nuh mek dat fool yuh.

Right man for the JOB...

The man have both the JCF & JDF in the palm of him hands plus the upcoming merger of both intelligence unit...they alreadily know the source
              of where the guns are coming from ...go on.

The Police are Modernizing mi nuh know bout the army cau Jamaica now have a indirect threat to National Security i.e Guns coming in from
              Haiti...Bruce who holds the defence ministry need to Modernize the Air wing area
              and some areas of the army since they are not going to merge them...
              It's a National Disgrace the JDFAW & Army they need to have a Combat
              unit in the jamaican Millitary and special Air patrol equipments like Medium or even LRA's long range air craft to do patrol....decriminilized Ganja and get tuff an ruff pon di shatta dem with the guns....
              The biggest problem facing jamaica now is crime....some Hi-tech weapon deh a yard especially in the inner city communities ...task force and economics can lower di rate ...Forward!

tut tut....such name calling, such bitterness, such ANGER! sounds like a candidate for a psychiatist to me...or at the very least anger management!

tsk tsk

tek dat aready but yuh
                  nuh need it don't? (nuh worry mi know why) Name calling? who trace on more than yuh. Wha mi notice is dat all di liad dem fly together like a flock of geese.

One a unnu getting some award dis year.

come now...yuh nuh expec' a "likkle punk" like me fo call people name? is what likkle punks do...but a big "non likkle punk"like you...well...it quite caught me off guard.

anyway if anger management is good enuff for you, then dammit (is that cussing...sorry) it's good enough for a peasant like me. i fall within the definitin of peasant, right. a likkle punk peasant, nuh true!

so are you saying that all geese are liad?

yuh si seh mi a try don't?

Must be the formalised
                          Patios. carry on though, you are doing fine.