• Infertile men suffer in silence

Infertile men suffer in silence
    published: Thursday | January 3, 2008

Paul H. Williams, Gleaner Writer

We live in a culture where the measure of the man is in the number of children he is able to sire, and where the man who fathers a 'multitude' is held in high esteem by his peers.

'Worms', a young father of two, with a broad grin, openly declared recently, "I am a breeder!" He is a classic case of the Jamaican man who believes he must "multiply and fill the earth". He went further by saying he would be a [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]sperm [COLOR=orange! important]donor[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] for some of his friends who, in their 30s, are yet to get a taste of fatherhood.

Sadly though, a significant number of men are unable to biologically father any children, and the social stigma attached to these males is having a devastating psychological impact.

Important and significant

Danny James, at 44, does not know for sure whether he is [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]infertile[/COLOR][/COLOR], but he has failed in his efforts to impregnate his partner. He has faced the brunt of ridicule from friends, associates and colleagues. It used to bother him, but not anymore. An older brother of his is in the same predicament.
    Because of the sensitive nature of the situation, the macho Jamaican man, who knows or suspects he's infertile does not discuss the matter, and so it is difficult to gauge his thoughts.
    "From research done by Professor Anderson, myself and Mrs. Janet Brown, we found that having a child was an important and significant pillow on which men construct their sense of self", says noted anthropologist, Professor Emeritus Barry Chevannes.

"I am a breeder!"

I do hope he is taking care of his children. Too many of those ignorant fools seem to think being a breeder is enough.

many are also in denial and will knowingly accept jackets... i feel for them...

But Baddaz, at least the child/children get a "father." And the man gets the child he so badly wants.
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
          ... I think some accept jackets because of the pressure. They are so ignorant, as dem see a young man talking to a girl for 2 months, dem a ask if yuh naah breed har. Friggin ignoramous.

Its the same way they put down women that cannot have children.

It's just part of our subculture but like so many things we are slowly reshaping our views. Even adoption is still viewed funny in Jamaica. And not to mention depression, seizure and other mental illnesses. If a man mek a move in Jamaica (at least on some corners) to visit a psychiatrist, he has to keep it under wraps, because when man start lick out sound about your visits...the rumour start to spread seh yuh mad and your life will never be the same.
            "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

hmm - when the rumor start a dat time yuh get MAD

check dis out.....

"The 56-year-old father, who has 21 children, living in places such as England, Germany, Zimbabwe, California, Miami and Jamaica, blasted the negative lyrics that are so pervasive in the music of today. "You see the quality a di music then, compare to this time," he added, "right now dem nah send out nuh music like how we use to do it first time, because some music weh dem a send out now, mi can't tek it, honestly to God."

..pray tell me with how many woman did he sew his royal oats

Man juss ah mek yuh know say him
                    ah batsman (lick nuff 6 &4) an nuh luv nuh inna di muzik like back inna fi him time.

nothing wrong with being a father to a fatherless child... something is wrong with the pretense of being the biological father... thats deceiving even the child he is trying to help...

It must be a biblical thing for us to have nuff children but we have to research the impact of slavery and the breeding plantations on our collective psyche.

Sometimes we have to visit the past to go forward.

Why are we this way and what happened to us during slavery?

Were we this way before being brought as slaves to the caribbean?

How was the black family structured before our captivity and what can we learn from it?

Nuff man who no go psychiatrist will have no problem going to a obeah man or modda woman.

Dem proudly show off dem oil of "tie him" or necklace of good luck so thats something that warrants more study.

We really need to dig deep into why our society has broken down the way it has