• I think this is one of the key building

blocks to JA moving forward. Then again who will listen to this
    man? He is just a peasant from country. Ja has too many tertiary institutions (too much bark and no bite) To have quality I think CAST should be integrated with UWI (cast being called school of technology or engineering). The local busionesses should be implored to have their staff attend classes at the new integrated UWI. Those not qualified attend community college until they are at a point to attend. Incentives (in terms of tax breaks should be given to employers that allow workers time to attend College. Run this for ten years and watch the result.

I can tell you though; what I wrote above and what Mr. Thompson said below WILL NOT HAPPEN. Instead look out for training in craft and basket weaving.
    Open doors to tertiary education
    published: Monday | December 31, 2007

THE EDITOR, Sir:
    I strongly believe that the progressive and intellectual approach of our citizens has somewhat been been achieved and maintained through education. If we should take a good look in the region, we will see the alarming fact that we Jamaicans are not as outstanding among other Caribbean counterparts as we once were. On the contrary, that is not what hard-working taxpayers are desirous of.
    With regards to violence, I can see where we have gained international recognition. With reference to marketability and production of goods and services, we are not reigning as supreme, but rather parallel to our neighbouring colleagues.
    Hence, I strongly support the proposition that it should be a constitutional right for our citizens out there in the workforce to be given the time and opportunity to further their education. Too often, we see where people have to put their goals on hold because they are not given the chance to go to evening school or to college part time.
    I believe this is unconstitutional and dehumanising for hard-working members of the workforce who have the potential to enhance their education to facilitate a promotion or better wages. This could raise the bar of economic status for our citizenry. People could be better able to facilitate their children's education and, as a consequence of this, enhance the marketability of our youths on a global scale and, by extension, improve our total human resources.
    This will be beneficial to us all and also redirect the thinking of the elite of society who blame the instigation of criminal activity on the lack of education. The very hard-working citizens are out there in the fields and could have been more resourceful and productive, but their bosses would not allow them to further their education. This encourages a breeding ground for ignorance and arrogance.
    I am, etc.,
    Barrington L. Thompson
    Sr.,
    Trinityville P.O. St. Thomas

yuh know the writer?

no. Do you?

nope...that is why i cannot say that he is a PEASANT from the country!

All descendants of slaves in
          Ja are viewed with the contempt of peasants;no matter how much they are educated, rank in Ja's society and they can rise but so far on the economic ladder (barring illegal activities).

Please tell me I'm wrong (with data to back up your arguments).

is this man a descendant of slaves? You don't know him. for all you know he could be a white or even indian....

i don't know if he is or not but then neither do you.....you are the one who made the loaded statement THEREFORE you have the burden of proof..not me.

And blacks in America are not viewed with the contempt of slaves? No matter how much they are educated, they can rise so far on the economic ladder?

Indian? That's another thread. Gamma
                given that ninety percent of Ja's population is a desecedant of slaves; would you say Mr.Thompson is a descendant of slaves (be careful with this one, don't come in recklessly).

Mo please tell me where I was speaking about Blacks in america.
                  Thanks.

blocks to JA moving forward. Then again who will listen to this
                    man? He is just a peasant from country. Ja has too many tertiary institutions (too much bark and no bite) To have quality I think CAST should be integrated with UWI (cast being called school of technology or engineering). The local busionesses should be implored to have their staff attend classes at the new integrated UWI. Those not qualified attend community college until they are at a point to attend. Incentives (in terms of tax breaks should be given to employers that allow workers time to attend College. Run this for ten years and watch the result.

I can tell you though; what I wrote above and what Mr. Thompson said below WILL NOT HAPPEN. Instead look out for training in craft and basket weaving.
                    Open doors to tertiary education
                    published: Monday | December 31, 2007

THE EDITOR, Sir:
                    I strongly believe that the progressive and intellectual approach of our citizens has somewhat been been achieved and maintained through education. If we should take a good look in the region, we will see the alarming fact that we Jamaicans are not as outstanding among other Caribbean counterparts as we once were. On the contrary, that is not what hard-working taxpayers are desirous of.
                    With regards to violence, I can see where we have gained international recognition. With reference to marketability and production of goods and services, we are not reigning as supreme, but rather parallel to our neighbouring colleagues.
                    Hence, I strongly support the proposition that it should be a constitutional right for our citizens out there in the workforce to be given the time and opportunity to further their education. Too often, we see where people have to put their goals on hold because they are not given the chance to go to evening school or to college part time.
                    I believe this is unconstitutional and dehumanising for hard-working members of the workforce who have the potential to enhance their education to facilitate a promotion or better wages. This could raise the bar of economic status for our citizenry. People could be better able to facilitate their children's education and, as a consequence of this, enhance the marketability of our youths on a global scale and, by extension, improve our total human resources.
                    This will be beneficial to us all and also redirect the thinking of the elite of society who blame the instigation of criminal activity on the lack of education. The very hard-working citizens are out there in the fields and could have been more resourceful and productive, but their bosses would not allow them to further their education. This encourages a breeding ground for ignorance and arrogance.
                    I am, etc.,
                    Barrington L. Thompson
                    Sr.,
                    Trinityville P.O. St. Thomas

"He is just a peasant from country" Is there peasant from town? or did you realy meant it in a good way and it's just my short comings? then again you claim you do not know him, yet you describe him.

"Ja has too many tertiary institutions" How many and where are they located? Please don't add the UWI for Mo Bay as yet.

I wonder how many tertiary institutions there are in Puerto Rico?????

Have a Bless New Year.

Stop being a damn hypocrite or holier-than-thou. You chose to live in God-blessed America. Don't come on here acting as if your new home does any better than Jamaica when it comes to respecting black people. If you care so much about your former home, it is here awaiting your return!

I DO NOT KNOW HIM! neither do you ..... end of story.

A couple months ago weren't you calling for UWI and UTech to have campuses outside of Kingston?!

Mo, again: Point out to me where I said anything (and I mean anything)
                            about Ja not being my home or the US is a better home yada, yada. Please show me in any of my posts above. Thanks.(if you find anything about america respecting blacks, throw that in too).

Just humor me for one minute and
                              answer the above question. Thanks.